We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful birthday weekend stay!”

Review of Victoria Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Excellent
108 reviews
big room
Living room
Living Room
courtyard
Dining Room
captains bedroom
downstairs twin
downstairs double
Games Room - this room is built into the hill and so in the winter can be a little musty
Games room 2
Games room
Garden in summer
View from the Garden in winter
The unassuming view from the road
Sunday Lunch in the dining room
plan
Peveril Castle
Curber Edge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen P
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful birthday weekend stay!”
Reviewed 21 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

11 family and friends stayed in Victoria Cottage for a birthday weekend celebration and we had a wonderful time. The space was perfect for our group, particularly good was the lounge area that had more than enough seating for us all.

Maggie was great leading up to the stay...I communicated with her a few times for help organising a surprise ahead of our visit.

We were there during the 'beast from the east part 2' visit so did actually think at one stage that we were going to be there longer than intended! But it was beautifully warm and cosy in the cottage and Bakewell is great to walk around even in the snow :)

For info...if you park well you can get 4 cars on the drive...we just about managed it. You'll just need one of your group to stand in the road to stop the traffic when you're driving off.

One thing we didn't do is to go up on the terrace which is a shame (one of the first arrivals did but the rest of us were too keen to get back indoors after a Baltic hike on Saturday!). We'd absolutely love a repeat visit...maybe when it's a little warmer so that we can make use of the 'gin terrace'.

Highly recommend you visit! Thank you Maggie for all of your help.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2018
Oh thank you so much for this lovely review! We are so glad that you had such a great time. Well done with the cars! We very much look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maeve D
1 review
“A wonferul stay in Victoria Cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I recently stayed in Victoria Cottage with my family and 2 other families. We had a wonderful time and everything was made very easy for us. Great location, walking distance to pubs and restaurants. I would recommend this cottage to anyone. Big thanks to Maggie. xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Thank you for writing this review. Its great to hear that you had a good time and found that everything suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda p
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent house for a weekend stay or longer”
Reviewed 5 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The house will happily accommodate a group of friends or 2-3 families due to the number of bedrooms, bathrooms and reception rooms. you can have your own space or different groupings if need be, which is very helpful when staying with a group. The house is very well equipped and has a welcoming, homey feel - and it was all clean and tidy on arrival. It's a great location, an easy walk from the shops and pubs, and with many different outdoor walks straight from the door, rain or shine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
We are very pleased you find the house just right for your needs and that you had a great time. Thanks for taking the time to write an excellent review, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful spacious cottage, perfect for our stay!”
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Great location, a few minutes walk from the centre of Bakewell. A lovely cottage, very comfortable and with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Wonderfully cosy on a cold winter weekend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Your review is much appreciated! So glad you had a great time we hope you'll be back. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazbotldn
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway weekend”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Had such a lovely time staying here.
There were six of us in total and could have been a few more without it feeling squashed.
The kitchen is very convivial - easy to hang out with everyone while a few get on with cooking / washing. The upstairs lounge is just lovely - squashy settees, big, low table.
Bedrooms are all very nice and two bathroom / loos meant no queues in the morning.

The house is just on the edge of town, with a beautiful and very short walk along the stream to get into town the back way. Easily close enough to nip out for a pint of milk or the paper.

We went on a great walk - loads of walks to choose from. Loads of pubs to choose from in town. Cheap and fun shopping in the many charity shops.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. I think maybe you didn't find the third 'hidden' WC?! Something to discover on your next stay ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_christin...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, great location and perfect for a group”
Reviewed 29 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is the second time we have stayed at Maggie's house and will be back! Super well stocked, cosy and fun place to stay. Close to town and great walks. Works really well with groups/2 families. Owner great to deal with and helpful. Handy being able to park in the courtyard. Loved all the books and DVDs for a winter stay - perfect after a good walk in the Peaks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you for this lovely review. It was great to welcome you and yours back and I hope that you will all return. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iamachowd...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Place to bring in the New Year”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We all (12) had a great time at this house. The kids had loads of fun with all of the toys & films that were provided (especially the marble run game!) and loved hanging out in each others sizeable rooms. Well equipped kitchen, perfect for cooking the festive dinner and huge dining table to seat us all. Quirky house just minutes walk from town, shops, cafes, pubs and play parks. Bakewell is really pretty and was lovely for us all to wander around. Tremendous way to bring in 2018!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your review, we are really glad you had such a great time, have a wonderful new year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing