We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base to explore the Peak District”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
142 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 142 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

DavoRutla...
Morcott, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean!”
Reviewed 26 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Eight of us stayed here at the beginning of June for a long weekend. Two problems with this cottage -,firstly it's absolutely right on the main road, so it's pretty noisy and there's a streetlight outside which shines brightly into one of the bedrooms and secondly and most importantly, whilst it was superficially clean, it really needed a thorough deep clean of the bathrooms, Windows, curtains, carpets etc. The carpet and net curtain in our room were very grubby. Our friends found a pair of used tights under their bed!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Hi Sarah, Gosh what a shock to receive this nearly 3 months after your stay, there was no hint of complaint in our emails at the time, I am so sorry to hear of them now. We take guests comments very seriously and always learn from them. In 9 years, we haven't had any complaints regarding the street light, but I am changing the blind following your comment. We don't have any carpets or curtains (apart from organza) in the house - just rugs and blinds - in order to ensure cleanliness. The organza curtain in your room was brand new - perhaps I have chosen the wrong shade. I am so sorry that on reflection you found the house not up to standard. We will continue to ensure our regular thorough clean is kept on its toes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyage728...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect base to explore the Peak District”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Victoria Cottage in Bakewell is a most relaxing and enjoyable place, the ideal base for our photography tour in the Peak District.
The house is beautiful and has a fresh homely feel. Comfortable beds and a great spacious lounge are complemented by a well designed and superbly equipped kitchen.
We had some magic moments in the charming terrace garden with pergola and a stunning view.
Great location with all shops, pubs etc just a minute down the road, trails to the green hills on the door step and plenty of buses that take you anywhere in the area and out.
You don’t necessarily need a car to discover the Peak District.

A unique place, highly recommendable.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Delighted that you had a great time and enjoyed the house. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you so much! Delighted you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belper, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you so much, I am delighted you had a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GrandTour...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A spacious cottage in the pretty town of bakewell. The proximity of shops and good walks was a great advantage. I would go there again!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to have you stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jont417
Great Barr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family break for 11”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Delightful well appointed large property with 5 bedrooms, large kitchen, dining room , huge lounge and games rooms. Unable to take advantage of the garden as the weather was wet, but it's delightful with views over the house to the opposite side of the valley. Room for parking 3 or 4 cars but difficult to enter/leave as it's a busy road

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, a wonderful weekend break!”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Victoria Cottage for a family get together and loved the spacious property. It was perfect for our 4 children, 4 parents, my partner and I. Situated a 2 minute walk outside of the town centre and with really convenient access to both Matlock and Buxton we had loads to do and see and a cosy base to come back to. The kids loved the games room, even on a snowy February weekend, and the living room was perfect for everyone to sit together, play games, watch a DVD (or the 6 nations!), and share a glass of wine. The owner was lovely and gave quick responses to queries. We'd have no hesitation in going back to Victoria Cottage!

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.