We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Edwardian Manor Tea Room and Cottage Garden”
Review of The Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hollow
Ranked #26 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I just love the Hollow. What can i say, its a stunning place to get an afternoon tea and delicious homemade cake. Lovely welcome, always, and my husband and i book breakfast regularly. Fabulous English breakfast, with superb sausage and bacon and lovely farm eggs. A peace of Heaven, how lucky am i to live just 5 minutes up the road. Roll on summer, cant wait to sit out in this beautiful Garden. Also Breakfast is served with their own homemade bread, jams and marmalades, it really doesnt get much better does it? Make this one of you regular tea shop stops, as so worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Even in a rain-soaked February we found The Hollow a charming place to stay for three nights. Our room was spacious and bright and comfortable and it was a treat to look out over the garden and the meadows. Grazing sheep there too. Our breakfasts were excellent - locally produced eggs etc - and generous in size. Dawn, the owner, was kind and attentive and genuinely interested in her guests and made us feel very welcome. We liked every aspect of our stay and found Little Longstone's proximity to Bakewell just right for our needs. I hope to return some day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

we enjoyed some fabulous "just baked" scones with blackcurrant jam and cream here last weekend, and the wife had a Hot Chocolate, lovely quirky place typically full of bric a brac and definitely English, nice gardens and a warm fire to sit by, thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 451Jonnyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Visited for breakfast as we were staying in a cottage just up the road. If you are thinking of visiting you need to check opening times as I believe the tea room part is only open towards the end of the week and over the weekend.
The B&B is in a lovely setting. Very quiet with a picturesque garden and charming interior. However we found it quite cold, despite the owner putting a fan heater on. We didn't find the owner particularly friendly. We were the only guests and was left with the feeling that we were putting her out. However our breakfast was very nice with good quality local ingredients and well presented. Had the room been warmer and the owner more friendly I would have given a 'very good rating'.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hockey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked the double en suite room for a single Friday night to break our trip up to East Yorkshire at the end of September.
We had previously spent two nights at the nearby Monsall Head Hotel hoping for a romantic break but although the staff and food there were fine, the accommodation was awful. While visiting the little pub in Little Longstone during that visit, I met an Australian couple coming out of The Hollow and asked for their recommendation for next time. I am glad I did.
We received a nice welcome by the lady of the house who showed us up to our room.
Our room was simply huge, warm and very comfortable with nice original features and all the accessories one would possibly desire - including fluffy bath robes.
The bed was comfortable and we had an excellent night sleep.
The bathroom, down a little private passageway and a couple of steps was similarly huge and the shower more than adequate for an electric job.
We enjoyed a coffee/tea in the comfy chairs in the bay window overlooking the marvellous gardens and open fields beyond before heading out for beer and food.
The Hollow offers evening meals too if you require them - seemingly whatever you fancy!
Maybe we should take advantage of this next time - and there will be a next time.
Breakfast in the morning could be had a very civilised 9am and was also just as promised with home grown, free range, home cured and locally sourced produce. Preserves were all homemade with fruits of the season from the garden. Fresh fruits, pastries and yoghurts completed the ample spread.
I only noticed on the way to breakfast a little notice saying that accommodation payments could only be made by cash or cheque. This we discovered was because the card machine had been fried in a recent power surge caused by a storm and the bank had yet to replace it. A quick drive of about 20 minutes there and back into Bakewell provided a cash machine.
I feel a little bad for having booked just a single night here with all the bed changing and other housekeeping hassle involved. I hope we didn't cause any bookings for whole weeks to be declined. We will definitely be back if they will have us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_from_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Following our daughter's wedding in Italy she decided to hold a small family celebration for those who couldn't travel abroad. She chose The Hollow in Little Longstone where Dawn and Anna Gregory provided a sumptuous afternoon tea (rare beef and other sandwiches, fancy cakes and sweets etc) which was very much enjoyed on the lawns of the splendid Edwardian Manor House. Admittedly lucky with the weather (Sept 2013) the day was a huge success and everyone had a thoroughly lovely afternoon.

No accommodation was taken on this visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We occupied the room known as 'Betty' that had a large bedroom and bathroom. The windows in the room provided a lovely view over the meadow.

The bathroom had a large bath but no separate shower and unfortunately we had issues with not having hot shower water over a few days due to fuse problems.

Little Longstone is a great location for the Monsal Dales, Bakewell and Chatsworth House plus many other Peak District attractions.There are many pubs to choose from for meals closeby.

A major inconvenience was not having a fridge in the room and having to knock on Dawn's (owner) door whenever we wanted our drinks that were in her fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
395 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.0 mi away
Hassop Station Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
435 reviews
2.0 mi away
Avenue House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow

Address: The Hollow Little Longstone, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Bakewell
The Hollow Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing