We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place and great presentation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haddon Hall

Haddon Hall
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Haddon Hall stands on a rocky outcrop overlooking the River Wye. One of the finest examples of a Medieval and Tudor manor house, open to visitors, with wonderful gardens.Visit Haddon Hall and truly step back in time. Visit our website for full details of opening times, prices, and our full list of special events.We also have a Restaurant selling fresh, local produce and a Gift Shop which carries a good range of locally sourced giftware.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place and great presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Beforehand we checked out the web site and were immediately aware that access for a wheelchair was going to be difficult - well done for the honesty, the decision was then straight forward that that this was not a trip for my elderly mother.On arrival in the car park as soon as my slightly limited mobility was mentioned we were cheerfully directed straight up to the Hall we no quibbles. Thank you.

We met my sister and her young family on the area outside the tea rooms where there are plenty of benches and we had a picnic before entering the hall. Having your own picnic there, despite them having their own tea rooms/restaurant, is in no way discouraged in fact blankets are available for loan from the ticket kiosk for such use, I can honestly say I have never experienced that before and to me it implied a great attitude and a certain generosity of spirit. We did have tea later in the tea room, after going around the hall but before a full exploration of the gardens and were able to spend time and muse over our visit without being moved on, thank you.

Haddon Hall is unspoiled, well kept both in terms of conservation levels and housekeeping - e.g. carefully arranged flowers that artistically catch the light and enhance rather than detract and overall just exquisite. The free flow is spot on, no-one wants to be herded through and the guides who were there seemed knowledgeable and helpfully pointed out things we might not otherwise have noticed. We went on the summer time late night Thursday opening and that was definitely well worthwhile as it gave us all the time we needed to fully explore without feeling rushed.

This was my first visit but I shall certainly visit again. Whilst sadly unsuitable for wheelchair users simply because of its age it is certainly very family and people friendly. A must!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DSarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaddonHallBakewell, General Manager at Haddon Hall, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you so much for your concise and kind review of Haddon Hall.

We do our best to welcome every visitor to Haddon. Whilst sometimes we cannot offer full access to guests with severe disability, we do endeavor to make your experience as enjoyable as possible within the limitations.

Our picnic rug loan is an initiative that we are very proud of, we love our guests to feel comfortable in their surroundings and enjoy to see families and groups picnicking and having fun the beautiful surroundings! We also find that not rushing visitors around the hall so that it's beauty can be taken in at an individual pace makes for a better all round visit for our guests.

We very much hope that you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    273
    81
    40
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My friend and I visited Haddon Hall on a cool misty day but were still awestruck by its beauty. The gardens are particularly beautiful, especially at this time of year (supposedly summer) and the building itself is breath-taking from the outside. We knew that Haddon Hall had featured in a number of period dramas and adaptations of classic novels such as Jane Eyre, however a very well-informed room guide told us that the courtyard and a few of the rooms were actually used whilst shooting the film "The Princess Bride" - one of my favourites!

The inside of the hall isn't as grand or impressive as some of the other houses in the area, but it feels far more rustic and authentic and is really worth a visit.

We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and finished it off with a trip to the restaurant. Excellent food. Very impressed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rubia_rache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Although we live relatively near Haddon Hall this was our first vist. What an excellent place for half a day out. Highly recommended

The hall and surrounding buildings are fascinating and packed with history

The catering was nothing special (very much on par with National Trust places) and the gents toilets needed refreshing, but a very good visit

Not really suitable for wheelchairs

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank passengerinthenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“living history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

an informative guide helped to bring this beautiful old building to life. lots to see, and some seriously beautiful old carvings, not to mention the tapestry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History in front of your eyes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Beautiful setting and you could imagine the people from the past living there. The Haddon Hall employees were really friendly and informative always willing to answer questions about the rooms, furniture or general history

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beaver1Romford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haddon Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Haddon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing