We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“is it a pudding or tart”

Bloomers of Bakewell
Ranked #4 of 17 Shopping in Bakewell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bloomers of Bakewell is a bakery established in this lovely English town for more than 100 years. Most famous for being the proud producer of Bloomers Original Bakewell Puddings with a recipe more than 135 years old. We're thrilled to have won a one star award at the 2015 Great Taste Awards - national recognition for the fine puddings we make. Open every day of the week, we serve a fine array of Pies, Puddings and Tarts - so drop in and see what takes your fancy!
Reviewed 8 July 2014

well having now tried the pudding,i think ill stick to the bake well tart,the visit was adventurous,great setting near the river bank,plenty of activities/shops open to visit,the visit we bought the famous tart and pudding and for us the tart was definitely the pick,a bit expensive,but real quality,fresh not soggy and very tasty.

Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for taking time out and leaving us a nice review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed one of our homemade tarts, we pride ourselves on having fresh stock daily, we bake 364 days a year!
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fantastic day in Bakewell, lovely shops plenty of good charity shops ! Great fish and chips , pasties and of course Bakewell puddings !!!nice to walk by the river and parking reasonable ! Will go again !!,

2  Thank julieanne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review, we are so pleased you found bloomers and bakewell so delightful. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Sorry have read the reviews but I bought one of your tarts whilst in Bakewell last Tuesday and found it tasteless and the pastry was dry. Paid £4. for it the top had some very hard bits of pastry or something else on it. It was described as full of nuts. I did not taste any. I am an experienced cook and have made this tart myself. It should be moist, almondy and the pastry should be crisp. We were with friends who live near Bakewell and they were very disappointed too considering they recommended Bloomers to us!

2  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for taking time out to write a review, we are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't as good as we hoped.
If you could email on vikkifslater@gmail.com
And we can resolve the issue. Here at bloomers we pride ourselves on having high quality homemade goods, and we take matters like this seriously and want to get them sorted and keep customers happy.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Absolutely scrumptious,not over priced.well presented food,the proper taste of Bakewell tart for my wife and myself,could eat these all day

3  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thankyou for taking the time out to review your experience at bloomers.
We are so pleased you have enjoyed coming to the shop and found the puddings much to your liking. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

You have to try these - hot, with cream or custard ... oh my word!!! Even lovelier than Bakewell tarts :)

4  Thank NikkiRose66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshirerascals, Manager at Bloomers of Bakewell, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking time out and writing a lovely comment.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your purchases.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bloomers of Bakewell also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Bloomers of Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing