We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of The Haven B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bakewell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #8 of 44 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in quite a few b&b's and guesthouses and I usually check reviews on trip advisor first, I quite often find myself dissapointed though as following amazing reviews the places dont usually live up to my expectations. However, this is not the case with The Haven, I thought it was amazing. The location, the room, the breakfast and the host were brilliant, can honestly say it was one of the nicest guest houses that I have stayed in and I will definitely go back, they also had amazing lime jam, they should be really proud of their little business and home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noggynooWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    39
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
188
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights after making a last minute booking and without having read much about the place, so was uncertain what to expect-nothing to worry about though at The Haven.Was given a large attic room at the top of the house. Very comfortable and pleasant with good choice of teas and coffee available in the room. The bathroom was very large with a lovely shower . Breakfasts were very enjoyable with fresh fruit salad and fresh yoghurt available very morning - perfect. Followed by a full english or filled oatcakes, this was a wonderful start to the day. The owners are really very nice, so very friendly and affable and extremely helpful with their tips and local knowledge. I would recommend this very comfortable b&b to my friends and family. It was excellent value for money, conveniently positioned, comfortable and pleasant and run by a very hospitable, accommodating and friendly couple who made you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Another fabulous mini break at The Haven.
Could anything be done differently? No! Everything about our stay was excellent - room, location, breakfast etc.
Jeremy & Barbara are perfect hosts - can't do enough to help and make you feel relaxed and comfortable.
We can't wait to come again ....much love and thanks,
Eileen & Anne xxx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria18Leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you Ladies for taking the time to review The Haven, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Haven is conveniently located Placed is spotlessly clean and well decorated However the hosts tended to be very fussy fire ring a lot of information at you as soon as you arrived. There were a lot of notices e.g. Remove shoes before going upstairs. Breakfast was ok but we were told what time to have it and also told not to be late The rooms were very hot with no fan or air con

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARILYNbowerbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven, we really appreciate your contribution.
We are sorry you didn’t like the system we have in place for breakfasts but thank you for highlighting this to prospective guests. Our kitchen is small and we offer menu options at breakfast, so ask our guests to advise us of their requirements the night before and allocate them a time for breakfast on arrival. This is the way we choose to operate, as it enables us to be efficient. We advise all our guests of this prior to them making a booking or taking the room if they check in on spec. This is so they know what to expect and if it doesn’t suit their needs they can book in somewhere else.
The check in process includes information on places to dine, that offer our guests discounts and also shops that offer discounts. The check in takes less than 5 minutes, as we are very busy and run 6 rooms.
We are also sorry you found our rooms too hot and to be honest with the weather we have been having (not complaining) we too have found it to be hot. The house is a Victorian villa and not a purpose built hotel and it is also our home. Not many homes have air conditioning and we will not be installing it either as unfortunately the English weather generally, doesn’t warrant the need.
We are pleased you thought our home was clean which is partly because we ask people to remove their wet/muddy shoes before treading the beige stair carpet. The other notice is reminding people to lock the door on entering and leaving the house, which before the notice, many forgot to do, causing a security risk for our home and our other guests.
We are disappointed you only found the breakfast OK. Every morning there is fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, selection of cereals, nuts, seeds, dried cranberries, full English, vegetarian English, home made oatcakes with various fillings including smoked salmon, home made marmalade (3 varieties) and jam (two varieties), marmite and honey. We also do home made gluten free oatcakes and provide for dietary requirements on request.
Thank you again for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Haven. We stayed in the room with the blue key fob - first floor, straight ahead on your left. Room was lovely with a comfortable bed, very large shower and views over the green. Room was cleaned and tidied each morning for us. The breakfasts were, we agreed, the best we have ever had at a B and B. The cooked breakfasts, homemade oat cakes, fruit salads and selection of jams and marmalades were all delicious! Cooked breakfasts made to perfection - not at all greasy and the perfect amount. The walk into Bakewell is lovely - about a 10 minute stroll across the green and along the river. Lots to see and do in and around Bakewell. Jeremy and Barbara were so welcoming, friendly and helpful - they really deserve all the brilliant reviews. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to family and friends. Thanks for a lovely stay,
Gemma and Kevin

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Barbara and Jeremy were very welcoming and their breakfasts set you up for a good walk! Lovely room and only a few minutes stroll into the heart of Bakewell with plenty of options for evening meals. So many more walks to do so need to return soon!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMCX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

stayed for 2 nights at the end of June with the wifes cousins and all of us had to agree that the Haven was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were beautiful and everywhere was lovely and clean. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.We couldn't fault it. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful in every way,so Ithink we will be going back there again ,maybe in November when our granddaughter graduates from Sheffield university. Thankyou Barbara &Jeremy for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smiler1Derbyshire, Owner at The Haven B&B, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Haven, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bakewell hotels
0.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.4 mi away
The Peacock Bakewell
The Peacock Bakewell
#15 of 44 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holly Cottage B&B
Holly Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Pilsley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Devonshire Arms at Beeley
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Arms at Pilsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: The Haven Haddon Road, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideal base for all Peak District attractions, being centrally located in the historic market town of Bakewell. We are a mere 5 minute stroll to the town centre, opposite the beautiful park. You will find the atmosphere in our home relaxed and friendly, and our hearty breakfast is sure to please. The Haven has a 4 star rating from The Heart of England Tourist Board, and we are featured in Britain’s Best Breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven Hotel Bakewell
The Haven Bed And Breakfast
The Haven B&B Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing