We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and lovely”
Review of The Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hollow
Ranked #26 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here as a recommendation and were blown away by the place. It is a beautiful house with a gorgeous garden.
The room we stayed in was really big, beautiful and bright. The ensuite was also really big and had lovely facilities.
The landlady we met was lovely from the minute we met her and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable.
Before we left we were treated to a huge breakfast spread with every option you could imagine. Everything that could be homemade was and the freshness of ingredients made a real difference to the quality.

Room Tip: We had a garden view which was really worth it as it was away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPSauceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

The host, Dawn, is lovely and welcoming and full of helpful information about the area. My friend and I walk round there regularly and always visit for a hot bowl of soup or fresh sandwich. Lovely house and garden. Went today for afternoon tea with my husband and mother and they both loved it. It is almost a shame to recommend it because we want to keep it to ourselves!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I just love the Hollow. What can i say, its a stunning place to get an afternoon tea and delicious homemade cake. Lovely welcome, always, and my husband and i book breakfast regularly. Fabulous English breakfast, with superb sausage and bacon and lovely farm eggs. A peace of Heaven, how lucky am i to live just 5 minutes up the road. Roll on summer, cant wait to sit out in this beautiful Garden. Also Breakfast is served with their own homemade bread, jams and marmalades, it really doesnt get much better does it? Make this one of you regular tea shop stops, as so worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Even in a rain-soaked February we found The Hollow a charming place to stay for three nights. Our room was spacious and bright and comfortable and it was a treat to look out over the garden and the meadows. Grazing sheep there too. Our breakfasts were excellent - locally produced eggs etc - and generous in size. Dawn, the owner, was kind and attentive and genuinely interested in her guests and made us feel very welcome. We liked every aspect of our stay and found Little Longstone's proximity to Bakewell just right for our needs. I hope to return some day.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

we enjoyed some fabulous "just baked" scones with blackcurrant jam and cream here last weekend, and the wife had a Hot Chocolate, lovely quirky place typically full of bric a brac and definitely English, nice gardens and a warm fire to sit by, thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 451Jonnyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Visited for breakfast as we were staying in a cottage just up the road. If you are thinking of visiting you need to check opening times as I believe the tea room part is only open towards the end of the week and over the weekend.
The B&B is in a lovely setting. Very quiet with a picturesque garden and charming interior. However we found it quite cold, despite the owner putting a fan heater on. We didn't find the owner particularly friendly. We were the only guests and was left with the feeling that we were putting her out. However our breakfast was very nice with good quality local ingredients and well presented. Had the room been warmer and the owner more friendly I would have given a 'very good rating'.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hockey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked the double en suite room for a single Friday night to break our trip up to East Yorkshire at the end of September.
We had previously spent two nights at the nearby Monsall Head Hotel hoping for a romantic break but although the staff and food there were fine, the accommodation was awful. While visiting the little pub in Little Longstone during that visit, I met an Australian couple coming out of The Hollow and asked for their recommendation for next time. I am glad I did.
We received a nice welcome by the lady of the house who showed us up to our room.
Our room was simply huge, warm and very comfortable with nice original features and all the accessories one would possibly desire - including fluffy bath robes.
The bed was comfortable and we had an excellent night sleep.
The bathroom, down a little private passageway and a couple of steps was similarly huge and the shower more than adequate for an electric job.
We enjoyed a coffee/tea in the comfy chairs in the bay window overlooking the marvellous gardens and open fields beyond before heading out for beer and food.
The Hollow offers evening meals too if you require them - seemingly whatever you fancy!
Maybe we should take advantage of this next time - and there will be a next time.
Breakfast in the morning could be had a very civilised 9am and was also just as promised with home grown, free range, home cured and locally sourced produce. Preserves were all homemade with fruits of the season from the garden. Fresh fruits, pastries and yoghurts completed the ample spread.
I only noticed on the way to breakfast a little notice saying that accommodation payments could only be made by cash or cheque. This we discovered was because the card machine had been fried in a recent power surge caused by a storm and the bank had yet to replace it. A quick drive of about 20 minutes there and back into Bakewell provided a cash machine.
I feel a little bad for having booked just a single night here with all the bed changing and other housekeeping hassle involved. I hope we didn't cause any bookings for whole weeks to be declined. We will definitely be back if they will have us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_Anglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
1.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
439 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#5 of 44 in Bakewell
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ashford-in-the-Water
233 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow

Address: The Hollow Little Longstone, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Bakewell
The Hollow Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing