We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chatsworth House

Chatsworth House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$684.68*
and up
5-Day Heart of England Tour from London: North Wales, Stratford-upon-Avon...
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chatsworth, home of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, is set in the heart of the Peak District in Derbyshire, on the banks of the river Derwent. Explore the historic house for fascinating stories and one of Europe's most significant art collections. In the garden, discover water features, giant sculptures and beautiful flowers set in Britain's most stunning and surprising country estate. Or come face to face with our farm animals in our working farmyard and enjoy adventurous fun in the playground. Furthermore, with holiday cottages and hotels, shops and restaurants, including Britain's best farm shop, you can really make the most of your time with us.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent historic county house in Derbyshire. House is typical old English stately home and the tour shows how the aristocracy lived. I personally enjoyed the gardens with the many features. Excellent place for families, couples or go up tours.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,573
    1,217
    416
    204
    137
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived at 10.30 surprised to find it didn't open till 11 o'clock so we took the opportunity to have a walk behind the gardens to the source of the Emperor Fountain. Are we glad we did, it was the best bit for us. Though not for the cardiovascularly challenged it was well worth the effort to walk up the steep track to view the Emperor Lake and the aquaduct which is spectacular. The gardens are wonderful too. We went in the house but although very grand not really the sort of thing we like to do (but as we were there we thought we'd better do it). I am sure it is fascinating for those who like that sort of thing. I would advise prebooking your ticket to avoid the queues at the door, you can bypass those and go straight in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suseehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chatsworth a highly polished experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It's such a beautiful landscape and as you drive up you cannot fail to be impressed by the setting. Inside the house it felt, in parts, a little too polished but I did like the hand painted wallpaper in the bedrooms , the large dinning room with the table all laid out ready for dinner and the sculpture room .
Stupidly, we went on Easter Sunday and obviously the house was a high traffic area. We were shepherded through the house a little faster than I would have liked.
The cafe should have been managed better because after we paid for our food there was nowhere to sit , so we had to hover for a few mins untill a table became free.
The gardens are spacious and I loved the modern sculpture ( by Michael Craig-Martin) dotted about in the traditionally manicured grounds. We tried the maze and had lots of laughs going all the wrong way ending up lost .
My advice would be take a big picnic , a big picnic blanket and after you have been ushered through the house you can find a great spot to flop down on the grass ,relax and soak up the view , in the beautiful, calm surroundings

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Splendour on a gloomy day”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had pre-booked our tickets for Chatsworth, saving £3 parking charge and wondered whether the dreadful wet weather might spoil our visit. Although our time in the beautiful gardens was very limited we were able to give more time to the house and its contents.
We chose to pay extra on arrival for the hour and a half guided tour and then after lunch repeat the tour unaccompanied, taking in extra areas. This arrangement meant that in the afternoon we had time to ask questions and enjoy the treasures without pressure. The numerous staff were knowledgeable and friendly.
For Ladies make sure to visit the Toilet in the Café in the Stable Block - try to resist taking a photograph of the interior !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pookymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An enjoyable day”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The house and gardens were very good, although I did feel that the cost of entrance was higher than many other Historic Houses. The gardens are superb, but to my mind were spoilt somewhat by the temporary exhibition of huge metal sculptures of various items of gardening equipment and umbrellas. In themselves they were ok, but the positioning of them, adjacent to some of the most attractive parts of the garden (cascade, fountain etc.) was just madness! That is of course just my opinion!
All the staff and volunteers were very friendly and knowledgeable and helped to make the visit enjoyable.
We felt that the cost of the food in the main restaurant was quite high for what was very average food.
All in all a pleasant day and quite unique so I suppose that is what you are paying for.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cromerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatsworth House also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Chatsworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing