We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage base for great walks”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery 'Your holiday awaits!'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Welcome to The Barn @ The Old Bakery
Welcome to The Barn at The Old Bakery 'Your holiday awaits!'
View from The Barn's Balcony, 'Perhaps the first walk of your holiday?'
Relax in the The Barn's Lounge: comfortable seating and Maple flooring throughout..
Lounge: Maple floor throughout the whole property.
Fast Broadband wifi.
We provide all 'home from home luxuries'
Enjoy a 'home cooked meal' or a Take away delivery'
Lounge
Lounge - diner
Lounge area
Feature window
Kitchen area
The Bedroom awaits!
Dream of your next adventure in a King Sized Double Bed
'Enjoy watching the stars, or close the blind and have complete darkness'
'Relax and unwind' 
A VERY comfortable king sized bed with all the linen provided:
Relax and unwind in a comfortable King sized bed
Shower or relax in a bath of hot water in the fully refurbished bathroom.
Relax and enjoy a Complimentary Bottle of Wine, upon your arrival !
Lounge area
Lounge area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Sleep in a King Sized Double Bed 'dreaming of your next adventure'.
Bedroom
Bedroom
...'And so to Bed'  Corridor to the Barn's Bedroom
Summer Scene:
The beautiful River Bradford, Bradford Dale, Youlgrave. 5 minutes walk away
The Stunning River Lathkill, 10-15 minutes walk away.
A site of Special Scientific Interest.
The Source of The River Lathkill. 30 minutes walk away.  A Fantastic walk
A Mill Stone found in Lathkill Dale, used for grinding; Emblem for The Peak District National Park
Youlgreave's Water Tower: an historic monument. It stored water for the village people to collect.
Fountain Well Square:
The Water Tower and The Bulls Head dominate the architecture.
Maple flooring throughout
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Magpie Mine: 15 minutes away
Bank Top Well 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Lindsay H
1 review
“Cosy cottage base for great walks”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Barn's location is great for walking from the doorstep. Owner Ken offered recommendations to enhance stay, emailed Guest pack and we received a welcome call the night before we arrived AND a bottle of wine which was much appreciated.
The Barn offers everything you will need to have a comfortable stay. Nice and cosy return from snowy walks.
We enjoyed the circular Robin Hoods Stride Walk/Elton, Lathkill Dale. Visited Bakewell, Buxton & Chatsworth.
Visited the 3 pubs in the village, The Farmyard food is highly recommended so we returned the next night and took part in the Sunday 'Valentine's' pub quiz which was great fun. The Bulls Head at Monyash is a good too, Martyn developed a taste for the Chatsworth Gold!!
We are definitely returning to The Barn and this lovely part of the country, the only thing not perfect was the weather but that didn't stop us!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a very pleasant review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you settled in well and found our property warm and cosy, despite the cold weather that you experienced whilst you were here. We are pleased to see that you managed, despite the poor weather, to get out and see the area.
We are blessed with, now, 3 good pubs in the village all offering something slightly different to each other. Chatsworth Gold is a fantastic pint of ale.
We very much hope to see you again, when you will be able to explore further the wonderful Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma T
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Ken and Carol host a lovely bed and breakfast in the heart of the charming village of Youlgreave. There is one large, one small twin bedded rooms and a compact lounge with lots of thoughtful home comforts-books, DVDs, fridge, tea and coffee, delicious home made brownies, boxes for muddy boots and lots of local walking guides. Breakfast is served in the old bakery shop and the old wooden counter has been lovingly restored and is the perfect backdrop to the filling treats served up for breakfast.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
This review should be on our Bed and Breakfast Reviews.
Emma, her sister and their husbands, came to stay at our Bed and Breakfast, which we run alongside our self catering holiday cottage.
They were perfect guests. They enjoyed the facilities offered in our B and B.
They attended a concert at The Village Hall and went 'walking from the door' into the beautiful Peak District National Park.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keels123
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed with my partner for 5 nights over New Years Eve at The Barn. It was a fantastic cottage, attention to detail and the quality of the fixture and fittings was excellent.
Lots of information provided for places to visit and walks in the local area which was brilliant.
Owner Ken was really helpful and on hand if needed, but not intrusive.
Wifi isn't great, but we really weren't bothered as nice to be off the grid and enjoy the peace and quiet for a few days!
We had a brilliant stay, would definitely recommend and if we are coming to the area would love to stay here again.
Thanks very much to Ken and Carol.
Keeley

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the cottage and our attention to detail. We are always keen to be helpful for our guests, especially if they would like advice about where to visit, walk, or eat.
I am sorry the wifi was not fully operative during your stay, and pleased to read that this enabled you to "drop off the grid" for a few days. (We have had a new BT hub and have experienced some teething problems)
We would really welcome a return visit from you both.
Kind regards
Ken and Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Date of stay: November 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased that you returned to experience more of "what we have to offer". We always try to help our guests maximise their opportunity to get the most out of their stay in our property.
We are pleased to read that you found some of the walks on offer from The Barn @ The Old Bakery, into the Peak District National Park.
We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TraceyS11...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely peaceful apartment”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just got back from a short break at the old barn. A very clean and well looked after apartment, on arrival there was a bottle of wine, milk, tea, coffee which was a lovely surprise after a long journey.
The apartment was well equipped with everything you would need for your stay. Carol was a very lovely lady who was available to help with any questions or advice on the area. Youlgrave itself is a peaceful and picturesque village, with 2 pub within a short walk. I highly recommend the farmyard inn, the food was very good and reasonably priced, you may need to book a table in advance as it's get very busy.
I hope to return very soon. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in The Barn @ The Old Bakery. We have tried to ensure our guests find our property a 'home from home'. The welcome pack is always appreciated by our guests.
We like to ensure that our guests get the most out of their stay, so are more than happy to provide advice about the area and its attractions.
We will be pleased to welcome you back to stay at The Barn @ The Old Bakery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissWonde...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Homely and prestinly clean. ”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Very comfortable. Very Homely and warm. Exemplary clean and tidy. All mod cons. On the downside.... No internet or phone signal. And unfortunately no views or privacy from neighbours and other guests. A sitting area outside at the top of the stairs but it looks down into neighbours windows so we chose not to use it.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write review.
We are pleased to find that you found our accommodation clean and tidy. And, that it was fully equipped with everything that you might hope for in a comfortable holiday let.
We are sorry to hear that you found a problem with the internet, you should have mentioned this to us, as we have high speed internet provision to our property. We are sorry to hear that your mobile phone signal was poor. We are not sure which provider you use, but; all the major providers have coverage within the village.
We do not understand your comment about "no views or privacy from neighbours and other guests", as there are views of the village and surrounding countryside from The Barn Balcony.
However we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and relaxing.”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just come back from a 4 day break at the barn@the the old bakery. Couldn't fault anything.
Clean as a whistle and everything you need for your stay. Ken and Carol gave us the information about the local restaurants and pubs. Thank you.
Beautiful views. If your looking for a relaxing holiday accommodation look no further.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home comfort
Liked least: can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, it is very much appreciated. Equally thank you for leaving our property in a clean and tidy state.
We are pleased to read that you found The Barn @ The Old Bakery met with your high standards.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the three pubs in the village, all of which serve good quality home cooked food.
We are delighted to read that you had a relaxing holiday.
We would love to have you return to continue your exploration of The Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.