We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed at the Haven with a friend at the beginning and end of the Pride of the Peak walk. We were made to feel very welcome. The twin room was very comfortable with a wonderful shower in the ensuite. It is in a convenient location for the centre of Bakewell, with a lovely walk across the
park and along the river. The breakfast was freshly prepared with a good choice.

We did drive past trying to find it, as someone else has noted the Google map location is incorrect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda70Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    39
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
184
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Me and my Husband stayed at The Haven for 1 night for the carnival. The B & B is in a great location, caters for your every need. We were lucky enough to stay in the ground floor suite which we found very modern and comfortable, a lovely big bed (very comfortable) all amenities you could need, it was spotlessly clean., also with its own private entrance. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts couldn't do enough. A lovely place. We originally come from Bakewell so it was lovely to actually try out a local B & B and be a tourist lol. When we next go visiting our family we will definately stay at The Haven.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

It was great to be back at The Haven after first staying there eleven years ago. Jeremy is a charming and very attentive host. The rooms are being continually updated to provide modern conveniences. This time, our room was downstairs; it contained a new large, Australian-sized shower, which we greatly appreciated. The Haven is very conveniently located close to the town of Bakewell. We also took Jeremy's advice and dinner at the Italian restaurant which was a short walk over the bridge. Great food. Thanks so much to Jeremy and Barbara for offering, once again, such comfort and hospitality.

Room Tip: Looking for a large shower? Ask for the downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwriter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Wanted to point out that if you're using Google Maps to get to the Haven, Google Maps has the location wrong, it is further down the road from where it points you. You can actually find it here: http://goo.gl/maps/EZOj

Lat long: 53.209421, -1.672090


The Haven was only a 5 minute walk from the Bakewell town center. I didn't catch their names but the two owners were very friendly and were informative.

Their breakfasts are tasty - the full English breakfast is filling. Also try the sweet pancakes and the oatcakes (only trouble may be that you don't find them filling enough).

I'm also not sure if the place had wifi as there was no information about it anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamapizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Rooms are pretty decent, though definately some better than others. One of our party wasn't told how to operate shower, so was unable to get water in the morning. Owners are pleasant and clearly take pride in what they do, though arrival time on sunday was limited to between 4 and 5, and the number of helpful little instructional messages around the place makes it feel a little too strictly organised... Guess it's needed with a larger b&b, though feels a little too much. Once they add another message to operate the shower, they'd gain another star! Still, breakfast was pleasant, and walking out of the house and watching cricket on the green opposite made for a very English evening.....

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon_Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback its really appreciated.

We are truly sorry about not advising you about the switch for the shower this was a genuine oversight on our part. We appreciate this would have caused you great inconvenience and when we discussed this at breakfast we did advise we would need to place a notice above the switch so that anyone in that room would know to turn this on. You agreed at the time and in your review this is a good idea and It is because of your feedback that we know to do this so thank you and we appreciate your need to mark us down for this.

You said there were instructional messages and this felt too much. The reason we have the notices are as a result of previous guests feedback and also our desire to prevent damage to our property; which I am sure most people would understand. We have a note on the front door asking for the guest to lock this on leaving and entering the house- this is for everyone’s security. We have a note on the stairs asking people to remove their muddy shoes as a previous reviewer was very unhappy about the state of the carpet on a particularly wet day. In the room there is a laminated notice giving essential information required by the tourist board to gain our 4 stars. We, like you, do not like notices- but needs must.

We would just like to add we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and would love to see all 3 of you again if you were to return to Bakewell. Once again thank you for your feedback as it has given us the opportunity to comment on what others may have been thinking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was a fabulous place to stay! Our room was clean, quiet, had all updated amenities and was charming. The bathroom was by far the nicest in any place I've stayed in the UK. The owners are very kind and attentive. There were several vegetarian options for breakfast and the oatcakes were tasty and also gave you a sample of the local cuisine. The peak district is a great place to visit and Haven a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We had the twin room at the back of the house on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had 3 nights at The Haven in June 2012 and found it to be excellent value for money.
Jeremy and Barbara made us extremely welcome and the breakfasts were excellent (especially Barbaras Oat Cakes). The discount offered for local restaurants was also useful.
The Haven is in a good situation for visiting all of Bakewell's excellent amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#13 of 47 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven B&B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing