We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blummin good ...”
Review of Monsal Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monsal Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for one night only.

The food in the restaurant was exceptionally good. Very well cooked, presented and tasty food. Staff very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

Great view out of the window (room 3). Room was large enough, small shower/wc with sink in the room. 2 downsides to the room; it is situated above the restaurant so is very noisy and also they have plumbing issues (or a woodpecker in the wall) as there was a persistent knock knock knocking. The noise stopped at around 11pm and resumed at around 7am. I assume it is something to do with the kitchen.

We really enjoyed our stay and plan on returning for a longer stay.

And for petrol heads, the roads in the Peak District are just wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJH_EHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

i arranged a birthday meal here for about 10 people and we had a lovely time. The view even from the edge of the carpark was gorgeous, and there were big windows in the restaurant to take advantage of this. Our waitress was great (all the staff seemed very friendly and efficient) and despite people arriving at different times she was happy to keep coming back to take drinks orders whilst we waited. The food was delicious (both lamb and steak were great) and we were not rushed which as a fairly large group we appreciated as it was nice to feel relaxed. After dessert we were invited to have teas and coffees in the hotel lounge which was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A curious turn of events led to booking a Tuesday and Wednesday night at the Monsal Head Hotel in a wonderful spot for exporing the Peak District. The hotel website and the letterheaded confirmation letters received by email rather leads one to expect the height of luxury - that and the £100 per night price tag for the two of us.
We were given the 'family room' for our stay although either the other guests were quiet or they were not that full at all for us to be given this as a last resort. Perhaps they were saving the good rooms for those who might book later and stay longer?
We looked at the restaurant menu online and decided to take advantage of the upgrade to Dinner, Bed and Breakfast which was going to make the total £140 per night. We thought we could easily spend £40 per night on food in the restaurant!
On arrival, the staff were wonderfully efficient and helpful and indeed this was the story throughout our stay - from manager to bar and waiting staff. The staff could not be faulted.
The food too was excellent although I think the chef had some cracking ideas which only slightly failed to 'gel' on occasion. One example of this was the lamb rump with an excellent parsnip creation, made a little curious by a very bitter lemon drizzle. The same care was given to the excellent breakfast served between 6:30 and a civilised 9:30 for those of us on holiday.
Aside from the toilets in the Stable bar and the restaurant which were pretty dire, the public areas of the hotel are nice and smart. Our particular room however was very tired indeed.
Some other visitor has posted pictures of the wall, the grubby storage heater in the bathroom and some paint in need of work. This was our room too and rather let the side down.
Presumably the bed had been replaced, or at least the headboard which had left scuff marks on the wall behind which were now very visible. The painted lining paper was poorly hung leaving creases in the corners. The table lamp shades were very old and burnt looking. The lino in the bathroom (shower only - no bath) was grubby looking. The carpet in the bedroom was worn and actually had a patch in it which may once have been hidden under the old bed. The bed itself was only a double which seemed very small compared to our home king-size (but that might just be me), the cushions on the cheap wicker chairs were worn through at the seams and the place seemed generally down at heel.
We had to have the manager replace the table lamp bulbs (or check the wiring) because neither worked straight off, and we were only given hand towels - an error which horrified the attending maid who very quickly put that right.
Excellent staff giving excellent service.
Excellent food and passable real ales available.
If only some of the £100 per night could be spent on the carpets and fittings in the rooms!

Room Tip: I only saw the Family room and cannot comment on whether other rooms were better. Ours was on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Anglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

A group of us visited the Monsal Head Pub whilst camping in nearby Ashton.
We called for a drink and food whilst out walking.
Great food at reasonable prices....and an amazing view to top if off.
Well worth a visit!!...even if it's just to wet the whistle after a long walk..

Room Tip: A must if you're visiting the area!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCupes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for four nights, fantastic views over Monsal Head Valley right from the bedroom. A great base for walking throughout the Peak District. Very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfasts were enormous and great quality, spoilt only by having to listen to early Tom Jones, Engelbert Humperdink etc. every morning. The room was clean but a little tired. Suppers in the Stable bar were ample and delicious, and the 3 course dinner in the restaurant was exceptional. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This traditional country hotel is in a beautiful setting in the Derbyshire Peak District. We only stayed for one night and our only meal was breakfast which was very good all waitress served. The staff were young and very helpful. The hotel is charming and quite old fashioned but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Had I read the earlier review from 4 July 2013, I could have had a nicer lunch elsewhere! Sandwich rather dry( it was a warm day) and burger was Ok..nothing special,a diet Pepsi and a soda water came to £18.00 very poor value. Sat inside too avoid the heat and was overwhelmed by an old wet doggie smell. We did have a dog with us but he could never make that smell on his own lol! Think it may have been the cushions.Don't bother ...try the cafe next door or drive in to bake well:-) also we waited 40 mins for lunch and others were complaining too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesenpickle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
510 reviews
5.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsal Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsal Head Hotel

Address: Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range: £62 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monsal Head Hotel is situated at the peak of the Monsal dale. The hotel itself is steeped in history whilst the Stables bar which has stood the test of time for over 200 years still holds the quirky values today as it did then. Offering a fine selection of beers supplied by local micro breweries. Food is of the highest offering with everything from light bites to hearty meals with an enphasis on good quality local produce all made on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monsal Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monsal Head Bakewell
Monsal Head Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing