We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 47 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We actually stayed at the Haven in October 2012 but it's taken me an embarassingly long time to write this review.

This was the third consecutive year that we have stayed at the Haven and it was as lovely as ever. Jeremy and Barabara were the perfect hosts and the downstairs room that we stayed in was newly and beautifully decorated with everything that we needed. The breakfasts were particularly good, the introduction of oatcakes to the menu is inspired and they are quite deliceous. It takes a lot to tempt me away from their traditional full English breakfast but the oatcakes succeeded!

We will be returning to The Haven this year and highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Peak District. The location is excellent being just a short walk from the centre of town but with lovely views and the convenience of a private car park. It's a fantastic place - don't look anywhere else, just book it!

Room Tip: The top floor room has lovely views although there are a few stairs as you'd expect. The ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxLove2Travelxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
It was great to have you with us again and a pleasure to look after you. Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    39
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
184
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked fairly last minute and were delighted to find this lovely b&b 5 mins walk from the centre of bakewell available. The semi detached house overlooked a park and river framed by wooded hills and was had been beautifully renovated in keeping with its character. We stayed in the top ensuite double 'attic' room that overlooked the garden at the back of the house...very peaceful and beautifully arranged with a comfy large double bed, power shower tea coffee biscuits and plasma tv...what more could you wish for! Jeremy and Barbara were more than accommodating arranging yummy vegetarian breakfast options and soya milk for us. They also had great discounts arranged through the b&b with restaurants in bakewell and the local bike hire centre which was very useful and saved us a few bob on the trip! They were very informative and friendly even giving us the detailed farmers forecast in the morning so we could best plan our day! All in all a fantastic stay...would recommend to all and definitely would come again...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzyjaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven and for your positive comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I booked this B&B to take my girlfreind away to propose to her so the stakes were high. Barbara and Jeremy were in on the secret and helped so much in preparing the room and moving champagne and flowers about without my girlfreind seeing. These guys really go that extra mile in making you feel at home and comfortable, it was like staying with freinds rather than a business. The rooms are like a hotel and the food like a resturant. There is also off-road parking which Jeremy allowed us to stay in after we checked out. So glad we found this B&B and look forward to staying here again. Thankyou both so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
It was a pleasure to look after you and to have a small part in making your special event memorable. We do hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I would like to thank Barbara and Jeremy for looking after us tuesday 28th wed 29th May 2013, we had a lovely time at The Haven, I would recommend this B & B to anyone, food outstanding, spotless rooms, fab service - Brilliant

Room Tip: Choose sensibly !!!! if poorly or old etc don't chose rooms upstairs, but we were a party of fiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to look after you all. We do hope you return. Our best wishes to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Booked a 3 night stay for my husbands birthday and booked what I thought was the best room according to the website. They contacted me to say it was up 2 flights of stairs which was no problem. It is advertised as the largest and best room. Yes it did have a victorian fireplace and
did overlook the garden and woods beyond but there is a housing estate between the two. Also it is an attic room with sloping ceilings so space is limited. The ensuite also had a sloping ceiling and the shower was a very small cubicle. I dont know what the other rooms are like but if o9urs was the biggest the others must be very small. Was very disappointed. On the plus side the breakfasts were excellent.

Room Tip: Beware of room up narrow saircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenmartred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Haven we appreciate our guests taking the time to do this and value their feedback.

We are sorry you were unhappy with your room as you were expecting to be in our largest and best room as advertised on our website and the room you were allocated didnt meet your expectations. The room you booked isnt described anywhere as our largest room. It is described as one of our largest and being a Victorian house and the reason many choose to stay with us, the rooms are not as big as a modern purpose built hotel. We do have 6 bedrooms so our property is large and the rooms in scale for the age of the house. Our largest and most expensive purpose built room has a large en suite shower room with a double shower, a small sofa, table and chairs and expensive shabby chic Ducal furniture. The room you yourself selected and booked via the guestlink booking site over the internet is one of our mid range rooms in the house and its floor area is one of the larger mid range rooms. This room which is at the top of the house, is an attic room and is one of our most popular rooms and is often taken time and again by our repeat guests. It does have a sloping ceiling with a window inset into it but is full of character and is furnished with expensive Ducal futniture. The bed is King size and the wardrobe is a triple and this is the room most often requested by those wishing to stay for longer periods, honeymooners and those on romantic breaks. The en suite shower room is in my opinion spacious and the sloping ceiling adds character and although the shower is currently a single unit it is a top range shower with multiple functions.

You were also disappointed with the view and I accept opinion on views is subjective and personal. There is a housing estate between the garden and the woods but to me it is still attractive and many people dont mind looking at a few houses.

I think the disappointment with the room is personal and we cant appeal to everyone. We always ask our guests if everything is OK with their room and you never made us aware of your concerns which never gave us the opportunity to discuss your thoughts on your room.

We are pleased you were happy with our location and breakfasts and if you did consider staying with us again our recomendation would be you take the more expensive and larger purpose built ground floor room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We arrived late for check-in but Jeremy welcomed us in and told us the town was only a short walk through the park opposite and suggested a few places for meals.The room was cozy and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. I had Barbaras homemade oatcakes :-) We would highly recommend this guest house and the room was worth climbing the staircase too.

Room Tip: room was worth climbing the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank More1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the climb to your second floor room worth it. Thank you for the positive comment re the oatcakes worthy praise from a Staffy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had been in Manchester for the Bank holiday weekend and decided to stop off in Bakewell on the way back to London to see a bit of the Peak District. A last minute decision that paid off wonderfully. Arrived late Monday afternoon after a pretty stressed drive through bank holiday traffic and felt instantly at ease. Very warm and friendly welcome from the hosts.

The room was lovely, clean, comfortable and very quiet (we were at the back of the house). We had a large and strong shower. Free wifi, although signal was patchy in our room at times.

Good advice from the host Jeremy on where to visit, eat and drink and we even got a discount from one of the restaurants. Tasty cooked breakfast the following morning. Overall very good value for the price.

We only stayed one night but wish we could have stayed more. Bakewell is a great little town in a beautiful part of the country. We will definitely be back at some point.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear (away from the main road) which was very quiet, although the windows were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your supportive comments its good to have positive feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The wifi is provided at no charge and the signal can sometimes fluctuate and also your own equipment may affect the efficacy. Our iPad picks up a signal in all of the house but not our lap top. We are having BT out to check our wi fi set up and that may lead to improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#13 of 47 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven B&B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing