We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Scones and Birdspotting whilst eating breakfast”
Review of Woodside B&B

Woodside B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodside B&B
Ranked #19 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Diss Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Scones and Birdspotting whilst eating breakfast”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I searched for sometime before coming across Woodside.The reviews were great and the location seemed perfect. Following a long drive on the heels of a stressful week we were warmly greeted by Kath and Keith with a cream scone tea on the table.We were made to feel very welcome throughout our three night stay and felt more like house guests than B&B visitors.The generousity was continuous from the moment our suitcase was whisked out of the car until we left with a jar of Kath's marmalade.The views from our room were just as described and the pleasure to be found watching such a variety of birdlife was endless.Great walks recommended and detailed directions given in a very generous spirit together with suggestions as to where
to eat in the evening.

The breakfast was delicious and kept us well satisfied 'til the evening Everything freshly prepared by Kath The fresh fruit salad is particularly special.

Outstanding hospitality and I feel I have made two new friends.Thank you Kath and Keith fro making our first wedding anniversary so memorable.

Room Tip: Book your stay at Stanton Lees with Kath and Keith at 'Woodside' Guesthouse. Rooms at back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I searched for several hours on the internet to find a B & B in the Peaks for a weekend away with a friend after a tough week. When I stumbled across Woodside it seemed perfect from the outset. When we arrived it could not have been anymore perfect. Ideally located in the heart of the Peaks, lovely, warm, welcoming couple and great location for bird watching. The room was comfortable and built for purpose, good size bathroom and powerful shower. Comfortable beds and great food. Arrived to a homemade scone and cup of tea, started the weekend off wonderfully. Will definatley be visiting again. Kath and Keith were both accomodating and friendly, it felt like a home from home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Our stay at Woodside for four days was a real treat. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Sightings of more birds from the breakfast conservatory than I have ever seen. Numerous nuthatch, jay, chaffinch, the occasional tree creeper, bull finch and even a pair of buzzard flying overhead.
The house is in easy walking distance from the Nine Ladies stone circle and two magnificent pubs, the Druid Inn and Red Lion at Birchover. Both served superb food each having completely different menus.
The best thing about our stay however was meeting our hosts Kath and Keith. You could not meet a nicer couple. Nothing was too much trouble. The enthusiastic greeting by Kath with delicious home made scones and jam. The superb quality and good selection of breakfast, help about local attractions and how to get there. Just perfect.

Room Tip: The room at the back has great views of the valley and of the numerous birds in the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

By far the most interesting and comfortable guest house I have ever stayed in, not to mention the endless generosity and hospitality of the hosts! And that is saying something.. I have stayed in scores of them over the years! Upon arrival one is greeted with "May I Take your Bags"!! That is a rare occurrence in B & Bs generally, and after our long, tiring journey, plus an aching back, it was most welcome!! Then we were shown into the lounge, with a blazing fire, and within minutes Kath and Keith had returned with pots of freshly brewed tea, home made scones and home made jam.... We chatted for a while and were
shown to our very clean, warm, spacious, modern rooms. The beds were very comfortable and after a good night's sleep, we went down to breakfast, held in the conservatory.. again lovely and warm... and we were served with a wonderful Full English, (and let me add, by the time we had eaten we were three very Full English!!!)..great coffee.. and as if that is not enough, we were delighted by the display put on by the locals...the feathered kinds.. woodpeckers, coaltits, nuthatches, etc. etc. It was obvious that everyone is welcome to Kath and Keith's table!!!! Despite Kath's hectic schedule, being involved in many charitable events, which involves her spending long hours in the kitchen baking and making jams, Keith and Kath could NOT have been more hospitable or done more for us! And we thank them both!

All in all a really lovely stay and we will be back next year! Thank you again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was our first visit to Woodside we were welcomed on arrival with a fantastic cream tea.The breakfasts were beautifully prepared and we needed nothing else until supper time.
We enjoyed lovely home made jams and I took home the recipe for Kath's scones.
We spent the evenings with Keith and Kath in front of a log fire nothing was too much trouble.The bedroom was comfortable with lovely views we could recommend this place to any one and hope to return ourselves next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2011

On arrival we were welcomed with our usual cup of tea and fresh cream scones.Everyone is welcomed to enjoy the lovely lounge where Kath & Keith and guests can spend enjoyable evenings chatting.They are very knowledgeable about the local area and can give great advice on best places to visit.Breakfast in the conservatory is superd - great choice of food and plenty of tea & coffee.While you eat your breakfast you can watch the many varities of birds enjoying theirs.We shall soon be back again for another visit.

Room Tip: The 2 back bedrooms have superb views over the valley and dales.The front bedroom faces the narrow r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Only were able to stay for 2 nights - wish it were longer. We enjoyed our stay & were made to feel very welcome by Kath & Keith. Lovely breakfast, comfortable room with a lovely view. Would recommend this place to anyone. We hope to return to see more of a wonderful area.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the back have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloriaBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
11.0 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#6 of 44 in Bakewell
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Terrafirma Guest House
Terrafirma Guest House
#18 of 44 in Bakewell
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside B&B

Property: Woodside B&B
Address: Stanton Lees | Matlock, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE4 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside B&B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing