We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and yummy cake!”

The Garden Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

After looking on TripAdvisor and seeing the excellent rating the Garden Tea Room had, we decided to explore the area and stop there for tea and cake. The tea room is set in the owners garden/terrace with the cakes all set out in the kitchen. It's situated in a lovely place with beautiful views. There was a large selection of cakes which were very reasonabley priced as the slices were huge and tasted great! The Bakewell tart was one of the best I've had and better than most of the ones you can buy in Bakewell! The hosts, Mark and Karen were lovely and very welcoming. We will definitely be returning :)

Thank Verity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are pleased you decided to visit us and thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us a lovely review. We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you once again and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Tea Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stumbled across this place as our guide book had recommended the lathkill hotel but we didn't rate it at all.. This tea room is set on a private patio overlooking owners Karen and Marks beautiful garden, with a backdrop of beautiful scenery and the dales. There was a fantastic selection of home made cakes - we tried pretty much all of them between us and amazing coffee. We would definitely return. The hospitality was top notch and it felt kind of special, like a secret garden :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BradleyCheals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

A big thank you for taking the time and trouble to give us a lovely review, it was a pleasure meeting all your family and we are glad you all got home safe and sound. We look forward to seeing you again soon and thank you once again. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went walking on the 13th june to Monyash through over haddon and bumped into a couple who told us about the garden tea room just up the hill from the lathkill dale half way through our walk we needed a drink what a fanstic place the view over the hills was amazing the owner Karen was so friendly we had a lovely cup of tea and maise and teddy the dogs were so sweet after we finished our walk we went back to Karen's for refreshments the cakes are to die for can't wait to see you again next year for another piece of coffee/lemon drizzle cake yum all the best Claire and liz

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eagle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Claire and Liz, thank you for giving us such a fantastic review we really appreciate it. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cakes and we look forward to seeing you both again next year. Thank you once again and kindest regards Karen and Mark. p.s Maisie says hello. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived at the tea house mid way through our walk in the dales around Youlgreave. Mark the owner opened up early for us and made us very welcome. The view from Over Haddon is brilliant. Mark also bakes daily - his Eccles Cake was sooo... good!


Thank 87Fran87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and thank you for putting up such a nice review. It was nice to see you the following day as well and hope you enjoyed the Eccles cakes you took away with you. Mark bakes almost everything else but the Eccles cakes but thank you for the kind comments about them, I enjoy making them. We hope to see you again when you are next in the UK. Thanks again and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After realising that we had the cakes at home midway through our walk around lathkill dale, we were thankful to see a sign pointing up the hill for the garden tea room. The owners were very nice and the Eccles cakes I would recommend to anyone. Views from the terrace are stunning and provided a welcome break to the views from the valley floor. All in all a must go place if you are in or around over hadden!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you made the effort to climb up the hill ! and see the Dale from another angle. The Eccles cakes seem to be getting more and more popular so I am pleased you enjoyed yours. We hope you have a chance to visit us again soon and thank you once again for taking the time to give us your review we appreciate it. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Youlgreave, Bakewell
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing