We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Bakewell Pudding Shop

Original Bakewell Pudding Shop
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Bakewell
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Visited the Pudding Shop as part of a group tour of Derbyshire.
The service received was wonderful. We were spilt into two groups and went off to make our own puddings and whilst it was cooking enjoyed a super meal and had all round great fun.
The drinks are reasonably price and all the waitresses were friendly and service excellent.
This was a delightful end to our holiday.
Thank you Bakewell Pudding Shop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    275
    127
    86
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grease is the word”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We travelled to Bakewell today for a famous pudding.......Eewww! ...It was horrid. By no means is it the shops fault. In fact all the staff appeared to be very attentive,especially the young girl who served us. The cakes and puddings were overpriced but looked mainly nice. The pudding itself looked awful to start with, some would say rustic, I would say rough! I should have walked away then...but I didn't. I bought the pudding and we brought it home to eat it warm with custard.
It was truly horrible.....there was grease in our bowls. It"s sloppy and wet and the pastry is near impossible to cut with a spoon once warm. We all left it.... even the dog!
Never again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kerryw767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemma B, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our staff.

Your thoughts on our products are just that, your own opinions on the taste and appearance of an item; this is not what trip advisor is for. The Pudding recipe dates back hundreds of years and we cannot apologise if it was not to your taste.

I feel hard done by with this review, you say yourself the staff were attentive yet you only score us 1 out of 5?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

never before had I tried these puddings and I admit it did not look the best but the taste was top notch and it is yummy

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“umm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

don`t go in if your in a hurry the`s too much choice to rush ;-) and once you have been in and seen the goodies for yourself you can order on line

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent, once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I've now eaten here 3 times and each was brilliant. It was a very busy and very hot day. We expected a long wait for service and food, but we were seated quickly and served efficiently too.

As we were both nursing hangovers from the previous evening, we needed something greasy, delicious and filling. We both ordered the burger and chips with smoked bacon and mozzarella (£11.95) with a couple of soft drinks (£2.50) and found it to be amongst the best burger we had ever tried. It was huge, the beef was perfectly seasoned and juicy as you can get!

Service was swift and professional.

Very impressed, once again, by this place. I will definitely return! The first time I ate here I had the afternoon tea and found it to be brill. The second I had lunch and found that to be excellent too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Bakewell Pudding Shop also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Original Bakewell Pudding Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing