We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location - delicious cakes”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, View, Romantic
Dining options: Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Stunning location - delicious cakes”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

After having a lovely long walk along the lathkill dale, I stopped for a well earned drink at this delightful little tea shop. Delicious cakes (very large slices) were displayed on a table just inside the owners kitchen and I was invited to take my pick. Needless to say it was the coffee cake for me (my favourite) and a latte. The views are stunning, the place relaxed and very, very welcoming and the coffee/cake perfect!. Strongly recommended oh and they have two adorable little dogs called teddy and Maisie, who really are the stars of the show.

Ps. Good spot if you are walking alone and feel like a chat as the owners are very friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and thank you for such a lovely review. Teddy and Maisie are very popular and the Lathkill Dale is a lovely place to visit. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon. Thank you once again and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    9
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I want to live there!!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Called here today after walking down Lathkilldale dale. What a lovely place! Amazing cakes and huge portions, great tea & coffee and treats for our dog. The owners are great and even asked if I wanted my huge pot of tea for one refilling. Great value as well, my husband even questioned the bill because he did not think we was charged enough!! Do not pass this by...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foofighter30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are so pleased you were able to stop off and enjoy your tea and cake on a lovely sunny day, the Lathkill Dale is stunning. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review we very much appreciate it and hopefully you will be able to visit us again. Teapots always get filled up as many times as the customer wants free of charge so you can drink as much tea as you can manage. Thank you once again for the kind review and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfreton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in stunning location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a find! Absolutely wonderful oasis to sit and relax after huffing and puffing up the hill... from the lovely riverside walk. Very friendly, welcoming owners who run this delightful tearooms right from there home! Lovely selection of cakes and the portion sizes are huge... very very good value for money. Lovely little dogs.. Maisie & Teddy... My daughter especially loved them! Beautiful gardens... just a pure delight.. Great discovery!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlfretonLoulou46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and the Lathkill Dale. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit us again and Teddy and Maisie look forward to playing with your lovely Daughter again. Thank you once again and kindest regards. Karen, Mark, Teddy and Maisie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful little gem”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Called in for a cuppa following a riverside walk. We had a warm welcome the cakes are divine I can highly recommend the carrot cake. (Very generous portions too). A must for any one who visits Lathkildale.

Helpful?
Thank Andie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Mark is delighted as he makes the Carrot cake. We are pleased you had a pleasant walk, the Dale is lovely and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you once again and kindest regards, Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem worth searching for”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Not easy to find but this tea room is worth searching for. A beautiful garden, lovely cake with very generous servings and lashings of tea. If you get to Over Haddon don't miss it! We will be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We are glad you found us, we will put some directions up on our Tripadvisor page, thank you for taking the time to give us a lovely review we very much appreciate it and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing