We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Julie S - Wonderful Relaxing Tea Room”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Julie S - Wonderful Relaxing Tea Room”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

After a lovely long walk through Lathkill Dale, myself, my husband and son called at The Garden Tea Room for some much needed refreshment. We were delighted by the welcoming owners (and their lovely doggie) who provided us with tea and fizzy drink and some delicious homemade cakes. To sit in their lovely garden overlooking a delightful view was an added bonus. Will definately visit again if we are in the area and will recommend to our friends and family. (We do hope the lost bunch of keys were claimed that my husband left with you). Thank you again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi Julie, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to give us a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed the cakes and the views and so pleased the weather was good for your visit. No one came back for the lost keys but we will keep hold of them just in case. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Open again for the Summer”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Once again the tea room on the way down to Lathkill Dale from the Over Haddon car park is open for the summer. See picture for the size of cake you get. And the Eccles cake is big enough for two. All freshly baked every day. Even our dogs were not forgotten as there is water and a selection of dog biscuits for them too.

The tea terrace is located near the top of the hill out of the dale so is ideally situated for a refreshment stop before getting back to the car park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_swaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks Chris for the lovely review, we are pleased to be open again and hopefully we will have another lovely season. We are looking to expand on the cakes we provide but will still do the favourite ones, this includes the dog biscuits!! Thank you once again for taking the time to give us the review and hopefully we will see you again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to visit again!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited the Garden Tea Room today and what a delight! The owners were so friendly and welcoming. We sat overlooking a beautiful view in their lovely own garden. It was peaceful, charming and well worth the visit. My husband and I were spoilt for choice when it came to the delicious home made cakes and our eyes were certainly too big for our bellies!
We had a lovely big pot of tea which would be topped up for free and huge slices of cake on the patio area, excellent value for money. The carrot cake and lemon drizzle cake were our favourites and can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you Becky for your lovely review, Mark is delighted you liked the Lemon Drizzle cake and Carrot cake as he made both of them. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope you both enjoyed your "day off". We both wish you every success with your celebration cake enterprise, the photo's of your cakes were amazing.
We hope you get the chance to visit us again soon and look forward to seeing you both.
Kindest regards
Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden tea room”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent place to stop to have a nice pot of tea and cake overlooking Lathkill Dale. I had the coffee cake and it was huge! well worth the money. The owners have excellent customer service, even asked if we wanted our teapot topping up! We had a mug of coffee too and it was only £1.00. It has only outdoor seating so you need to go on a sunny day! Will definitely go again when we pass by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerikaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad you visited us on our first day of the season when the weather was kind to us. We are pleased that your enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you once again. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for coeliacs (and everyone else)”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went last September to The Garden Tea Room and it was fantastic. Owners (and their two dogs) were extremely friendly, and we ended up chatting to them for a good two hours. The cakes were delicious - my girlfriend is a coeliac and she had the gluten-free brownie and said it was the best brownie she'd ever had. I had the traditional Bakewell tart, which was delicious and rich. Fantastic view, friendly owners, and great views - what more could you want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate you taking the time. We are continuing with the gluten free brownies and looking the increase the range of gluten free cake's we can offer. We hope to see you again this season. Thank you once again. Kindest regards. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing