We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellant stay this is second stay and did not...”

Review of Bumble Bee Barn

Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bumble Bee Barn from the garden Bumble Bee Barn viewed from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Sitting/Dining Room with French doors to patio
Bumble Bee Barn from the garden
Bumble Bee Barn viewed from the garden
Kitchen with belfast sink and washing machine
Fabulous View from Bumble Bee Patio
Kitchen showing Alpha Cooker/Boiler
Kitchen showing entrance to Sitting/Dining Room
Dining Area
Garden and Pond View
King Post Truss in Sitting/Dining Room
Double Bedroom with touch on bedside lamps
Free-range chickens - lovely eggs for you!
Bumble Bee Barn from lower garden
West wall with name plate
Nearby Chatsworth House
Garden and pond
Yucca flowering in the garden
Bumble Bee from garden
Fireplace
Bumble Bee Barn Sitting/Dining Room
Freddy & Ginger at the bottom of the garden
Bumble Bee from the courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
houghpoll...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellant stay this is second stay and did not disopoint”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Lovely place to stay so quite warm and cosy. Accommodation is clean well equipped.
Dog friendly. Hope to spend another week there this year. The views and walks are amazing a must for people who love scenic country views.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laural0ll...
Nottingham, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifull & cosy little barn, perfect for a secluded getaway!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Me, my boyfriend and our (big) German Shepherd rented the cottage from the end of December & saw in the new year, it was the perfect getaway for the 2 of us to enjoy some much needed peace and quiet after Christmas. The Barn was beautifully presented, and had everything we needed. The Alpha range cooker was great fun to use (I know; how sad!) I want one!
The location is great too, there is a pub near by (but we didn't go ourselves) but is within walking distance (albeit on the roads so care must be taken!) Matlock is only a few miles away with all the amenities you'd possibly need.
A great base for many walks in the peak district, and lots of walking books at the Barn too which we used on one of our walks.
Due to the weather we couldn't go out walking on one of the days so we stayed and made use of the comfy sofas and watched TV & DVD's. It really felt like home for a few days.
I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this little barn and will definitely be going back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cosy & comfortable accomodation, & dog friendly
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janine D
Javea, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly outstanding, beautifully fitted property”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in September and were welcomed by Cherry, the owner. The garden and views were truly stunning with lots of unusual wild birds and deer on both the owner's land and the hillside opposite. Bumble Bee is fitted out to a very high standard with great attention to detail and everything is to hand for the comfort of guests. We visited both Chatsworth and Haddon which are close by, and walked on Stanton Moor amongst the heather. Cherry's free range eggs from her chickens were the best we had tasted and we will be back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the lovely property and peace and tranquility.
Liked least: Leaving to go home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike W
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bumble Bee barn”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent base for exploring the peak district. A quiet peaceful location but close enough to Chatsworth and Bakewell and lots of walks in the South of the peak district. All amenities you need for a relaxing and ejoyable stay. Also check out the Royal Oak pub for a great variety of food at Hurdlow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digital_u...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely escape from the City”
Reviewed 16 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2012. The barn was even better than I'd expected. I particularly liked the thoughtful decor and character of the building. It was clean and cosy, with all amenities you need. Outside, the land available to guests is really generous - there was plenty of space for our young dog to run around and there are spectacular views of the woodland and valleys around. We visited while there was a lot of snow, which made for beautiful walking. The local village of Birchover, approx 1.5 miles, is small with a nice pub called the Red Lion - serving a great selection of local ales. Warren Carr is not so far from amenities (and are a lovely walk in the day) but in the evening you would probably need a taxi to get to Matlock or a local village if you wanted to go for a meal. We would definitely recommend this letting and can't wait to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShawsO...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect retreat for two.......”
Reviewed 31 May 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Bumble Bee Barn is a lovely little cottage...comfortable, spacious enough for two and tastefully appointed. The view from the lounge over the beautifully maintained garden and valley beyond is delightful. The cottage is quietly situated in a small hamlet with secure off-road parking, a rarity for a Derbyshire holiday cottage, yet only a few minutes away from the amenities of Matlock. Chatsworth House, Buxton, Bakewell and Ashbourne are all only a short drive away, making this an excellent base for exploring. Highly recommended!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing