We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in stunning location”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a find! Absolutely wonderful oasis to sit and relax after huffing and puffing up the hill... from the lovely riverside walk. Very friendly, welcoming owners who run this delightful tearooms right from there home! Lovely selection of cakes and the portion sizes are huge... very very good value for money. Lovely little dogs.. Maisie & Teddy... My daughter especially loved them! Beautiful gardens... just a pure delight.. Great discovery!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlfretonLoulou46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and the Lathkill Dale. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit us again and Teddy and Maisie look forward to playing with your lovely Daughter again. Thank you once again and kindest regards. Karen, Mark, Teddy and Maisie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 239 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Called in for a cuppa following a riverside walk. We had a warm welcome the cakes are divine I can highly recommend the carrot cake. (Very generous portions too). A must for any one who visits Lathkildale.

Thank Andie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review, Mark is delighted as he makes the Carrot cake. We are pleased you had a pleasant walk, the Dale is lovely and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you once again and kindest regards, Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Not easy to find but this tea room is worth searching for. A beautiful garden, lovely cake with very generous servings and lashings of tea. If you get to Over Haddon don't miss it! We will be back

1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We are glad you found us, we will put some directions up on our Tripadvisor page, thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review we very much appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After reading reviews on trip adviser paid a visit on a walk from Bakewell and were so pleased we did. Wonderful views, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cakes to die for. They even cater for dogs! We were so relaxed we could have stayed all afternoon. Just go down the hill past the church on the left and you'll see it on the right hand side.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for putting directions on how to find us we will amend our page to let people know we are down the hill. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit us and the Lathkill Dale again soon. Thank you once again. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a delightful little tea room, it feels like you're VIP, such lovely owners, the cakes are huge and to die for, the coffee is great, and the views will make you want to stay forever. Well worth it, especially before/after rambling down Lathkill Dale! Oh, also, very, very dog-friendly, which makes for a nice change :-)!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank MayhemMayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Lathkill Dale is lovely and well worth the walk. Doggies get served first and we are hopefully maintaining the standard of biscuits we offer, Teddy and Maisie are our quality control. We hope to see you again soon and once again thank you for the kind review. Kindest regards Karen, Mark, Teddy and Maisie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing