We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for breakfast, lunch and dinner”

The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House
Ranked #12 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cosy Cafe/Tea rooms, a family owned buisness famous for the Traditional Bakewell Tart. Great menu including breakfasts, lunches, cream teas, snacks and lite bites and delicious cakes.Retail shop open for freshly baked bread and confectionery.Teas, Coffees, cold drinks, freshly made sandwiches, toasties and jacket potatoes to take-away. OPEN 7 DAYS PER WEEK FROM 8.30 A.M. OUTDOOR SEATING AVAILABLE FROM MARCH TO SEPTEMBER.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for breakfast, lunch and dinner”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Over three visits we have tried all three and can reccomend all of them. Friendly attentive staff when it's busy or quiet, the Bakewell Tart is worth a visit. A good choice of meals and freshly prepared. Breakfast was hot and tasty, lunch was very good too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zantog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe m, Owner at The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review, to know that we have provided good food across the whole menu and a high level of service on each visit means so much to the team of staff working in the shop.
We really appreciate your comments.
Thank you
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    66
    37
    30
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When in Bakewell....”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

You have to have a cherry Bakewell from this shop. Delicious! We even bought Bakewell tarts home with us and as gifts. Will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharonM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe m, Owner at The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent visit to our retail bakery counter, it's good to know that our Bakewell Tarts are the 'best'.

thanks
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We often go here for lunch and its usually very good, but on this visit we was very disappointed. Food cold which I left, no apology or refund just a young girl screwing her face up as we complained. Complete waste of money for what they charge it should at least be hot. Yes they was rushed off their feet but its no excuse. A sorry wouldn't of hurt

Helpful?
1 Thank juicey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe m, Owner at The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
I am sorry about your dissapointment during your recent visit, I have spoken with the staff who were on duty last week and the only complaint they recalled was relating to 2 breakfasts which had cold tomatoes. I understand that a complaint was made and a request made for them to be reheated, an apology was made when the food was returned to the table, and as you had requested us to do this an assumption made that you were happy with this.

I am assured that they were returned hot, if this was the incident in question then I can only apologise, if you were not happy for the food to be reheated then a refund would have been given, we always try to deal with situations which leave our customers feeling happy when they leave and not let down.

apologies again.
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stick to the Pies !”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Two of us ordered traditional pies , two of us ordered sandwiches and one ordered cheese on toast. The pies were super and very reasonable , the sandwiches were all bread and little filling and the cheese on toast consisted of 2 doorstop pieces of bread with a very thin square of melted cheese on top , the plate was sent back with almost all the bread after eating the snack . We were asked if all was OK and we said there was too much bread . There was no comment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe m, Owner at The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comments glad you enjoyed your pies, we will look at portion sizes for the toast. Although our regular customers do like the thick toast on the menu.
Thanks
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We were ready for a drink and thought this place looked really inviting. Sat at the table and looked at the menu and was tempted so much we decided to have lunch. So glad we did, it was so good, well presented and the service was very professional. We would not hesitate to call in again. If you are ever in Bakewell don't pass by, you will be missing out!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe m, Owner at The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review, your comments are really appreciated and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch here.
Providing excellent customer service is what we always aim for.

I am not sure whether trip advisor has made a mistake but they have only given 1 star for your review, but I would have expected a higher rating with the lovely comments you have made.

hope to see you again.
Zoe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Bakewell Tart Shop & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing