We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Review of Wyes Waters

Wyes Waters
Ranked #31 of 87 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Wyes Waters Tea Rooms is located in the heart of Bakewell just off Granby Road. We serve a large range of hot and cold drinks including traditional loose leaf teas and fruit teas and Pollards ground coffees served in our signature cafetieres. We have a large, all day menu which includes full English breakfasts, homemade soups and quiches, hearty lunches such as steak pie and vegetables, snacks like toasties and jacket potatoes and a delicious selection of desserts. We also have daily specials.
Tideswell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A beautiful cafe, with friendly and polite owners, instantly felt comfortable and could have stayed there all day. The food was mouth-wateringly delicious and can highly recommend the brie bacon and cranberry toastie, was without a doubt the best toastie ive ever had, the coffee was delicious too, rich and full bodied. no problem with access for disabled people as one in our party is in a wheelchair, she had no problem manovering around. Will definately be returning as often as possible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MylesMellor, Owner at Wyes Waters, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hi Angi R,

Thanks for the feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback. Yes The BBC toastie is a firm favourite. We tried it as a special about 2 months ago and it is still on the specials board!

You are always welcome and we will strive to be as good as we can.

Thanks again.

Myles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    32
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Always a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

After coming to Bakewell for many years, Wye Waters Tea Rooms is always our pick of the many cafés in town.

The staff are always very friendly and welcoming, and the menu offers quite a wide variety of snacks, all-day breakfasts, hot dinners, and hot and cold sweets. Tea is real tea - not bags, but real leaf tea in a pot teapot, together with a pot of hot water.

Our favourites are the steak pie dinner, and a lovely ham and mushroom quiche with a fresh salad.

For a lighter bite try the bacon and egg or sausage and egg roll, again with a fresh salad garnish. Around Christmas we also love the home-made Christmas cake and cheddar cheese.

If you're in Bakewell be sure to drop in for a snack!

Helpful?
Thank ContactFrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MylesMellor, Owner at Wyes Waters, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi Roy W, Thanks for the feedback. Very much appreciated. Please feel free to come back and visit us soon. We will have Christmas dinners served from 1st December all month.
Best wishes
Myles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit friendly.... good food.... & price.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Bakewell is such a delightful day out and it made even better by a visit to this lovely tea rooms. Staff are very welcoming and the food is good with no fuss. Well worth a visit if your in Bakewell.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maiseymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Fast, unfussy, but great quality breakfast. Loving the proper loose tea too. Great start to the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gedsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MylesMellor, Owner at Wyes Waters, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Thank you for your response. Very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant, convenient, prompt unfussy service. Inexpensive.”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We needed a good breakfast after a nearby ballloonoing trip and this place in the heart of Bakewell came up trumps. Clean with a chest of toys/books for children. Freshly prepared food was tasty and not greasy. Toast was carefully prepared. The pot of tea was STRONG but (extra) additional hot water provided on request sorted that out. Clean toilets - be aware though that these are up a lot of steps.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MylesMellor, Owner at Wyes Waters, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us we really appreciate you giving us some feedback and we are happy that you had a nice time. We have only been in Wyes Waters for 6 weeks and loving it. We have a few little improvements to work on over time so please come back some day soon to see and say hello.

Best wishes

Myles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wyes Waters also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Wyes Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing