We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe they learned” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Biirmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maybe they learned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had read other reviews, stating service was not great etc, but I disagree. Maybe they listened and learned.
We were housed in the stables opposite the hotel - disappointing, but we were on a cut price deal, so oops, there goes my four poster fantasy. The room was huge, little separate walk-in wardrobe, mirror, not quite dressing room which was lovely, newly decorated throughout.
We put Do Not Disturb signs up, as my partner wanted to leave his delicate photography kit untouched, so they left us a bag of fresh towels, coffee sachets, bathroom stuff etc outside.
Breakfast was fantastic...they say you can order anything off the menu and you can! Any combination. Veggie sausage, kippers and two eggs, one poached, one fried? Sure, madam. (we didn't do that, but we were quite specific). Strong coffee. Service a bit harassed at one point, but hey, it's not the Hilton, and I'm on holiday...take your time.
Staff very friendly, think it's a Derbyshire trait.
It's easy to be critical, say the mint was at the wrong angle on the pillow, but we felt catered for, unfettered from responsibility for a while, and, most importantly, we felt welcomed.

Room Tip: Don't worry too much if you get a stables room, but ask for first floor as ground is very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    276
    136
    64
    30
See reviews for
96
423
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely recently decorated room. Pity the cleaner didn't remove the empty pizza box and the remains of the previous occupier's take-away which was placed next to the bin!!
Beakfast ....food was good but was eventually shown to a table wasn't informed of the cereal selection etc and eventually had to ask for someone to take the breakfast order. On checking out, even though we had made the reception aware of the left-over food and packaging not removed, was not asked if everything else was ok!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in mid April 2014. Firstly, important to say all of the staff were very nice and friendly; but we paid over £250 for our stay and there was something about the standards of service that I think need work.
We stayed in a courtyard room across the road from the main hotel, not a bad room but on the ground floor and window is overlooked by a bus stop so not terribly easy to open curtains without worrying people can see in!
Ok, we turned up quite late for breakfast, but within the time, and the buffet was a mess, poor choice remained, and on both days, no OJ, we had to ask for it. On the second day, we were told to find a table, none of them laid, and we picked the one with the least crumbs, not good enough!
There were only 4 milks in the room, so only 2 cups of tea allowed, we wanted a third, and planned to ask for milk on our return to the hotel after a night out on Friday. We returned before midnight, to see the main building closed up and dark; we didn't feel able to go in and ask for milk so we went without.
Twice we went to the hotel bar and waited too long for someone to show and serve us, and gave up.
On departure I was interested to note the receptionist's breakfast half eaten on the front desk and she didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay.
The car park is really tight so if you have a big car or don't like to park, take note!
It's not bad, but it's not quite good enough for the money they ask.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 151Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Took a 3 day Amazon Local Deal to walk in the area. Very nice location and we were in the Courtyard across the road from the hotel. The rooms in the Courtyard are refurbished clean and tidy. We had a bath with a shower and the only complaint regarding the room was the shower head was too heavy for the holder on the wall so hard to direct onto yourself. Massive double bed that was great!
Breakfast was included and either Continental or Full English (or Kippers.) Very good one of the best freshly served Full English we have had. One Evening Meal was included in the deal but we were disappointed that it was an Amazon Special Menu and not the standard menu! It wasn't too bad a meal though and you could upgrade and pay the extra over the Amazon Deal allowance. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you, very rare nowadays!
Thanks Rutland Arms Hotel Team.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights on the 11th and 12th of April to celebrate my sisters wedding. Everything was just perfect and that was down to Hazel the wedding organiser You made my sisters big day so special and perfect, the attention to detail was amazing. The food was 5 star and some, and the staff friendly attentive and professional. It will be a day that all guests will never forget, Thank you all the staff at Rutland that weekend you should all be very proud of yourselfs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sank_Eust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Thank you to all the staff and management for making our special day fabulous ! The rooms look amazing and the service was superb all weekend. Yes, the bar did run out of beer, but this was largely down to my dad and other thirsty fellas! Our guests loved this friendly well run hotel and we will continue to stay here as often as we can.......fabulous food too ...thank you

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and have the bridal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Rutland is in the centre of Bakewell in a very prominent position , we went to show some friends how lucky we are to have this wonderful hotel to take friends for drinks only to discover that the bar had Run out of beer and offered us cider !!!! There was a wedding reception taking place that afternoon and evening, the guests also we're not happy and ended up in other bars in the town . There wasn't much forward planning with the management .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moorey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
10.8 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Bakewell
Bakewell Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing