We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Homely and prestinly clean.”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery The Barn's Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery
The Barn's Balcony
View from The Barn's Balcony
The Barn's Lounge
The Barn's Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property
The Barn's Lounge has comfortable seating for upto five people
The Kitchen in The Barn, all utensils are provided
The Kitchen in The Barn: Induction Hob, Electric Fan Oven, Microwave, Fridge, Washing Machine
Kitchen table seats four
The Barn's Bedroom
The Barn's Kingsize Double Bed. All Linen and Towels are provided
The Barn's King Size Bed
The Barn's King size bed
The Barn's King Size Double Bed: All Linen and Towels are provided
The Bathroom
The Bathroom, bath, with shower over the bath, Washbasin and WC
Complimentary Wine, awaiting your arrival !
Summer Scene The River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away
Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away
Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Early Purple Orchid (Orchis mascula), Plenty of these in Lathkill Dale
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Youlgreave's Water Tower
Water Tower Plaque
Water Tower in Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave's Water Tower
Stone work in Youlgrave
Fountain Well Square
Fountain Well Square
Youlgrave has its own water supply!
Church Street Youlgrave
St Mary's Church Youlgrave
Church Street Youlgrave
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bathroom
King sized Double Bed
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Kitchen area
Lots of video's
Lounge - diner
Lounge
Lounge
Feature window
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen Table
Kitchen area
Maple flooring throughout
The entry to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Staircase to The Barn
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
MissWonde...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Homely and prestinly clean. ”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very comfortable. Very Homely and warm. Exemplary clean and tidy. All mod cons. On the downside.... No internet or phone signal. And unfortunately no views or privacy from neighbours and other guests. A sitting area outside at the top of the stairs but it looks down into neighbours windows so we chose not to use it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write review.
We are pleased to find that you found our accommodation clean and tidy. And, that it was fully equipped with everything that you might hope for in a comfortable holiday let.
We are sorry to hear that you found a problem with the internet, you should have mentioned this to us, as we have high speed internet provision to our property. We are sorry to hear that your mobile phone signal was poor. We are not sure which provider you use, but; all the major providers have coverage within the village.
We do not understand your comment about "no views or privacy from neighbours and other guests", as there are views of the village and surrounding countryside from The Barn Balcony.
However we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolinea...
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and relaxing.”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just come back from a 4 day break at the barn@the the old bakery. Couldn't fault anything.
Clean as a whistle and everything you need for your stay. Ken and Carol gave us the information about the local restaurants and pubs. Thank you.
Beautiful views. If your looking for a relaxing holiday accommodation look no further.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home comfort
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. Equally thank you for leaving our property in a clean and tidy state.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your high standards.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the three pubs in the village, all of which serve good quality home cooked food.
We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing holiday.
We would love to have you return to continue your exploration of The Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkyMark...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quaint Barn & cosy acommodation”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, with some lovely pubs all within walking distance, as I'm sure the owners, Ken & Carol will tell you :) great for walkers, and Bakewell less than an hours walk away.
Some nice touches with a welcome bottle of wine on hand, with milk and biscuits as backup when the wine runs out. All the rooms were clean and airy, the velux windows were a nice touch.
Car park is a bit tight entering as the owners tell you on your welcome brief email.
There was also some work going on one of the buildings in the courtyard on the day of arrival, hopefully it wont be to intrusive on guests at The Barn, but they were using an angle grinder at one point, and dust was all over the car park: luckily our car wasn't in the yard at the time, but it was a concern. And as we were there on a bank holiday weekend, no work was happening after the Friday afternoon.

Hit & Miss Wi-fi though.

Would definitely recommend as a walkers retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and size of the Barn
Liked least: Building work/washing left in washing machine....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you found our accommodation to your liking. The Barn @ The Old Bakery, offers great walking or cycling 'from the door', into the wonderful Peak District National Park.
Parking in Youlgrave can be prime, and we are pleased to be able to offer 'off road' parking for our guests. The building work is a temporary frustration which is now almost complete, we are sorry to read that this was of concern to you.
Youlgrave has now received superfast broadband, as part of the Derbyshire initiative to role out broadband into rural areas. The Barn @ The Old Bakery is now receiving good coverage and faster speeds.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula B
1 review
“Great accomodation, perfect break!”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The apartment was very tastefully furnished, snug, warm, comfortable, clean and cosy. Ken and Carol were very welcoming and offered great local knowledge. We enjoyed the atmosphere and food in 'The Farmyard'. Walking was great and from the doorstep! Parking is a challenge but we managed. Shops for necessary food provisions are limited but if you come prepared that's not a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy feel
Liked least: parking challenge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are really pleased that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery a pleasant place to stay.
We want our guests to learn more about the Peak District National Park and get the most out of their stay, so we are always willing to provide local specialised knowledge.
we are blessed with 3 good pubs all serving home cooked food and well kept real ales.
The White Peak, unfolds from the doorstep of The Barn @ The Old Bakery.
The Butchers shop closed, due to retirement of the butcher after 40 years serving the village, in November 2015, but has recently been sold. We have it on good authority that it is going to open a delicatessen shop.
We hope you will return again to continue your exploration of the Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckyWisb...
Wisbech
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Barn was a great base for our trip, it was warm, cosy and had all the equipment needed. We much appreciated the milk, sugar, tea, biscuits and wine that was there to greet us.We walked to Bakewell and back, cycled the Tissington trail from Parsley Hay, went to Chatsworth and various other walks. Parking off road is a premium in the village especially off road, so that's a real bonus at the Barn. We used the Farmyard Inn on 3 occasions and had good food each time, but you must book. Really enjoyed our stay, thanks Ken and Carol.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your expectations. The property acts as a great base to explore the Derbyshire Dales and the wider Peak District National Park.
As you found out we are close to the market town of Bakewell and to Chatsworth House, all being within walking distance or a short drive away.
We hope that you will return on a future occasion to continue your exploration of the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julesofyo...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home on home in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The barn was warm, cosy and tastefully appointed. Tucked away just off the high street in this lovely little village with a choice of pubs on our doorstep plus a bakery and convenience store. We ate at the Farmyard Inn one evening and can highly recommend the liver and bacon and home made beef burgers. With lovely walks on the doorstep and in a perfect location for all the other main attractions I can highly recommend this little gem. The welcome pack, including a bottle of wine was a lovely touch!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Barn @ The Old Bakery.
We are pleased to read that you found the convenience of the pubs, store and bakery within strolling distance of the property.
We are fortunate to have three good pubs in the village all serving good quality home cooked food.
Equally we are pleased that you enjoyed walking from the door in to the White Peak countryside of the Peak District National Park.
We hope that you will consider returning in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDhar
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Little gem of a cottage!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed for a week and just did not want to leave at the end of it! It really is a unique cottage and you can see a lot of thought has gone into it.

Ken and Carol are the most wonderful of hosts - generous, knowledgeable and helpful.

We hope we can return some day to this little gem of a cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts !
Liked least: Nothing !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found The Barn @ The Old Bakery to your liking. We were pleased to read in our guest book, that despite not having a car, you managed to make use of the hourly bus service from the village to explore the wider area of the White Peaks. You also managed to experience the beauty of 'walking from the door' that our property offers.
We hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing