We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day in Bakewell”

Bloomers of Bakewell
Ranked #4 of 16 Shopping in Bakewell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bloomers of Bakewell is a bakery established in this lovely English town for more than 100 years. Most famous for being the proud producer of Bloomers Original Bakewell Puddings with a recipe more than 135 years old. We're thrilled to have won a one star award at the 2015 Great Taste Awards - national recognition for the fine puddings we make. Open every day of the week, we serve a fine array of Pies, Puddings and Tarts - so drop in and see what takes your fancy!
mossley ashton u lyne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Day in Bakewell”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fantastic day in Bakewell, lovely shops plenty of good charity shops ! Great fish and chips , pasties and of course Bakewell puddings !!!nice to walk by the river and parking reasonable ! Will go again !!,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank julieanne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review, we are so pleased you found bloomers and bakewell so delightful. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    9
    6
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bakewell Tart by Bloomers”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Sorry have read the reviews but I bought one of your tarts whilst in Bakewell last Tuesday and found it tasteless and the pastry was dry. Paid £4. for it the top had some very hard bits of pastry or something else on it. It was described as full of nuts. I did not taste any. I am an experienced cook and have made this tart myself. It should be moist, almondy and the pastry should be crisp. We were with friends who live near Bakewell and they were very disappointed too considering they recommended Bloomers to us!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thanks for taking time out to write a review, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't as good as we hoped.
If you could email on vikkifslater@gmail.com
And we can resolve the issue. Here at bloomers we pride ourselves on having high quality homemade goods, and we take matters like this seriously and want to get them sorted and keep customers happy.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“To die for”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Absolutely scrumptious,not over priced.well presented food,the proper taste of Bakewell tart for my wife and myself,could eat these all day

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thankyou for taking the time out to review your experience at bloomers.
We are so pleased you have enjoyed coming to the shop and found the puddings much to your liking. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best and the original Bakewell Pudding!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

You have to try these - hot, with cream or custard ... oh my word!!! Even lovelier than Bakewell tarts :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NikkiRose66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time out and writing a lovely comment.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your purchases.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food ,great staff, great prices This bakery is a little gem!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Visiting Bakewell with our three young children we passed a few bakeries and noticed how expensive their prices were sausage rolls were , around £1.90 each. they charged for warming them up! Thinking this was expensive we looked around a few more shops and came across BLoomers bakery which on the board outside said it was passed down from four generations . We looked in the window and saw tasty sausage rolls were less then 80 p and this shop did not charge for warming them up . The children had their s rolls and my husband and I had Cornish pasties they were excellent, tasty, yummy and homemade. The lady was helpful and friendly . Would definitely return. Gem of a bakery great, food, prices and staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparks65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thankyou very much for taking time out and leaving a wonderful comment.
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed some of our homemade treats, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bloomers of Bakewell also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Bloomers of Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing