We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T for 2”

Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop Cafe
Ranked #9 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“T for 2”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

You might think that £10 for afternoon tea is too dear, but that's because you haven't sampled Chatsworth's new menu. We were the first to do so today and it was both a visual and mouthwatering experience. Just when you thought the salmon tartlet was the best thing on the tiered cake plate, the lemon posset was fabulous and then there were the scones and luscious brownies ....! Marvellous afternoon, lovely sandwiches, sweets, service and sunshine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    205
    110
    46
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A scenic delight”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We went to this restaurant on a number of ocassions during a recent holiday locally and always recieved the best of service. As we have intolances we asked if there were gluten-free options and were delighted to be offreed three options with our tea/coffee. The waitress service was excellent, as was the food with very little waiting time considering that it was busy each time we visited. We spoke to a number of locals who visit, sometimes, every day and they confirmed that it was the best restaurant in the area and would not go anywhere else for their meals.
Cannot imagine how springfield5 had such a bad meal, the waitresses were very attentive and I am sure they would have replaced anything that was not up to their very high standards.
The restaurant caters for breakfasts, brunch, lunch and also does a huge main meal as well as cakes and tea/coffee.
There are a number of tables inside but it does get busy, with locals, sometimes. There are a number of tables outside as well, with views down the valley to die for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Just OK, but not gourmet!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've been a few times for lunch. It is a very popular venue, usually heaving, and this time we had to share a table with people who obviously, like us, wished to be alone. It was a wet day, otherwise there would have been more room with tables outside in use. The view is good down the valley to the Church, but on this occasion we watched it slowly disappearing in mist.
The portions are very big. I actually hate that as I feel overfaced and indeed overcharged because I have to leave so much. Having said that, service was quick and pastry was crisp.
Payment at the till leads to an exit round the building to reach the Farm Shop and car park, and I got very wet!
Will I go again? Yes because it's so convenient, especially when I need to buy something from the Farm Shop. Will I want to go again? No!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Portion sizes are diminishing”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited this restaurant for many years. Staff are always very efficient. Nice selection of dishes on the menu.

However disappointed that portion sizes are diminishing. One wafer thin slice of beef on a roll, and tiny portion of tuna with jacket potato. We felt short changed.

Will continue to visit as we love the area and a visit to the lovely farmshop but will be careful on our choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHouse, Farm Shop Assistant Manager at Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding the portion sizes which you felt are diminishing.

Our portion control should be consistent and good value for money throughout, and we will make sure this always happens in the future.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and our menu choices, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sunday Breakfast”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

On holiday in the Peak District and was recommended as a good place to have breakfast, wrong, it was awful. Cold bacon, lukewarm sausage, congealed baked beans. Everything crammed on one plate, very thick country style toast which was cold, no offer of jam or marmalade, didn't eat it. For the price I would expect something better than this. Little Chef is better than here

Helpful?
2 Thank springfield5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatsworthHouse, Farm Shop Assistant Manager at Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop Cafe, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are so sorry to hear that your breakfast was disappointing. We have identified the reason for the heat issue, which was caused by a fault with our plate warmer. This has now been addressed.

Thank you for taking the time to comment as your feedback enables us to maintain our usual high standards.

I hope you will accept our sincere apologies and that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop Cafe also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing