We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply WOW”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply WOW”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We go walking in Derbyshire frequently and often to the picturesque Lathkill Dale where we happened to be on Sunday.Normally after a long walk we go back to the car and then on somewhere to maybe get tea and cake but thank goodness we decided to climb the hill this time to find what can only be described as the perfect place to be.What a fantastic find.We were greeted by two just lovely friendly people who served us with the most delicious,and large,pieces of coffee cake, the best we have ever tasted.It was difficult to choose as the lemon drizzle cake and the treacle tart were also on offer.The balcony on which the chairs and tables are on has the most spectacular view ,we know it was sunny but rest assured we will be back on duller days to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of a couple who obviously enjoy their work and it really shows.We wish them every success and anyone who reads this must try this fabulous place. It really is a very special tea room.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NisaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you've given us, we very much appreciate you going to the trouble. We're so glad you enjoyed stopping off at the tea room and that you enjoyed the coffee cake, it's my favourite. We very much hope you will get the chance to visit us again. Thank you once again for the fantastic review it really means a lot to us. Kindest regards Karen Mark and the Scotties x.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Peak District at its best”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Spent an idyllic break from our walk with Karen and Mark, who made us and our doggie, Molly, very welcome. Enjoyed delicious home made lemon drizzle cake baked this morning and a refreshing pot of tea. Molly appreciated the free dog biscuits. stunning views in the warm sunshine. A little bit of heaven here in Derbyshire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
It was a pleasure meeting you and Molly, thank you for the lovely review, we appreciate it very much. We're glad you enjoyed your visit here and hope to see you and Molly again when your in the area hopefully. Thank you and kindest regards Karen, Mark and the Scotties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“TEAS,CAKES,VIEWS AND MORE”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Recommended to everybody.Cakes and drinks here are of a superb quality, both in price, size and choice,all home made and absolutely delicious.But that is only half the story,being such lovely people Karen and Mark made our trip to the garden tea rooms something very special.Anyone looking for a trip out of an afternoon to take in the beauty and the atmosphere of derbyshire MUST visit here. In our opinion you will not be disappointed.We cannot speak highly enough or portray in words how much we enjoyed our afternoon,we will return again soon.please try it for yourselves.
Caroline and Tony

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonySpeakman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much Caroline and Tony, your review is wonderful and very much appreciated, it was lovely to meet you both and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit here, we hope you get the chance to visit again and very much look forward to seeing you both. Our very kindest regards and thanks. Karen and Mark x x x .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best treacle tart”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have made our second visit to the Garden Tea Room and both times have not been disappointed, we are already planning our next walk so we can call again. The treacle tart is to die for and the service is superb, I have never had such lovely views and tranquillity from a tea room especially after a hard days walking. Thank you Mark and Karen and your lovely dogs, hope your new addition is better and soon running about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so very much for giving us such a wonderful review, we always appreciate the fact that visitors take the time to do so. We're glad you enjoyed the Treacle Tart that Mark made. We hope the rest of your visit to the Dale was nice. Digby the rescue is doing fine thank you. We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area. Thank you once again and kindest regards. Karen, Mark and all the Scotties x .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful tea room.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It was our first visit to Bakewell, and had read the reviews on trip advisor about this tea room. What a beautiful place. Mark and Karen made us so welcome we felt we left as friends. They truly are a lovely couple who went out of their way for us. Thank you so much Mark and Karen. Hope to see you again sometime. We wish you well for the future. Love from Steve and Sue from Blackpool. X

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you Steve and Sue for such a lovely review, we very much appreciate you taking the time and trouble to do so. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and having a chat, we hope you get the chance to come back soon and that you had a safe journey home. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you both again. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing