We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Views from the rear garden,there is also a small village recreation area to the right
Chatsworth house and park land
We've got beautiful walks from Devonshire Cottage along the river to Chatsworth Bridge
Chatsworth House & beautiful gardens to walk around,get lost in the maze,picnic on the lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elena M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The cottage itself is beautifully decorated, super cosy and clean.
You’re situated in a great location as so close to the beautiful Chatsworth estate and Bakewell - there’s so much to do in every direction and the wonderful owner gives loads of suggestions in the welcome book.

The Devonshire Arms pub is directly opposite the cottage and is lovely- great food. Then there’s a really nice cafe around the corner so you don’t have to cook at all when there.

The stream running through the village is right opposite and the garden backs on to a great park which was lovely for my toddler.

All in all a great stay and I would thoroughly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexstar20...
New Forest, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 27 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

It is rare I wax lyrical on a review, but everything about the cottage, it’s host, the booking itself, and the area could not have been more perfect for us.

We were keen to visit Chatsworth and the surrounding area. We wanted to be in the country and have complete peace with our six year old, with enough to keep him happy, but without compromising on luxury and accessibility.

Devonshire cottage in Beeley had all this in abundance. A stunning location in a little hamlet with a fantastic village pub, absolutely outstanding little cafe and barely 40 minutes gentle stroll across the fields to Chatsworth.

Bakewell was five minutes away with a lovely green space and river running through it where we had fish and chips one evening, and we also made a trip to the Emma Bridgewater factory (a must!) an hour away.

Marlene our host, could not have done more, from giving us all the information we needed before our trip and leaving a personalized note with a lovely little fishing rod and sweets knowing we had a six year old!

The cottage itself was stunning, completely well equipped, with anything you could possibly want and need. Beautiful bed linen and spotlessly clean.
We rarely return to the same place but are already re-booking!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian F
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stylish and cosy cottage handy for Chatsworth”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This cottage is on the traditional estate village of Beeley. It is conveniently situated opposite a hotel/ pub. It is an easy walk to Chatsworth House and Garden Centre. Derbyshire has a wealth of walks and NT properties to visit. We visited from Nottingham only an hour away. I chose this cottage because I had previously visited it and remembered thinking it was stylish and welcoming. It has been refurbed and offers everything you could want. All fittings are top quality. There is a small courtyard garden with table, chairs, cushions and umbrella. The kitchen is very smart with all appliances.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and inviting cottage that is simply perfect”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

The location of Devonshire cottage is fantastic. Situated on the outskirts of Chatsworth there's no need to use the car as there are plenty of walks on the doorstep. Marlene (the owner) has thought of everything you could possibly need and the cottage is decorated and furnished to a high standard, making it feel like home from home.
We have visited Devonshire Cottage twice now and the third visit is already booked. If you are looking for a magical luxurious holiday cottage, then this is the place for you.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esant2016
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Most beautiful cottage, immaculate interiors and lovely garden. Stayed for a long weekend as a special present for my husband to celebrate his 50th and had a surprise extended family lunch opposite at The Devonshire Arms. I stayed at the cottage with my husband and two teenage sons - plenty of space for all of us. The kids enjoyed playing football at the rec round the back which is visible from the cottage garden. My husband (early riser) enjoyed reading his book with coffee each morning sat in the garden. I enjoyed everything!! Thank you Marlene - will be returning for certain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon G
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cottage. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were in the Peaks for a long weekend.The location is perfect, the cottage immaculate, comfortable beds, good pubs nearby and the owners are very nice.

One of the best self catering cottages we have ever rented.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo P
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect little cottage in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 5 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a short Valentines break in the Peak District. The cottage is perfect - the great decor and small finishing touches make it home from home. It was also spotlessly clean! We even had a bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge. The cottage is well stocked with kitchen utensils, cleaning products etc - and the rooms are a good size. We booked it just for the 2 of us but the cottage is big enough for 4. It's great to have a fire to light in the evenings while cosying up on the sofas. There were logs when we got there but we called the mobile number supplied and had some more logs delivered for a reasonable price. There are also lots of information on walks, maps etc.
Beeley is a lovely little village in the Chatsworth Estate - good location to explore. We did one walk straight from the cottage up to Beeley Moor (to Hob Hurst's House which we'd recommend as it was quiet and away from the crowds) and down around the estate. We also drove to Bakewell and did the Monsal Trail. Highly recommend a Bakewell pudding! The Devonshire Arms is literally across the road but we wouldn't recommend it for an evening meal (or even a quick drink as its more of a hotel/restaurant than a nice local pub) - but ideally located.
Overall perfect cottage and wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing