We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet beauty steeped in atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haddon Hall

Haddon Hall
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Haddon Hall stands on a rocky outcrop overlooking the River Wye. One of the finest examples of a Medieval and Tudor manor house, open to visitors, with wonderful gardens.Visit Haddon Hall and truly step back in time. Visit our website for full details of opening times, prices, and our full list of special events.We also have a Restaurant selling fresh, local produce and a Gift Shop which carries a good range of locally sourced giftware.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet beauty steeped in atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We loved the simple 16/17th century style of the buildings, the panelling, carvings and tapestries. It was worth the entrance fee for the wall paintings in the Chapel alone. Staff were friendly and our 6 year old loved the activity book with things to find in each room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FeathersR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    274
    81
    40
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't look and walk at the same time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We took some Australian visitors on a sunny afternoon in July. They were very impressed and we were reminded of the real charm of the place.

V friendly staff - car park, pay kiosk, entrance area and tour guide.

The free guided tour gave us just the right level of information with the invitation to go beyond the tour route into the other rooms later, at your leisure. The guide did tell us not to 'look and walk at the same time' - good advice, since there are lots of uneven steps, door thresholds etc.
The charm of the place is that it seems just to have had several hundred years worth of dust blown away leaving everything as it was.

Special highlights - wall paintings and sculpture in the chapel (v sad story), kitchen rooms, window details, long gallery, garden near the river and the overall charm.

Pensioner rate for entry was ok, and the visitors paid anyway! I wish we had longer there but closing time crept up on us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
264 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Change visit - luckily”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were heading into Bakewell for lunch but it was so congested we decided not to, we saw the sign for Haddon Hall and I remember seeing it online and knowing there was a restaurant so we though 'why not' and stopped.
I choked a bit at the entrance fee, the discounted family one was 28 pounds. The staff were friendly enough though even at the car park. The Hall is quite small, you can whizz through the open rooms in half an hour and the gardens in less than that. I guess if you took in every nook and cranny then you could double the time. The restaurant is more of an overpriced cafe and the service is slow.
All in all a very long and expensive cafe lunch!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick_Yvanovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A TIME CAPSULE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This stately home is one of the best I have ever been to, & I have been to many. There is so much to see here. There are surviving medieval wall paintings in the chapel as well as a fantastic marble statue, sculpted by the Mother of her son who died aged 9, She was I believe she was the Lady of the house at that time, & obviously very gifted.

There is a tapestry on the wall given to the family by Henry VIII, totally amazing the condition it is still in.

Every room you go in is steeped in history, & if you are lucky enough to go on one of the guided tours you learn all about that history in detail. I particularly like the Tudor kitchen, you can just feel the staff bustling about preparing a sumptuous meal for the Lord & Lady.

The gardens here are also wonderful, full of colour & a vast array of different flowers & plants.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MARYLOUESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not impressive at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was waiting since when I moved to live in Sheffield, last Autumn, to visit this place. Honestly the thicket is far too high respect what this attraction offers: few rooms opened to the public and a small (not that impressive) garden. In less than one hour everything done. Just few antique furniture (mainly old storage boxes and chairs) and that's it. No bedrooms or other interesting rooms to visit. What did I pay for, exactly? I am still trying to understand it. Glad to haven't buy frequent visitor thicket: there is no objective reason to visit this place again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tizitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haddon Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Haddon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing