We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We recently stayed in the Rutland on a Grouopn deal. We stayed in the main hotel, the first room we were given was very small and overlooked the back of the hotel and the extractor fan, when asked if we could change room, they were very accomodating and were changed to a huge room which was lovely. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and I would like to say a special thanks to Dave on reception who was friendly, polite and nothing was too much trouble, he is an asset to the hotel. The breakfasts were superb, beautifully cooked and put on a plate that was hot (my pet hate is hot food on a cold plate ) The only thing I would say is that the curry night was not really authentic , no spice at all and I was given chilli powder to put on mine to spice it up! That said, I would still return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooked the newsagent but was on the road so you would get traffic noise but it was very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    293
    137
    64
    32
See reviews for
100
448
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
worldwide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

stayed at this hotel last week. it is a great location, we were in the rooms across the road, they were very nice and looked as though they had not long been decorated, the only thing i would criticise,( and this is only my opinion), i did not like the shower as it was mixer taps and it seemed to take a while to get the right temperture. The breakfast was very good, a variety of cereals , buns, juices and fruit. we did not eat cooked breakfast but as they were served to other guests they were plentiful. Overall i would certainly reccommend this hotel and shall stay again when in that area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times in the past but haven't been for about four years. We always enjoyed staying at the hotel and were therefore pleased to visit again for a short break. We were also very impressed with the massive improvements to the rooms and public areas and the central heating and plumbing. One thing that hasn't changed is the really warm welcome that we got from all the staff - it really did make us feel glad to be back! We didn't eat at the hotel as we had booked to eat at a local restaurant but the breakfasts are always great with a really good selection from continental to full English (I always enjoy the smoked haddock with poached egg). The location of the hotel is also very convenient for the town centre and for traveling into and around the Peak District. This is one of our favourite locations for a short break.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are usually cheaper and are very convenient for the car park. There is also a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffSale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our room was across the road in the courtyard. Room was nice & clean. With the hotel & courtyard rooms being on the main road, it was pretty noisy from about 6am-10pm, especially if you have the window open. It did take the toilet about 30minutes to fill up, which was a pain if you got up in the night & our toilet door didn't shut due to we think the number of coats of paint applied. ataff were friendly. Waitress didn't really explain the breakfast buffet table to us so we just got up & helped ourselves.couldn't fault the location of hotel, we parked our car & it stayed there until we left.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of the Easter holidays. Very central hotel only 4 miles from Chatsworth. Hotel is clean and cosy and the staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. Had a good evening meal in the restaurant and excellent breakfasts. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1309Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms. We stopped by for an evening meal and the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating particularly as we had not booked. The melon starter obviously did not have time to ripen before it was frozen so was hard and unpleasant. The monkfish was very well done but the potatoes were undercooked so were also hard. My parents had the beef with potato mixed with horseradish but the horseradish was so dominant that it was unpleasant to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clydach2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband & I took my parents on a trip to explore Bakewell & surrounding area over the Easter weekend. Were especially looking forward to staying at Rutland Arms because of its history (especially connection with Jane Austen), but what a disappointment. Rooms are spartan, poorly furnished & have absolutely no character whatsoever. Such a shame given the rich history of the place - why not incorporate some of that history into your furnishings & rooms? We stayed in courtyard rooms, which were fine, but basically equivalent to staying at a Premier Inn (and about two steps up from a Travelodge). My parents stayed in the main house, which if possible, was even poorer quality, with a bed and floor that made a large amount of noise. Beds in both rooms were hard as a rock - most uncomfortable sleep we've had in a long time.

Breakfast was middling - poached eggs hard as a rock. Seemed to have trouble clearing tables & seating people in a prompt fashion. Staff (minus one, who spoke to us at some length before we left) were indifferent at best.

In short, don't waste your money here - you're certainly not paying for the experience . . .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mezza1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
7.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
10.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell

Property: Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Bakewell
Bakewell Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing