We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Eccles Cake Ever”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It's a steep climb from Lathkill Dale to the village of Over Haddon, but the walk is worth it as you can stop off here for the best (genuinely home made) cakes and drinks in the whole of the Peak District. It's a beautiful garden to sit in and take a breather and the views are stunning. The reception for us and our tired old dog was incredibly friendly and on top of all that it was great value too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gedsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

I was delighted when I read your review, and the heading about the Eccles Cake made my day as I make them, they are a labour of love so the fact that you mentioned them is appreciated. thank you for the very kind review and we hope you will visit us again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having just completed a walk from the Over Haddon Car Park along Lathkill Dale, on our way back to the car park, we discovered this delightful tea room with the nicest home made cakes we have tasted in a long time. The owners made us most welcome, giving us some tips for the area, and shared the recipe for their beautiful Bakewell Tart with us. We liked it so much, we bought two more slices for our friends and family to sample back in Essex! We also enjoyed the Lemon Drizzle Cake, again beautifully presented and freshly home baked. The drinks we bought were very reasonably priced- the best value we had in the Peak District. We would definitely recommend this tea room, whether you are a walker or not!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

It was lovely to meet you and have a chat, the Bakewell Tart is almost as popular as the Lemon Drizzle cake and Mark makes both so he's delighted with such a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time and trouble, the feedback from people who have visited us is very important and we appreciate anyone's comments. We hope you had a safe journey home and maybe you will come to this lovely area again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Garden tea room is well worth a visit, Absolutely spoilt for choice with fresh home baked cakes.With a stunning garden and equally stunning views looking out over the Peak District.Excellent service and the carrot cake is scrumptious , and our daughter loved the coffee cake with fresh apple juice, We highly recommend if you are in the area pay the Garden tea room a visit , you will not be disappointed.We will certainly be going back next time we are in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gould7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, the views are lovely and it's nice that we get to share them with people who can spare the time for a cup of tea and a piece of cake, I must admit the Coffee cake is my favourite so I'm pleased that someone else enjoyed it. Thank you for the lovely review we very much appreciate it. We look forward to seeing here again. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very friendly and delicious home made cakes. A very refreshing atmosphere, definitely recommended. Stunning views across a manicured garden and exceptionally quiet and peaceful. Hosts deliver exemplary service and very reasonably priced considering exquisite quality

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddieandmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review we appreciate you taking the time and trouble, we're glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hopefully we will see you again when your next in the Lathkill Dale. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stumbled across this little gem whilst walking in Lathkill Dale and couldn't have spent a better hour anywhere else. The house was beautiful and newly renovated to a very high standard. The picturesque views were wonderful, especially on the very hot sunny day! The garden was beautiful, the owners have really put a lot of effort in all aspects of their business. Whilst mentioning the owners, they were really lovely!! Extremely accommodating, welcoming and chatty. The lady made the stay extra special and personable.

What we also thought was good was how dog friendly it was. Fresh water was always available and even dog treats, which our little 17 week old puppy loved!!

We haven't even got onto the amazing cakes.... As you can imagine a wide range of teas, coffees, soft drinks, cakes, pastries... All homemade and all looked delicious!!

All in all this was perfection. Such a lovely little find, will 100% be returning... (As soon as we can!!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank The_Wellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

It was a real pleasure to meet the both of you as well as your adorable puppy, we are very dog friendly and your little pup was so well behaved it put our two to shame!. I'm glad we had the chance to chat, you were so interesting to talk to and I'm sure your photography business will go from strength to strength. Good luck in your new home and thank you very much for the wonderful review we really appreciate you taking the time. Hope to see you both again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing