We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hollow
Ranked #26 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at The Hollow for one night, the location is very pretty, easy to find, easy parking with a friendly welcome.
WE stayed in the Joan room, it was spacious, lovely and clean and the bathroom was really nice too.
For those attending weddings at Hassop Hall as we were, this was a great location to stay. Hassop was less than a 5 min taxi drive away.
As it was a sunny weekend we were able to enjoy the pretty garden. I would recommend this B&B to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend staying at this b&b. We arrived late friday and was greeted by Dawn, who showed us around and made us feel quickly at home. The b&b is set around beautiful grounds, lovely gardern where you can enjoy some drinks or have something to eat. The B&B has three rooms two of the rooms are very large, the one we stayed in was smaller of the two however was still very spacious. One of the rooms has a beautiful ensuite in it the others have their own private bathrooms which were just down the hallway. I thought having a seperate bathroom initially would be an issue, however we soon found out that the chances of bumping into anyone else on route to the bathroom were very slim. All the rooms are overlooking the garden and have spectacular views of country side. The breakfasts were lovely and cater very well for vegetarians to- great homemade breads and jams available. If like me you wake with a hangover Dawns breakfasts are a great cure for this (thanks Dawn). Overall we had a fabulous weekend we were made to feel very welcome by Dawn and her family if they can help you with something you need they will. We chose to stay at this b&b as we were attending a wedding near by in Hassop, however we will return in the near future for a break and would definately reccommend others to stay at this b&b.

Room Tip: Ask if it would be possible to get one of the two larger rooms- the views are much nicer with big wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt Yarmouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have not stayed at The Hollow but have been to their tea rooms twice, and it was a lovely experience.
Great views from windows and garden, lovely tea room with antique furniture in it and it made you feel special and that it was a treat.
My son and I went on the first occasion I had a pot of tea and homemade scone, homemade jam and cream yummy. My son had orange juice and a delicous piece of homemade chocollate sponge.
We went back the next day and I tried the chocolate sponge and my son had a homemade merigue and cream and chocolate. All gorgeous.
The service was very good and the food excellent and we will go back.
I bought some homemade bread and strawberry jam
I reccommend it to people to go and enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklebelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERSEYSIDE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at the hollow . On arrival we were a bit dissapointed to find the cafe shut and we could not have our eagerly anticipated cream tea . however dawn made us a pot of tea which we enjoyed relaxing in the beautiful country garden .We stayed in mary which had spectacular views over the countryside. Room was spacious as was bathroom next door.good hearty breakfast which sets you up for day. Good local pubs in area for evening meals,the packhorse just over road, or a short walk to great longstone to crispin or white lion. Lovely circular walks starting at monsal head. great b and b and area to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Phil5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were visiting friends to celebrate their silver wedding and needed somewhere to saty locally. The Hollows firstly was the only place around that would accept a one night stay over a weekend period. Our first impressions on arrival was good, the place looked inviting and characterful. We received a warm welcome from the owners and were shown imediately to our room, which was well decorated and spacious. Our room did not have en suite facilities but a large bathroom just across the hallway which was for our use only. Towels Bathrobes and toiletries all provided. The "in room coffee and tea" was better than average, real coffee in a jar with a cafettiere and Hot chocolate, selection of teas and individual tea pot, with a note to say that fresh milk was available on request. The views were pretty and ideally situated for those who enjoy the outdoor life. Breakfast was v.good, excellent selection and pleasant surroundings which overlooked the delightful gardens. Our only regret was that we were not staying longer, but we did say that we would definitely go back to what was quite simply the Best B & B we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Soom rooms are ensuite but dont be put off if the only one available has the seperate bathroom...you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Janette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have stayed here as a family and as just a couple,several times in recent years. We are never disappointed. We have booked again for August.

Wonderful views, fantastic walks, amazing breakfast nothing is too much trouble.
Clean bright rooms what more could one want. Oh yes a proper pub just across the road and a gastro pub in the next village walking distance, all highly recommended. We frequent the lot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueleeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at a number of Peak District B&Bs on our cycle tour and this was our favourite.

The Hollow is an impressive manor house and, I expect, was built in the early years of the last century. It commands spectacular views of its own informal gardens and of the surrounding countryside. It boasts a characterful sitting area with leather upholstered seats for guests to relax and chat in.

The house is very handily placed for access to the nearby pub - The Packhorse. The pub has excellent beer, a surprisingly adventurous menu and an impossibly pretty landlady.

The proprietor of the Hollow was good enough to take care of our bicycles overnight.

The rooms were spacious and airy as well as clean and well decorated. Our TV worked properly and the beds were nice and comfy. Our bathroom was absolutely enormous.

Breakfast was served in delightfully traditional surroundings and we took the Full English Breakfast which was exactly what one would expect and served with toast, orange juice and accompanying cereals if wanted. The orange juice, I think, really was the squeezed juice of oranges rather than stuff from a carton.

Best of all was the charming and unobtrusive character of the proprietors who have mastered the knack of achieving a helpful demeanour without being overbearing.

I really can’t think of anything to fault at the Hollow and would happily go back.

Room Tip: Room "Liz" has marvellous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_the_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Woodside B&B
Woodside B&B
#17 of 47 in Bakewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sleep Lodge
Sleep Lodge
#5 of 20 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow

Property: The Hollow
Address: The Hollow Little Longstone, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Bakewell
The Hollow Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing