We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Mini-Moon!”
Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #7 of 45 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for a few days after our wedding day.

We would recommend this B&B to anyone. The location was brilliant with Bakewell being only a short walk away, the room was lovely with us arriving to have chocolates, champagne and rose petals (picked from their garden) in our room as a surprise. The breakfast was lovely and really set you up for a day of activities.

Barbara and Jeremy were the perfect hosts and were just so lovely...we didn't want to leave.

Thank you again for making our mini-moon even more memorable!!

David and Marie Stansfield x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven and your kind comments. We felt honoured to be a part of your celebrations and hopefully gave you lasting fond memories of your stay. The groom very cleverly and considerately arranged all the special treats and we hopefully completed the task successfully on his behalf. A lovely couple and we hope to see you both again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We are SO happy that we chose to stay at The Haven. From the moment we arrived, Jeremy and Barbara were warm, gracious and attentive hosts. My daughter and I were given a room on the second floor, which was perfect for us -- it boasted both a double and twin bed, had a lovely hospitality tray, ample storage, a vanity dresser and a vintage fireplace...wonderful! Breakfasts were a delight: cooked to order, served hot, ample and delicious! One day, we wanted to go to Chatsworth and were inquiring about local transportation, as we didn't have a car: well, Jeremy insisted on driving us there! So friendly, so helpful, and full of useful tips and information. The B&B is about a 5-minute walk from the center of town, so it's very easy to get to. Thank you, Jeremy and Barbara, for a lovely and memorable stay....we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldexplorer0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Haven and for your kind comments. We are pleased we helped to make your stay in England an enjoyable one and it was an absolute pleasure to look after the two of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I, and my mum and dad stayed here for bank holiday weekend- we just got back today, my mum and dad are actually staying another night and are still there! Great location, beautiful house, perfectly clean rooms, huge ensuite shower rooms, friendly and helpful hosts, delicious breakfasts- with lots of choice- I had 3 difference breakfasts each morning and all 3 were great, complimentary toiletries, discounted restaurants in town- would really recommend this B&B if you are staying in Bakewell- and would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: If possible, be at the back of the house. Our room was at the front and with the window open, we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review TheHaven. We are very pleased you and your family had a good stay with us. It's always good to hear the different breakfast choices have "gone down" well as we try to ensure we offer variety that is equal in enjoyment to the full English.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Haven in bakewell. Wasnt sure what to expect as this was are first time to this area. After reading the reviews for the haven decided to stay, our experience was excellent everything we needed, lovely decorated room , clean , free toiletries which were replaced daily, lovely little extra!, tea and coffee and biscuits also.
Breakfast was lovely, served with smile.
Beautiful views from room and within 5 min walk of everything, town is lovely especially the bistro had lovely meal here.
Jeremy and Barbara are lovely couple and nothing is to much, full of knowledge.
We would encourage anybody to stay here, you wont be disappointed, only wish we had book longer.
Keep up the good work love Andy and karen from leicester

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Haven and your kind comments. We are so pleased you were happy with everything and would recommend us so highly. We do hope you return for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I have just returned home from a two night stay at The Haven (21/8-23/8)....what can I say?
The greeting from Barbara and Jeremy was warm and friendly-you are made to feel welcome from the moment you step through the door.
The room was situated at the rear of the house and had a kingsize bed (that can be split into twin beds). The double shower was excellent-really powerful and plenty of hot water.
The location of the property is overlooking the park which is also lovely to spend an hour or two in or just to use to get into town.
The discounts available to guests in establishments around the town are clearly explained and certainly make a difference when eating out.
The breakfast provided is excellent with lots of choice, all cooked to order-Barbara's home made preserves are a lovely treat, my favourite is the apricot and earl grey! A special treat for breakfast were the oatcakes (Jeremy - "Staffordshire" oatcakes).
This break was booked with the express desire for some quality time, fresh air, good company....all of which was readily available at The Haven
Thank you x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria18Leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our company as well as The Haven itself. Good to hear you appreciated the oatcakes and preserves enjoyable as they are to make Its always nice to know guests think they are good. We do hope you will return to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Haven B&B for 5 nights in May 2013 using it as a base to explore the Peake District during our 3 week holiday in England. Our room on the first floor overlooking the rear of the property was lovely, very clean, cosy and quiet and the bathroom was a generous size as was the shower. Breakfast was good and Barbara's oatcakes are well worth a try. The B&B itself is in a good location with its own off street parking and it is within easy walking distance to all the pubs, restaurants and shops on offer in Bakewell. Our hosts Jeremy and Barbara were friendly and welcoming. Jeremy was very helpful in recommending places to eat in Bakewell which we took advantage of and were not disappointed. I recommend The Haven B&B as a place to stay, it is very good value for money and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and also in Bakewell town itself. It's always good to hear that our recommended places are hitting the spot too. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Last minute stay, we were warmly greeted by Jerry who is the font of all knowledge.
Our room was on the front overlooking the park, clean, comfortable, quiet. Shower room small but did the job well.
Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.
Great location and reasonably priced, you can't go wrong.
Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkieinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Haven and for adding the photographs for the front room we appreciate your doing that. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thought us reasonably priced. This is our lowest priced room but we think its great value as the bed is King sized and though compact as you said the en suite is adequate. We do hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
430 reviews
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chesterfield West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#3 of 45 in Bakewell
425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. We have twin and double ensuite rooms and our own car park. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven B&B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing