We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms. We stopped by for an evening meal and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating particularly as we had not booked. The melon starter obviously did not have time to ripen before it was frozen so was hard and unpleasant. The monkfish was very well done but the potatoes were undercooked so were also hard. My parents had the beef with potato mixed with horseradish but the horseradish was so dominant that it was unpleasant to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clydach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    320
    144
    68
    34
See reviews for
104
476
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband & I took my parents on a trip to explore Bakewell & surrounding area over the Easter weekend. Were especially looking forward to staying at Rutland Arms because of its history (especially connection with Jane Austen), but what a disappointment. Rooms are spartan, poorly furnished & have absolutely no character whatsoever. Such a shame given the rich history of the place - why not incorporate some of that history into your furnishings & rooms? We stayed in courtyard rooms, which were fine, but basically equivalent to staying at a Premier Inn (and about two steps up from a Travelodge). My parents stayed in the main house, which if possible, was even poorer quality, with a bed and floor that made a large amount of noise. Beds in both rooms were hard as a rock - most uncomfortable sleep we've had in a long time.

Breakfast was middling - poached eggs hard as a rock. Seemed to have trouble clearing tables & seating people in a prompt fashion. Staff (minus one, who spoke to us at some length before we left) were indifferent at best.

In short, don't waste your money here - you're certainly not paying for the experience . . .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mezza1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I am afraid this hotel is trading on its historic customers and needs a bit of a wake up call considering the prices they charge.
We were late to book for Easter Sunday for 1 night and appreciate that it was a Bank Holiday and not a lot of competition in Bakewell but we made a special trip to meet up with relatives so bit the bullet and paid. (At least central reservations were very efficient and the rate was cheaper than that being advertised by all the booking agencies - Trivago, Booking.com etc). On check in we were asked for a credit or debit card to pre-authorise - why do hotels do this, they had already been given one during the reservation process and this immediately sets them off to a shaky start. Car parking is over the road from the hotel, not behind as you would think, so it took a good 10 minutes driving around and then having to park up on narrow roads to get to the hotel & ask. Our room was in the 'Courtyard' which sounds quite romantic, but in fact it was over the road with the car park, an annexe with box type rooms and a quite dangerous road to cross (blind corner to the right, roundabout to the left), in fact it didn't really feel like part of the hotel at all, no wonder the lounges and restaurant were empty save for breakfast. We intended to all dine in the hotel on the Sunday night, but relatives had eaten there on Good Friday (2 tables dining) and said the food was overpriced, atmosphere was awful and only 1 choice for vegetarians, so we passed and went elsewhere. (Can highly recommend Le Mistral). Reception really should not be giving out incorrect information (advising 2 rooms were identical when one was far larger with King Size bed, which is important when one was for sole occupancy) and also incorrect time for breakfast. Rooms were spotless and beds were comfy, water pressure was poor, nice to see iron and board, but Wifi in courtyard rooms hit and miss. The ' 2 cartons of milk per person' was a pain as the hotel was so far away, I expect this in a Premier Inn but not in a hotel charging what this was. We loved Bakewell but I'm afraid I wouldn't stay here again, next Bank Holiday we are off to Croatia for 3 nights and the total cost including flights is not as expensive as this place was for the 3 of us for one night.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the 'Courtyard' rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nextmrsfisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The website and pictures give a VERY different picture of this hotel, to start with it is right on the road and you cannot stop outside it so you have to carry bags from the car park, but more importantly it is a bit tatty and very overpriced for what you get, our room was big enough but the bathroom was TINY and no where in there to stand your stuff required. I will not be be going back

Room Tip: Don't go for the special rooms, certainly not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JY-and-PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biirmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had read other reviews, stating service was not great etc, but I disagree. Maybe they listened and learned.
We were housed in the stables opposite the hotel - disappointing, but we were on a cut price deal, so oops, there goes my four poster fantasy. The room was huge, little separate walk-in wardrobe, mirror, not quite dressing room which was lovely, newly decorated throughout.
We put Do Not Disturb signs up, as my partner wanted to leave his delicate photography kit untouched, so they left us a bag of fresh towels, coffee sachets, bathroom stuff etc outside.
Breakfast was fantastic...they say you can order anything off the menu and you can! Any combination. Veggie sausage, kippers and two eggs, one poached, one fried? Sure, madam. (we didn't do that, but we were quite specific). Strong coffee. Service a bit harassed at one point, but hey, it's not the Hilton, and I'm on holiday...take your time.
Staff very friendly, think it's a Derbyshire trait.
It's easy to be critical, say the mint was at the wrong angle on the pillow, but we felt catered for, unfettered from responsibility for a while, and, most importantly, we felt welcomed.

Room Tip: Don't worry too much if you get a stables room, but ask for first floor as ground is very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Lovely recently decorated room. Pity the cleaner didn't remove the empty pizza box and the remains of the previous occupier's take-away which was placed next to the bin!!
Beakfast ....food was good but was eventually shown to a table wasn't informed of the cereal selection etc and eventually had to ask for someone to take the breakfast order. On checking out, even though we had made the reception aware of the left-over food and packaging not removed, was not asked if everything else was ok!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobblies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in mid April 2014. Firstly, important to say all of the staff were very nice and friendly; but we paid over £250 for our stay and there was something about the standards of service that I think need work.
We stayed in a courtyard room across the road from the main hotel, not a bad room but on the ground floor and window is overlooked by a bus stop so not terribly easy to open curtains without worrying people can see in!
Ok, we turned up quite late for breakfast, but within the time, and the buffet was a mess, poor choice remained, and on both days, no OJ, we had to ask for it. On the second day, we were told to find a table, none of them laid, and we picked the one with the least crumbs, not good enough!
There were only 4 milks in the room, so only 2 cups of tea allowed, we wanted a third, and planned to ask for milk on our return to the hotel after a night out on Friday. We returned before midnight, to see the main building closed up and dark; we didn't feel able to go in and ask for milk so we went without.
Twice we went to the hotel bar and waited too long for someone to show and serve us, and gave up.
On departure I was interested to note the receptionist's breakfast half eaten on the front desk and she didn't ask if we had enjoyed our stay.
The car park is really tight so if you have a big car or don't like to park, take note!
It's not bad, but it's not quite good enough for the money they ask.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 151Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
683 reviews
8.3 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Bakewell
Bakewell Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing