We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous friendly hotel”
Review of Monsal Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monsal Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for a weekend and had a lovely time in the Monsal Head area, walking along the trail, visiting Bakewell, Castleton and driving all around the area. The Monsal Head Hotel is a great place to stay, fabulous location, the Stable pub is wonderful and the food just delicious. We stayed in room 7 and room 4 (4 grown up sisters and 1 Mum!). Room 4 has a lovely seating area overlooking Monsal Dale. Yes it could do with a bit of a refurb soon but actually it is quite charming as it is. The best thing of all is the most delightful, pleasant staff who work in the restaurant and reception of the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always smiling. A real credit to the hotel. Great DBB deal. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Loved the rooms overlooking the dale with a little seating area. Room 7 at the side overlooking Lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhrtdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last month when the weather was beautiful. The view from our
bedroom window was fantastic. The food was very good although we only stayed bed and breakfast. Our room was a good size though a little old fashioned, and the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of tea and coffee and even home made biscuits. We were also supplied with bottles of water and sherry and had fresh towels every day. The only downside was the en suite which was extremely small. The wash hand basin was in the bedroom as there was no room in the en suite. The en suite floor could do with being renewed and the fan was very noisy. The dining room was large and lacked atmosphere. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was lovely and within easy reach of many attractions. I would go back but would ask for a bigger en suite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the via duct but check out size of the en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanscrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stopped for lunch while walking in the area as we remembered having a reasonable meal here some years ago. Unfortunately things seem to have gone downhill since then. We ate at the Stables Bar. Most customers seemed to be choosing bar snacks presumably as the prices are so expensive. Whilst my wife's salmon sandwich was OK my cheeseburger consisted of fairly tasty meat but with a microscopic amount of cheese, chips so hard that they could not be pierced with a fork and had to be eaten with fingers and lettuce which in places was brown and slimy.
Service was OK as there were only four other tables occupied. The staff were friendly enough but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank worldwise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have just had a two night break in the area and were more than pleased to discover this hotel's restaurant. We enjoyed the meal so much on the first night we went back on our second night. It isn't the cheapest food around but it is freshly cooked to order and the quality of the meat justified the price. The lamb rump, although £16 was so lean and tender and beautifully presented we didn't mind the price or the 25 minute wait for it to be cooked. Staff were lovely.
Chairs weren't the most comfortable especially if you suffer with hips or back! Take time to sit on a bench across the road and soak up the views. Stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shadowmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

but unfortunately we didnt have time to go in, we parked in the pay an display car park to look round monsal head and we were going to go in the pub after but their car park was full so we would have had to pay again so missed out this time. it is a great place to be though, the views are fantastic and monsal head itself is breathtaking. the tunnel and the viaduct are really interetsing to explore and walking around the trail is lovely. a great day out.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Decided on a spur of the minute walking break.
Luckily only an hour and a half drive so managed to get in a big walk before checking in then again the next day. Walking here is spectacular.
The hotel is lovely. We had a recently refurbished room which was extremely comfortable. The Stables Bar was very friendly and buzzing with life. The food in the restaurant was FANTASTIC! Service also excellent - very attentive and friendly.
Will definitely repeat this weekend.

Room Tip: Room 6 has been recently refurbished, but I am sure the other rooms are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Varied and interesting menu and excellent meal. The well trained and knowledgeable staff were brilliant in dealing with my husband's gluten free requirements.

We will be back to stay overnight. Such a pleasure to be in a restaurant where they understand the importance of serving gluten free food with the minimum of fuss.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsal Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsal Head Hotel

Address: Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: £64 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monsal Head Hotel is situated at the peak of the Monsal dale. The hotel itself is steeped in history whilst the Stables bar which has stood the test of time for over 200 years still holds the quirky values today as it did then. Offering a fine selection of beers supplied by local micro breweries. Food is of the highest offering with everything from light bites to hearty meals with an enphasis on good quality local produce all made on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monsal Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monsal Head Bakewell
Monsal Head Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing