We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical market town centre hotel. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Had rooms in both main building and courtyard; similar standard to a modern premier inn or travel lodge. Staff friendly and helpful, good quality breakfast included in our stay.
Hotel still charges card fees 06/14 and car was scraped in small car park.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank philipbennett25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight stop with friends as part of a car tour. We were somewhat dismayed that the hotel was located on one of the busiest road junctions in Derbyshire. After two trips around the block we still could not find the car park, so decided to park alongside the road and walk to the hotel. Only when we got there did we notice that the parking was in a small courtyard opposite the hotel. Better signage is definitely required. Having to cross the very busy road on a blind bend was not ideal.

Once we had entered the hotel we found the staff very friendly and efficient. We were told that our room was located in the courtyard opposite the hotel, which was somewhat of a relief, as the main hotel building looked very tired and dated. So across the road again.

The courtyard rooms have been refurbished and very modern, have good facilities and are very clean.

Unfortunately, we were allocated Room No. 22. This room is located alongside the busy road and the windows is opposite a bus stop. With the window open the road noise was extreme and with the window closed the room temperature was tropical. There was no air-conditioning or fan. As a consequence. we were very disturbed and, if we had being staying another night, we would have asked for a room change.

The hotel is right in the centre of the town, so is very convenient for the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room change, if you are given Room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We recently stayed overnight here for a short break, on arrival we found it very hard to find the hotel car park, the fact it wasn't signposted didn't make it easy however the staff were very helpful & directed us in the right direction, the hotel is lovely but I wouldn't say the price was reasonable for what you get , the rooms are very basic to say it's rated 4 stars , the breakfast however was lovely & also the restaurant at night was amazing would certainly recommend, the quality of food & service was amazing , bakewell is a lovely place & we will be back very soon :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Rutlands Arms Hotel in Bakewell. Overall we were very happy with our stay.

We were in a room in the Courtyard--if you stay there be prepared to cross what can be a very busy road to get to the main Hotel for breakfast - and the room was more than adequate . We overlooked the front and at first thought we may have problem sleeping as we had to have the window open as it was very warm weather when we stayed (not that we are complaining about that). The roads around the Hotel are very busy and noisy BUT at night--nice & quiet overall we found.
There is a very nice Antiques Centre within the Courtyard with its own coffee shop-which we used when meeting friends on one of the days.
The Hotel is ideally placed for the many attractions in the area and Bakewell itself is very quaint-we would certainly stay there again. The staff were also very pleasant and food very good too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We recently stayed in the Rutland on a Grouopn deal. We stayed in the main hotel, the first room we were given was very small and overlooked the back of the hotel and the extractor fan, when asked if we could change room, they were very accomodating and were changed to a huge room which was lovely. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and I would like to say a special thanks to Dave on reception who was friendly, polite and nothing was too much trouble, he is an asset to the hotel. The breakfasts were superb, beautifully cooked and put on a plate that was hot (my pet hate is hot food on a cold plate ) The only thing I would say is that the curry night was not really authentic , no spice at all and I was given chilli powder to put on mine to spice it up! That said, I would still return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooked the newsagent but was on the road so you would get traffic noise but it was very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

stayed at this hotel last week. it is a great location, we were in the rooms across the road, they were very nice and looked as though they had not long been decorated, the only thing i would criticise,( and this is only my opinion), i did not like the shower as it was mixer taps and it seemed to take a while to get the right temperture. The breakfast was very good, a variety of cereals , buns, juices and fruit. we did not eat cooked breakfast but as they were served to other guests they were plentiful. Overall i would certainly reccommend this hotel and shall stay again when in that area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hannah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times in the past but haven't been for about four years. We always enjoyed staying at the hotel and were therefore pleased to visit again for a short break. We were also very impressed with the massive improvements to the rooms and public areas and the central heating and plumbing. One thing that hasn't changed is the really warm welcome that we got from all the staff - it really did make us feel glad to be back! We didn't eat at the hotel as we had booked to eat at a local restaurant but the breakfasts are always great with a really good selection from continental to full English (I always enjoy the smoked haddock with poached egg). The location of the hotel is also very convenient for the town centre and for traveling into and around the Peak District. This is one of our favourite locations for a short break.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are usually cheaper and are very convenient for the car park. There is also a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffSale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.1 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
3.2 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
176 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell

Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: £72 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Arms Bakewell
Bakewell Rutland Arms Hotel
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing