We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat, perfect hosts.”
Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #7 of 45 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The title says it all really. Jeremy and Barbara have got it so right. On arrival Jeremy was so helpful discussing places to eat and to visit, what a lovely man, very endearing too. The room was lovely, so clean and had everything you need and more. We didn't meet Barbara until breakfast, she too was a lovely lady and cooked a wonderful breakfast, hot food cooked to order. Thank you both for sharing you lovely home and making our anniversary a memorable and special one, Carol & Andy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol23263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

We are so pleased we helped to make your anniversary a happy and memorable one. Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate your doing the review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed last weekend with my husband. Room was perfect, lovely and clean, en suite was very spacious with excellent shower and facilities. Plenty of off road parking on the quiet road at the side of the hotel and also at the private part at the back. Very quiet even though it was on the main road. Short walk to the centre of Bakewell where Jeremy had recommended some excellent places to go for a meal. Went to the Castle Inn which I would definitely recommend to all. Breakfast at The Haven was excellent and nothing was too much trouble to Jeremy and Barbara. Would recommend to everyone and will be returning on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

What a lovely review thank you very much. We are pleased you had such a good time and will be returning. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Last weekend, we spent two nights at The Haven. On arrival, Jeremy greeted us warmly and gave us good ideas of where to eat locally. He showed us up to our very pleasant room and told us to treat it like home. We were delighted with our en suite room, which included one of the best showers I've seen. The building was quiet and we felt relaxed and comfortable.Everywhere was immaculate and the room was very warm. Breakfast was in a very attractive dining room and was delicious. Eggs cooked to perfection! Bakewell is a delightful base for walks in the beautiful Peak District and The Haven is a perfect place to stay in Bakewell, being just a few minutes walk out of the town centre. Thank you so much to Jeremy and Barbara. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lamma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your review we are very pleased you found us "perfect" and will be returning. We would be very happy to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Large spotless airy room with large modern ensuite.. Huge power shower and some high end mini shampoos , body wash etc Jeremy and his wife Barbara couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Good central location with off road car park. I didn't partake in breakfast but it smelt delicious . Large communal lounge area with wi fi.

Room Tip: My large quiet room was at the back of the property 1 st floor
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent three nights here and found the owners friendly and made us feel comfortable. The room was smallish for a longer stay and early morning traffic a little noisy. The shower was excellent. The breakfast menu excellent. Ideal place to see local area attractions and walkers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your review review we appreciate your feedback. If you were to return, please take advantage of the video on Google, of the interior of the house to check out our room sizes. Our largest room is the ground floor room for your future reference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Decided to visit for a short break based on other feedback seen.
We found The Haven easily and were pleased with the guest parking.
Our welcome was warm and we were made to feel comfortable as soon as we arrived. Our room was at the rear of the property and we were really pleased with the decor, cleanliness, bedding etc.
Our hosts have a wealth of local knowledge and the discounts available to guests is well worth investigating. There is a local taxi firm that also provided a good prompt and polite service.
We made the most of our stay and travelled into Sheffield using public transport - the links from Bakewell are many and frequent.
We ate out at The Manners pub just up the road- really friendly service and good food. Our second night, we ate at The Pointing Dog and Duck .... Fabulous! The food, wine and service was excellent- we are planning a return visit.
Barbara and Jeremy made myself and my sister really feel like we were at home and we would definitely recommend a stay here. Both myself and Anne feel like we have made two new friends and can't wait to return.
Thank you for a wonderful time ..... Eileen & Anne x

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Victoria18Leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Eileen and Anne thank you for your lovely review. It was fabulous meeting the two of you and what fun you both were. We so look forward to your next visit, when we can look after you both again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nigths this time, and we have also been here before.
The hosts where so kind and friendly to us, lovely people. Everything is very clean and high standard, and Jeremy and Barbara are so helpful giving us advice on things to see and what to do in Bakewell and nearby. Its a short walking distance to the town with lots of lovely little shops and places to take a drink and have something to eat. We will absolutely recommend this B&B to everybody. Next time we'll stay here again. Lovely B&B with lovely hosts!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hege L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

It was lovely to see you again and it's so good to hear your stay was once again enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you next time you come to Bakewell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
421 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#4 of 45 in Bakewell
417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 45 in Bakewell
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range: £60 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. We have twin and double ensuite rooms and our own car park. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven B&B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing