We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Peak District's hidden secret is a jewel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden Tea Room

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This Peak District's hidden secret is a jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a delightful little tea room, it feels like you're VIP, such lovely owners, the cakes are huge and to die for, the coffee is great, and the views will make you want to stay forever. Well worth it, especially before/after rambling down Lathkill Dale! Oh, also, very, very dog-friendly, which makes for a nice change :-)!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MayhemMayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Lathkill Dale is lovely and well worth the walk. Doggies get served first and we are hopefully maintaining the standard of biscuits we offer, Teddy and Maisie are our quality control. We hope to see you again soon and once again thank you for the kind review. Kindest regards Karen, Mark, Teddy and Maisie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A great stop off after a walk with fabulous views. Coffee tea and home made cakes ( including gluten free) really lovely in a great setting. Very friendly host

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank julieDBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and the views the Dale is very pretty. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit again but in the meantime thank you once again for stopping off. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Julie S - Wonderful Relaxing Tea Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

After a lovely long walk through Lathkill Dale, myself, my husband and son called at The Garden Tea Room for some much needed refreshment. We were delighted by the welcoming owners (and their lovely doggie) who provided us with tea and fizzy drink and some delicious homemade cakes. To sit in their lovely garden overlooking a delightful view was an added bonus. Will definately visit again if we are in the area and will recommend to our friends and family. (We do hope the lost bunch of keys were claimed that my husband left with you). Thank you again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi Julie, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to give us a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed the cakes and the views and so pleased the weather was good for your visit. No one came back for the lost keys but we will keep hold of them just in case. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Open again for the Summer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Once again the tea room on the way down to Lathkill Dale from the Over Haddon car park is open for the summer. See picture for the size of cake you get. And the Eccles cake is big enough for two. All freshly baked every day. Even our dogs were not forgotten as there is water and a selection of dog biscuits for them too.

The tea terrace is located near the top of the hill out of the dale so is ideally situated for a refreshment stop before getting back to the car park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_swaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thanks Chris for the lovely review, we are pleased to be open again and hopefully we will have another lovely season. We are looking to expand on the cakes we provide but will still do the favourite ones, this includes the dog biscuits!! Thank you once again for taking the time to give us the review and hopefully we will see you again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to visit again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited the Garden Tea Room today and what a delight! The owners were so friendly and welcoming. We sat overlooking a beautiful view in their lovely own garden. It was peaceful, charming and well worth the visit. My husband and I were spoilt for choice when it came to the delicious home made cakes and our eyes were certainly too big for our bellies!
We had a lovely big pot of tea which would be topped up for free and huge slices of cake on the patio area, excellent value for money. The carrot cake and lemon drizzle cake were our favourites and can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you Becky for your lovely review, Mark is delighted you liked the Lemon Drizzle cake and Carrot cake as he made both of them. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope you both enjoyed your "day off". We both wish you every success with your celebration cake enterprise, the photo's of your cakes were amazing.
We hope you get the chance to visit us again soon and look forward to seeing you both.
Kindest regards
Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing