We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let Down By Gift Shop Contents”
Review of Haddon Hall

Haddon Hall
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Haddon Hall stands on a rocky outcrop overlooking the River Wye. One of the finest examples of a Medieval and Tudor manor house, open to visitors, with wonderful gardens.Visit Haddon Hall and truly step back in time. Visit our website for full details of opening times, prices, and our full list of special events.We also have a Restaurant selling fresh, local produce and a Gift Shop which carries a good range of locally sourced giftware.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Let Down By Gift Shop Contents”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This interesting hall and beautiful gardens are well worth a visit. What spoilt the visit for us was a book on shooting that was in the gift shop. The gift shop is open to the public and obviously caters for children. To have books promoting the act of killing for 'sport' on display to young minds is wrong.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 833David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    761
    309
    98
    45
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
465 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good for a day out.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a house on a more human scale than some in the area - you feel that you (or your ancestors) could have lived here in times past. The staff were all polite and helpful and I noticed in particular that they took time looking after some of the more infirm and doddery visitors.
The gardens in midsummer - again on a large but not a grand scale - were a picture, well maintained and had clearly been designed and laid out with some thought.
Visit the cafe/teashop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank imacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stately home with that lived in look”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We visited Haddon Hall completely on spec - we thought it was National Trust - it isn't! The hall is a fortified manor house with lots of interesting history to explore and some superb and peaceful gardens. It is very evident that the Hall is still lived in and that is greatly to its benefit since it does not have that 'preserved in aspic' feel of many NT properties such as Hardwick Hall (which we visited the same day). The cafe is pleasant and produces excellent home made food. Would visit here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Journey Back in Time”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

When we visited Haddon Hall there was a history day going on where lots of staff were dressed up in Tudor style clothes and they were carrying out their duties as they would have done in Tudor times (Life Below Stairs). We felt that this added to the visit as we could see first hand how things might have been back then.
We found the museum very interesting with many items displayed.
We were disappointed with King John's Wall as we expected a viewing point not just a wall. Though the wall is 12th century, so is impressive just in that. Not Haddon Halls fault, we just expected something different.
The gardens are wonderful and stocked with a great variety of plants - an added bonus was the sheet telling you exactly what was in the garden, just in case you fancied a bit of Haddon in your own back yard (I know we will). My husband enjoyed the scent from the various roses, and picked up the list of roses so that we might put them in our garden to enjoy.
The house and furniture are well presented and there was plenty to see and read about. There were some scratchings on some of the panes of glass in the great hall and we were wondering if they were genuinely from the dates shown, or just a mischievous graffiti-er.
All in all we felt that Haddon Hall was good value for money with plenty to see and with lovely grounds to sit and enjoy a picnic in (they will even loan you a rug to sit on).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JuJu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fab house and gardens, well worth a visit - found it infinitely better value and more enjoyable (even in the rain!) than Chatsworth. All the staff (including the car park man) were really friendly and helpful. If you are wanting to combine the trip with a leg stretch there are several footpaths/bridleways nearby.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haddon Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Haddon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing