We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great!!”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great place. Everything you could need from a rental cottage!
Communication from owner was great too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thank you very much for this review. We're so pleased you had a great time and found everything that you needed! Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnboyre...
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem - Victoria Cottage”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Thank you for letting us stay at Victoria Cottage. It was very spacious and well equipped and located within a 5 mins walk (if that) into Bakewell. Not used to the recycling routines so got the ladies to sort that out. Easy to find and accessible throughout. A must try especially in the winter months when you be cosy in the living room.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
We really pleased you had such a good time. Good job you had the ladies to turn to for their superior knowledge! Glad you had all you needed. Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathewosm...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Back once again to a home-from-home”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our second time here and just as good as the last. A quirky, characterful cottage with bags of room in walking distance of everything you might need. Helpful owners, great atmosphere, great location. We'll be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
So happy that you had another good experience at the cottage - and very much looking forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house and garden terrace and handy for both town and countryside”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed here before in winter so loved experiencing it in summer with the chance to sit up on the garden terrace above the house and enjoy the view of town and beautiful wooded hillside opposite. Short walk along old mill race into centre where lots of shops, pubs, supermarket, etc. Also great to be able to walk straight out into countryside without needing to get in car. We were group of nine and enjoyed the good communal spaces, but also options for hanging out in different parts of house so we didn't all feel on top of each other (three toilets also a notable plus point!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
So glad you had a great time and enjoyed all the house has to offer. Looking forward to welcoming you back when there's another family celebration!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinJMc
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Large but cosy at the same time”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was a great place to stay. There is room, both inside and out, to spend time together. At the same time there is plenty of rooms and the garden if you want time alone.

Very comfortable beds. Well equipped cottage. Just a lovely and relaxing stay. Just what we needed.

The cottage is so convenient for either a quick walk to the shops, or pub. And for the healthy amongst us there were some beautiful walks.

Basically a great bolthole to go and unwind.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad you found it just right for you and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toybrunt
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous, spacious and fun”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thank you for our wonderful break we had this summer. This house has such unusual history making the building really interesting but with a simply lovely atmosphere. There are two big bathrooms, which were clean as was the rest of the house and in different parts of the house so no clashes with the teens. It's so close to the town centre but with the most gorgeous views from the gin terrace across the hills. Really well equipped, we'll definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for this review. We so pleased you had a great time and we very much look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katysollo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Victoria Cottage, Bakewell”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had another wonderful stay at Victoria Cottage.The house is spacious, comfortable and very well equipped, with everything you could possibly need for a family holiday. On this visit we were able to use the lovely, sunny terraced garden with views of surrounding beautiful countryside.We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great time and we look forward to you staying again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing