We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience!”
Review of Lavender Tea Rooms

Lavender Tea Rooms
Ranked #2 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An Experience!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

....Meant in the nicest way!
It IS an experience to visit the Lavender Tea rooms. The decor and presentation of the place is not to be missed - it's so different from anywhere else.
The service is second to none and it must be popular as it was full (there is an upstairs as well as the downstairs) when we tried to visit on Saturday (Xmas in Bakewell weekend). Having been before we persevered and managed to secure the last table at lunchtime on Sunday.
Lovely tea and Bakewell puddings. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    74
    32
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tea Room Experience”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've had the pleasure of going to these tea rooms twice this year, once for a sophisticated hen party in the summer where we were able to book the upstairs area for a private afternoon tea, and most recently with a friend for a birthday treat. On both occasions I cannot fault the food, service or atmosphere. The tea rooms are situated in a wonderful little courtyard, an amazing setting where you could be anywhere in the world (apart from the weather sometimes giving it away!). The staff are very helpful and friendly. If I lived nearer I would be very poor and very overweight for the number of times I would like to visit these tea rooms! I have only ever had the afternoon tea but there are other options on the menu which look equally appetising. And whilst the cost of the afternoon tea is a little on the expensive side you won't be disappointed with the value for money in the amount of food and quality of it. Highly recommended for all ages and all occasions, from a sophisticated afternoon tea with a friend to a romantic visit with a partner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Found this tearoom by chance whilst looking for somewhere for a light lunch in Bakewell. Tucked in a courtyard of the main road through town, the charming tea room is full of warmth and character. The owner was very friendly and made you feel very much at home, whilst the beautiful china and décor made for a relaxing lunch. I had a sandwich and a pot of tea, which was lovely and fresh, and well presented. Managed to resist one of the homemade cakes on offer, but will definitely indulge on my next visit.

Would recommend this to anyone wanting a relaxing, tasty lunch in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I'm a regular visitor to Bakewell but only discovered this lovely little place today, having explored a little more than I usually do. Excellent and very friendly service, lovely food (very substantial club sandwich with all the trimmings) and delicious tea drunk from an egg shell thin china cup and saucer. I really felt as though I was giving myself a treat rather than just having popped in somewhere for a quick bite to eat. I was too full to sample the cakes and pastries but they looked very tasty.

I'm quite annoyed with myself really because a few weeks ago and friend and I were hoping to have afternoon tea in the town and couldn't find anywhere suitable. We'd walked out of the nearby Rutland Arms in disgust - if only we'd known that this little gem was there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sammysgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasure from beginning to end.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We attended the Lavender Tea Rooms today, from the minute we walked in we were made to feel as valuable as the cups and saucers used to serve the tea and cake. Most importantly the food was outstanding, we had the traditional afternoon tea which consisted of a selection of wonderful sandwiches and cakes, as if we weren't given enough we were even offered some apple pie if we felt like something more! The atmosphere was friendly, the staff couldn't do enough for you and the service was excellent. If you are thinking of an afternoon tea we would highly recommend a visit, this is, in our opinion, one of the best in Derbyshire.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bungle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavender Tea Rooms also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Lavender Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing