We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Break”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I would like to thank Barbara and Jeremy for looking after us tuesday 28th wed 29th May 2013, we had a lovely time at The Haven, I would recommend this B & B to anyone, food outstanding, spotless rooms, fab service - Brilliant

Room Tip: Choose sensibly !!!! if poorly or old etc don't chose rooms upstairs, but we were a party of fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to look after you all. We do hope you return. Our best wishes to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    39
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
184
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Booked a 3 night stay for my husbands birthday and booked what I thought was the best room according to the website. They contacted me to say it was up 2 flights of stairs which was no problem. It is advertised as the largest and best room. Yes it did have a victorian fireplace and
did overlook the garden and woods beyond but there is a housing estate between the two. Also it is an attic room with sloping ceilings so space is limited. The ensuite also had a sloping ceiling and the shower was a very small cubicle. I dont know what the other rooms are like but if o9urs was the biggest the others must be very small. Was very disappointed. On the plus side the breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: Beware of room up narrow saircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenmartred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Haven we appreciate our guests taking the time to do this and value their feedback.

We are sorry you were unhappy with your room as you were expecting to be in our largest and best room as advertised on our website and the room you were allocated didnt meet your expectations. The room you booked isnt described anywhere as our largest room. It is described as one of our largest and being a Victorian house and the reason many choose to stay with us, the rooms are not as big as a modern purpose built hotel. We do have 6 bedrooms so our property is large and the rooms in scale for the age of the house. Our largest and most expensive purpose built room has a large en suite shower room with a double shower, a small sofa, table and chairs and expensive shabby chic Ducal furniture. The room you yourself selected and booked via the guestlink booking site over the internet is one of our mid range rooms in the house and its floor area is one of the larger mid range rooms. This room which is at the top of the house, is an attic room and is one of our most popular rooms and is often taken time and again by our repeat guests. It does have a sloping ceiling with a window inset into it but is full of character and is furnished with expensive Ducal futniture. The bed is King size and the wardrobe is a triple and this is the room most often requested by those wishing to stay for longer periods, honeymooners and those on romantic breaks. The en suite shower room is in my opinion spacious and the sloping ceiling adds character and although the shower is currently a single unit it is a top range shower with multiple functions.

You were also disappointed with the view and I accept opinion on views is subjective and personal. There is a housing estate between the garden and the woods but to me it is still attractive and many people dont mind looking at a few houses.

I think the disappointment with the room is personal and we cant appeal to everyone. We always ask our guests if everything is OK with their room and you never made us aware of your concerns which never gave us the opportunity to discuss your thoughts on your room.

We are pleased you were happy with our location and breakfasts and if you did consider staying with us again our recomendation would be you take the more expensive and larger purpose built ground floor room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived late for check-in but Jeremy welcomed us in and told us the town was only a short walk through the park opposite and suggested a few places for meals.The room was cozy and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. I had Barbaras homemade oatcakes :-) We would highly recommend this guest house and the room was worth climbing the staircase too.

Room Tip: room was worth climbing the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank More1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the climb to your second floor room worth it. Thank you for the positive comment re the oatcakes worthy praise from a Staffy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had been in Manchester for the Bank holiday weekend and decided to stop off in Bakewell on the way back to London to see a bit of the Peak District. A last minute decision that paid off wonderfully. Arrived late Monday afternoon after a pretty stressed drive through bank holiday traffic and felt instantly at ease. Very warm and friendly welcome from the hosts.

The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and very quiet (we were at the back of the house). We had a large and strong shower. Free wifi, although signal was patchy in our room at times.

Good advice from the host Jeremy on where to visit, eat and drink and we even got a discount from one of the restaurants. Tasty cooked breakfast the following morning. Overall very good value for the price.

We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed more. Bakewell is a great little town in a beautiful part of the country. We will definitely be back at some point.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear (away from the main road) which was very quiet, although the windows were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your supportive comments its good to have positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The wifi is provided at no charge and the signal can sometimes fluctuate and also your own equipment may affect the efficacy. Our iPad picks up a signal in all of the house but not our lap top. We are having BT out to check our wi fi set up and that may lead to improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We arrived late for check-in after getting horrendously lost near Birmingham, but Barbara and Jeremy were so kind and welcoming that we felt at ease immediately. Jeremy had excellent suggestions for meals and walks, the room was cozy and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious every morning (try the lemon preserves)

Bakewell was the perfect base for our days in the Peak District, and if you are staying in Bakewell you must stay at the Haven. We were very sad to leave on the morning of our departure (and wished that we'd planned for a longer stay) and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had the ground-floor room with the separate entrance. It was very private and quiet, but does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper_Cch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review with so many wonderful comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozzo, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in Bakewell and make some walking trips in the fields. Then we found a lot of excellent reviews about The Haven.
Even before meeting our hosts, we understood, by the kindness of Barbara’s e-mails, that they are fantastic people.
The B&B is fantastic: quiet, very well-furnished and full of everything you could desire. Jeremy is always available to help you if you ask some informations or if you need advices about something (also his suggestions about dining places are excellent!); Barbara makes super-tasty breakfasts, so that we don’t needed to have lunch!!!
In conclusion, we’ll suggest this place to everyone. 5 stars are not enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica_dario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
What a lovely positive review thank you so very much. We couldn't be happier knowing that you enjoyed your stay and what we offer and do pleased you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We needed to find somewhere local to Bakewell for a exhibition we were attending, from first contact be email it was obvious Barbara and Jeremy run an efficient, busy guest house. Prices very reasonable, service and advice are excellent. A delightful place to stay with a warm welcome from wonderful hosts! Rooms spacious and very clean. Thank you for a wonderful weekend, we will definitely return. Kind regards, David G Porter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGP-Auto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for you lovely review and the best commendation in your wishing to return. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#13 of 47 in Bakewell
410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
206 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven B&B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing