We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Indian Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rajas

Rajas
Ranked #6 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
hornchurch,essex
Level Contributor
204 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“A Good Indian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went in here on a quiet Sunday. The meals we had were very good. I had the Lamb Rogan Gosh and my wife had a mixed Biryani - which had a bit of 'bite' to it. The service was good and the portions large. Thoroughly recomended

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank johnofhornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    107
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were here on a quiet Tuesday night. My husband ordered tandoori chicken and I took scampi. I was told that they were very dry (!), so the waiter recommended a carry-sauce. I seldom complain about price, but 3,50 was a small robbery, I think. Food was good, especially the nan-bread. Service was very quick, a bit too quick actually (plates were taken away nearly before we finished), the waiters were not smiling at all, and they did not seem to be very interested in their guests. A bad day at work maybe. Give three because of the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heggvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I have eaten on several occasions at Rajas. Every time we have visited the food has been lovely, and really good size portions. We particularly like the Murg Makni which is a delicious Kashmiri dish, as well as the Monk Masala and Chicken Paneer. The service is always friendly and welcoming, and we look forward to our regular visits there . Rajas is also one of the few places in Bakewell where you can get a good, value for money meal in the evening, particularly on a Sunday when most of the eating places in town stop serving food at 6pm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

You don't really get a great impression when you get to the doorway of this place with it having shared foyer with a boom store but once you get inside the place is really nice. The menu is not that inspiring but it has all the Indian restaurant staples on there. I had the mixed kebab starter which was lovely. The best chicken tikka I had had in years. And booth my wife's king prawn tikka and my lamb jalfrezi mains were great. Less than 40 quid for the two of us was a surprise as well. Mango lassi was great too.

Helpful?
1 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, U.K.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Initial impressions were good in that unlike some Indian restaurants the interior looked very inviting and we were not disappointed by the food either. Good quality and very generous portions made for a very pleasant evening with friends. We do not live locally so are unlikely to visit regularly but, if we did , I would like to see a bigger choice of dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachhut45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rajas also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Rajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing