We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Rajas

Rajas
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have eaten here twice whilst holidaying near Bakewell. Great little restaurant with friendly staff and excellent food. I had the Lamb Korai which was extremely tasty and just the right side of spicy for me. My husband ordered Chicken Tikka Jalfreizi and asked if he could have it a bit spicier than normal and they were happy to oblige. Next time we are in Bakewell we will definitely be paying a visit to this restaurant. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    110
    30
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome food!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I'd heard good things about Raja's so decided to give it a try. Was given a friendly welcome upon entering the place, and immediately liked the staff. the decor and music is fantastic, I especially loved the huge abstract painting on the wall of the Taj Mahal. The menu was reasonably priced, but the real test was the food. I was delighted to find that the food passed the test with flying colours, one of the best Indian meals I have ever had.
Chatting to the owner, it was obvious he took pride in the place, and the food, and was delighted when I complimented the food.
Overall, 5/5 - Will definitely be coming back!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dazsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“superb food”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This establishment has a shared access with a charity bookshop. This does not do it justice once inside it is very well appointed and looks great. The food however is amongst the best indian food i have ever tasted. Well worth visiting

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great resturant”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Went for a meal here last night to meet up with an old friend and the food was very good, portion sizes were perfect and it brilliantly priced. Was very happy with the whole experience and will definitely be taking the wife here in the near future!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank senorbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The restaurant was very busy, but the service is excellent with friendly staff, efficient and professional. Excellent food. Clean restaurant. Great atmosphere and surroundings. The décor is delightful and feels calming and cosy. Tables beautifully set.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone, as there is something on the menu for everyone!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rajas also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Rajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing