We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely,peaceful & welcoming-Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hollow
Ranked #26 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely,peaceful & welcoming-Thank You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed at The Hollow for a couple of nights & found our hosts warm & friendly.
Our room overlooked the gardens & and views of the surrounding countryside.
Dawn looked after us & made us feel at home. Breakfast was a real treat with plenty of choice and mostly home made or locally sourced. As it was an Easter stay, we enjoyed the decorations and finding chocolate goodies here & there ! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everythingflows77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We have just returned from another break at The Hollows in Little Longstone, What an absolutely wonderful, relaxing place to stay. Fantastic host who takes great pride in delicious breakfasts, served in a beautiful dining room over looking a pretty garden, and beyond, the Derbyshire hills.Coal fire in welcoming lounge, which the owners keep stoked up during the cool weather. Our bedroom Liz was huge with a fantastic view and an enormous bathroom, where ample amounts of hot water was always available. Really need to keep this place a secret, however feel that others need to experience the delights and hospitality of this great bed and breakfast

Room Tip: Liz is fantastic, however others brilliant too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geraldine w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst visiting the area for a wedding. Couldn't be happier with the accommodation here. Real fires in the breakfast room and main reception room makes the whole place feel warm and cosy. Welcoming staff that go the extra mile, comfortable beds and very large bedrooms. The only criticism I would have is regarding the showers. Being electric showers, they weren't at all powerful. I would have liked a good power shower in the morning, but to be honest I could excuse this as the rest of the stay was so good. The 'full hollow' breakfast was great with all local produce so thumbs up there! All of this at a very reasonable price. You don't get much for £60 these days so I was pleasantly surprised by this price!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysteryshopmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Outstanding comfort in lovely period property
Friendly attentive owner and staff, but not "in your face"
The village is lovely and very well situated for walking
Fantastic pub [Packhorse Inn] about 20 yds away

Room Tip: We stayed in Joan Very nice Liz looked even bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at The Hollow for one night, the location is very pretty, easy to find, easy parking with a friendly welcome.
WE stayed in the Joan room, it was spacious, lovely and clean and the bathroom was really nice too.
For those attending weddings at Hassop Hall as we were, this was a great location to stay. Hassop was less than a 5 min taxi drive away.
As it was a sunny weekend we were able to enjoy the pretty garden. I would recommend this B&B to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend staying at this b&b. We arrived late friday and was greeted by Dawn, who showed us around and made us feel quickly at home. The b&b is set around beautiful grounds, lovely gardern where you can enjoy some drinks or have something to eat. The B&B has three rooms two of the rooms are very large, the one we stayed in was smaller of the two however was still very spacious. One of the rooms has a beautiful ensuite in it the others have their own private bathrooms which were just down the hallway. I thought having a seperate bathroom initially would be an issue, however we soon found out that the chances of bumping into anyone else on route to the bathroom were very slim. All the rooms are overlooking the garden and have spectacular views of country side. The breakfasts were lovely and cater very well for vegetarians to- great homemade breads and jams available. If like me you wake with a hangover Dawns breakfasts are a great cure for this (thanks Dawn). Overall we had a fabulous weekend we were made to feel very welcome by Dawn and her family if they can help you with something you need they will. We chose to stay at this b&b as we were attending a wedding near by in Hassop, however we will return in the near future for a break and would definately reccommend others to stay at this b&b.

Room Tip: Ask if it would be possible to get one of the two larger rooms- the views are much nicer with big wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt Yarmouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have not stayed at The Hollow but have been to their tea rooms twice, and it was a lovely experience.
Great views from windows and garden, lovely tea room with antique furniture in it and it made you feel special and that it was a treat.
My son and I went on the first occasion I had a pot of tea and homemade scone, homemade jam and cream yummy. My son had orange juice and a delicous piece of homemade chocollate sponge.
We went back the next day and I tried the chocolate sponge and my son had a homemade merigue and cream and chocolate. All gorgeous.
The service was very good and the food excellent and we will go back.
I bought some homemade bread and strawberry jam
I reccommend it to people to go and enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklebelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
2.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.2 mi away
Woodside B&B
Woodside B&B
#17 of 47 in Bakewell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sleep Lodge
Sleep Lodge
#6 of 20 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow

Property: The Hollow
Address: The Hollow Little Longstone, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Bakewell
The Hollow Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing