We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The terrace amongst the trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The terrace amongst the trees
The road view Looking at Vallon from the terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The terrace amongst the trees
The road view
Looking at Vallon from the terrace
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Sitting room
Sitting room
The view from the terrace
view from the terrace/bedroom
View from the bedroom
Bedroom 1
bathroom 1
Detail on throw bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Thick walls on the staircase
Dining/conservatory
Well equipped Kitchen with great equipment
The kitchen
upstairs sitting/reading room
The village of Youlgrave
Outside in winter
Youlgrave - river Bradford in summer
Derbyshire Hills and edges
Youlgrave Allotments
Beautiful area of Peak District
Youlgrave in the snow
Youlgrave in the snow
Youlgrave in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shubhes S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tranquil Stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Vallon Cottage for 3 nights. We had never stayed in a cottage before and for us to come to Vallon to break our duck, so to say, we indeed had to be very lucky.

AND WHAT A CHARMING COTTAGE IT IS!

The decor, ambiance and quirky charm says more about the owner, Ali, as a person than a mere design inspiration; which, of course, we have brought back with us for our home.

The Farmyard Inn as recommended by Ali served excellent food. Visit to Chatsworth House was a treat. Bakewell trip was charming with plenty to shopped to eat. It rained most of the time but just driving around randomly was fun in itself.

The very scenic village, the well decked terrace, birds around the bird feeders, soon burning fireplace and the mini terrace garden added to the charm of Vallon.

It is a great little base to explore The Peak District. Had a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage Itself, the decor by Ali
Liked least: The house cleaner (employees by Ali) needs to be more attentive!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
So so pleased to hear you had such a lovely time both in Vallon and in the surrounding area. We really appreciate you for sharing your experience and thoughts. Glad you enjoyed the Farmyard Pub too, its so wonderful to be able to walk 5 minutes downhill to eat good food and be in a lovely atmosphere. Thank you for choosing Vallon for your break and hope to welcome you another time. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful cottage in a stunning setting. We felt perfectly at home and pampered at the same time. We especially loved the deck and the scads of information on local attractions.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
So glad to hear you had a wonderful time in Vallon cottage. The deck is great isn't it and good that the folder of 'things to do and places to visit' was helpful. Hope you had a good trip home and thanks for choosing to spend time in Vallon and Youlgrave. Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightman...
london, uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Peak District”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My partner and I stayed here in August 2015 with my in-laws who were visiting. We enjoyed this cottage so much! We immediately felt at home, and loved the unique layout and character features of the cottage. We were soon speculating what it would be like to relocate from London to the countryside! The cottage had all the needed amenities, although it is worth noting that when Ali says to bring towels, it means hand and face towels as well! The location is excellent; lots of good pubs and walks and a shop within walking distance. From Ali's recommendation we enjoyed the Farmyard Inn more than once - really amazing food there! Overall, an excellent stay and we would go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your great review. Sorry to hear that you didnt realise about the towels and hope it didnt inconvenience you too much. We are curently reviewing what to do about towels... I do supply towels for those travelling from overseas and may be offering this to everyone next year. Glad you had a wonderful time in Vallon and Youlgrave and good to hear that The Farmyard Pub lived up to your expectations :) Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itsme72
North West, England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to relax and chill out”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Recently had an excellent stay at Vallon Cottage. Ideal for a chilled out relaxing break. Lots of great walks from the door and cottage very cosy to come back to. Old and quirky, and full of character, but with all modern comforts. Fantastic views, lovely log burner, lots of candles, large selection of books and DVDs, and vast CD collection with music to suit all tastes. Everything has been thought of, from wide selection of teas and ground coffee to I-pad charger. There are 3 pubs in the village, all within walking distance. The Farmyard is just a few minutes walk away and does excellent meals (need to book) but also nice to eat at the cottage, in the conservatory dining room, with fab views and can also watch the birds on the bird feeder including daily visits from a woodpecker.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and peaceful
Liked least: Nothin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Glad you had such a lovely time in Vallon Andrew and thank you for your wonderful review. It's heartening to hear that all the things we think are important, are also important and valuable to our guests. The woodpecker is beautiful, glad he came to visit most days, he/she enjoys our nuts, we have to keep the feeders filled even when there's no-one there :) Hope to welcome you again another time.
Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarrra100...
Manchester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful oasis”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful location. The outdoor areas in particular are absolutely gorgeous and a real sun trap. There is everything you could want for your stay, including lots of information on things to do in the area and plenty of books and DVDs in case the weather is against you. The food at the local pub, The Farmyard, is excellent, so you don't have to cook unless you want to. If you do, then everything you need is there.

I would highly recommend this cottage..

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Thanks you for your great review Geof. It's always good to hear that your visit brought so much pleasure. I agree that the Farmyard Inn is a good place for food and because its only a 5 minute walk away they feed most of my guests :) Thanks once more and look forward to welcoming you again. Ali Plowright
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happybagg...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Quaint, full of Character”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

When I read the first reviewed of Vallon Cottage it was an easy decision to make the booking. Ali was a great help and the booking process with her help was so easy.
When my wife and I first arrived for a 3 night stay, we were hesitant to find the front of the cottage a little unusual, plane gable end, stairs down to the front door. Once through the front door, Oh my goodness what an Aladdin's cave of quirky character and charm. An unusual room layout, a study come reading room on the top floor, the two bedrooms on the second floor. The main bedroom is very large with probably the largest en-suite bathroom I have seen. The view from the bedroom windows is amazing, I only wish I could wake up to that view every morning. On the lower floor is the sitting room, with two settees, wood burner stove, overall a very comfortable room with a mountain of CD's Videos and books to curl up on the settee for a relaxing night.Leading off the sitting room is the kitchen which has a huge supply of cutlery, dishes etc, then onto the dining room which leads out onto a balcony. I only wish the weather was warmer during our stay so we could have sat outside with a glass of wine and enjoyed the views. One noticeable thing was the complete lack of noise, so peaceful.
The whole atmosphere of Vallon Cottage is aimed at comfort and relaxation.
Ali, my wife and I can only say a simple thank you for what was a superb weekend and hope at sometime in the future you would allow us the privilege of staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Hi Steve
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review, its always so rewarding to hear that Vallon provided you and your wife with a lovely holiday and a space to peacefully relax. I love my times in Vallon too and its always an opportunity to check everything is working and make the little changes that make a difference to you our customer. We really value your appreciation and hope to welcome you back another time, and hopefully the sun will shine more when you return :) Ali Plowright
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyDee...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Vallon Cottage deserves all the superlatives!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Rereading a few of the reviews I read before booking Vallon Cottage I can now say with absolute authority - all the good things mentioned are true! It is a very special place to stay and truly does nestle you into itself so completely that you feel at home immediately. The attention to those things that add enormously to travellers' comfort do exactly as they're intended to do.
The massive and stunning main bedroom and equally massive 'ensuite' (seriously - it's huge!) and the comfiest bed I've ever slept in meant I wanted to cancel the rest of my UK holiday and stay here. The 2nd bedroom had an equally comfortable bed and the 2nd small but full bathroom was a bonus for our daughter.
Ali (owner) has so many home comforts in this cottage that it feels like a privilege to be able to stay here. I felt dreadful when an oil bottle fell on and broke a little pottery dish but Ali told me not to worry when I messaged her about it.
The back conservatory room is a warm haven on a cool or rainy day and the deck area with its table and chairs is fabulous for outdoor eating or an evening drink. It took a while for we Aussies to accept that we weren't going to get bitten to death by mosquitoes sitting outside at dusk!
In summation, we are so lucky that people like Ali are happy to share their beautiful holiday cottages with us. The cost is so much less than a hotel and the experience is immeasurably better. I for one am grateful...thank you Ali!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything. But if I have to mention one... the bed.
Liked least: Loved everything.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
Wow Dee, its so heartening to read such a wonderful review, thank you. Wonderful because your feedback tells me you enjoyed staying in Vallon and that's my mission to make every stay special. Vallon is a very loved cottage, the situation and the ambience always leave me wishing I could stay longer and its so lovely to hear that you felt the same way. If we come to Sydney we will definitely look you up :) thanks again and so very happy your stay was so good. Warm regards Ali
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing