We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place to visit.”
Review of Haddon Hall

Haddon Hall
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Haddon Hall stands on a rocky outcrop overlooking the River Wye. One of the finest examples of a Medieval and Tudor manor house, open to visitors, with wonderful gardens.Visit Haddon Hall and truly step back in time. Visit our website for full details of opening times, prices, and our full list of special events.We also have a Restaurant selling fresh, local produce and a Gift Shop which carries a good range of locally sourced giftware.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place to visit.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited 21 July 2014. The car park attendant was welcoming and wished us an enjoyable visit, kindly advising us to take care crossing the busy A6 to the entrance of the Hall.
Approaching the ticket booth, I saw a sign indicating that large bags couldn't be taken into the Hall so I queried whether my fairly large shoulder bag would be an issue. The friendly ticket seller said this mainly referred to haversacks, which must be left in safe keeping as some people forget they are carrying them and which consequently may knock over or damage artefacts (fair point).

It was a fine summers day and the short walk across the little bridge over the River Wye set the scene for our visit. Each wonderful, ancient room was full of atmosphere and would I think capture the imagination of anyone with a soul. We were not discouraged from taking photographs. Comprehensive laminated notes were to hand and House Guides were standing discreetly available should you wish to know more. Ancient pieces were carefully maintained and I noticed to my amusement that a beribboned teasel was placed strategically on the seat of any ancient chair, a subtle hint as much for our safety as for the seat! Some seating was available if needed.

The terraced gardens were beautiful and offered magnificent views across the Derbyshire countryside. There were plenty of seats, some covered, to sit and enjoy the views.

I'd recommend flat shoes, as the floors and some ancient well trodden steps are uneven in places. There are useful visitor notes on the Haddon Hall website.

We bought a guide book, which was beautifully produced, at £5 better value than many we've seen. We will certainly visit again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    283
    85
    41
    24
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derby,England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“How all country houses should be”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The National Trust could learn a lot about the way this house is presented and run.

The welcome - from the ticket office onwards - is friendly and welcoming in a way that never seeks to impose restrictions on you from the moment you arrive, and deliberately avoids trying to control the order in which you do things, but simply makes suggestions, and provides knowledgeable information when you ask for it.

It helps that the house itself is such a delight to visit. It feels like a real home - which it still is - and you get a sense of the life of the house over the ages as it has developed. There are a variety of lovely rooms that come not as an endless procession of formal rooms full of paintings and fancy furniture, but as a delightful sequence of unexpected delights that follow the way the house has evolved. The house gives access to the lovely terraced gardens full of fantastic beds of flowers, set off by the romantic old stonework of the house and walls.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Started off with a super lunch and the cheese scones were terrific. Both the house and gardens were a joy to behold

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hazelmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This time capsule from the 15th and 16th centuries is a must see. They are open until 8pm in June and July which is a wonderful time to stroll around the gardens and view the house. The kitchens are as they were 500 years ago! Simply wonderful!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank allyreps2460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We visited Haddon hall on 16th july 2014. We arrived just before the hall opened (12 noon) and spent 1 hour 30 minutes on our visit, Arriving just before the opening which was great as it was not that busy and was becoming busy as we left. The Hall itself was fascinating and well kept and the gardens were beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ant422014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haddon Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Haddon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing