We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value”
Review of Monsal Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monsal Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
watford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

What an amazing location this hotel is in. The view is to die for and great access to The monsal trail. From the moment we arrived the service on the Friday evening and Saturday was 2nd to none. Even down to the chef coming out at breakfast to bring new poached eggs as he wasn't happy with what was served. All the food we are was of incredible standard and presentation was what id expect in fine dining. Room 5 was the best of the three rooms booked, great shower. We added a person late to our party and a zed bed was put in the room. Nothing was too much trouble. The bed breakfast and evening meal deal was incredible value for money. Service is sometimes a bit slow as they are busy in the bar bit I've never seen people work harder doing every role. It was well organised and cheerful. We especially loved John. He was attentive polite and thorough, nothing was too much trouble.
Cannot recommend this hotel enough. There is one thing that maybe improved on which is billing as we were a large group we just used one room as a tab for drinks. On checking out our bar bill had been 'rounded up' the receptionist said then split over the 3 rooms. This was presumptuous as some hadn't had a drink. We would have preferred an itemised bar bill something you may want to request on arrival. This was the only negative of the whole stay and should not effect your decision to choose this hotel as it is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoghurttops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear yoghuttops,

Thank you for your review and the many positive things which you have highlighted about the Monsal Head Hotel. Everything which we do here is to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay and their every need is attended to. I remember your party well and it was a pleasure to have served you both breakfast and dinner. The chef is still talking about the poached eggs and hopes the two which he served himself to your table were perfectly cooked for you! I am pleased that you found everything to a high standard and all of your lovely comments will of course be passed on to the rest of the staff.

We also appreciate your feedback about our Duty Managers decision to round up the total of the drinks bill in order to split it fairly amongst the 3 rooms. I have talked to Rebecca and she explained that she made that choice in order to make the checking out process quicker and easier for your whole party. I know too well the discussions I get into with friends about how much everyone is paying! We apologise if this came across as presumptuous and next time we will be happy to leave the bill on one room for you. Thank you again for all your feedback, it is very welcome.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay here at the Monsal Head Hotel and we hope to welcome yourself and the rest of your party back in the near future to enjoy even more of our poached eggs!!

Kindest Regards,

Amelia Stanley
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    117
    64
    47
    33
See reviews for
99
188
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were booked in the restaurant but as it was such a lovely evening chose to sit outside the stables bar. The first thing you notice is how smiley, friendly and helpful the staff are and they stayed that way even when it got manically busy later on. There was a good selection of real ales and also a very scrummy non alcoholic pineapple and lemongrass cordial which they make themselves. We ended up eating inside the stables as it got a bit cold outside! The food was gorgeous and beautifully presented and the stables bar is so cute and quirky. After our meal we strolled over to take in the fantastic views which are an extra bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Ryn26,

Thank you for your lovely comments about The Monsal Head Hotel and the team of ‘smiley, friendly and helpful’ staff who we are extremely lucky to have!

I think that your review perfectly describes what we have here and I don't think there is anything else for me to add accept another thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, it is lovely to hear the success of your overall experience with us. I will make sure all the staff hear of your comments, I’m certain it will keep them smiling all day!

I hope that we will be welcoming you back again for our 3 day beer festival in September with over 20 ales and live entertainment each evening!

Kindest Regards,

Amelia Stanley
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here in March with friends and had a great time. Came back again in April on our own but couldn't put review on as too soon after first visit. I have been waiting to add comments as we had another lovely time. Staff very welcoming, we arrived midday but could check in. Food excellent, we ate in theStables Bar this time in the eve so our dog could join us. Breakfast set us up for the days walking. We will be back for 3rd visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyacinth59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Jyacinth59,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I will most certainly pass on your comments to the rest of the staff, who enjoy hearing the reviews which guests post. The chefs in particular will be happy that the breakfasts set you up for a lovely day walking The Monsal Trail...We firmly believe that breakfast is one of the most important meals of the day!!

Hopefully we will see you again soon for that third visit, maybe even for our fantastic three day beer festival on the 5th, 6th and 7th September with over 20 real ales and live entertainment each night.

Kindest Regards,

Amelia Stanley
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed the weekend with family for my birthday. My son had arranged a surprise party and my sister and brothers arrived on the Saturday. The staff were excellent. The rooms comfortable and the food amazing. The views with the mist on the Saturday morning were magical. Becky is a treasure . She gave us a room to have the party in and we partied until midnight we were all impressed with the service and the food. nothing was too, much trouble and Becky really made sure all went. We hope to go back very soon . Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Eileen H

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. I am so glad that your birthday surprise was one to remember. you and your family were an absolute pleasure to serve and I look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Kind Regards

Rebecca Cocker
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for a family 70th birthday celebration. Superb attentive service by staff - nothing was too much trouble. Food was of a very high standard , and breakfast was great too. All 10 adults in the party had similar positive experiences . Well done

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiamHosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear LiamHosie

Firstly thank you for choosing the Monsal Head Hotel to have your special celebration. It is great news to hear that our service was to your liking as it is something we are very proud of at the moment, we like to treat guests as if they were our own family (without getting into arguments over who has the remote control).

Our food offering is proving to be very popular this year and we are honoured to have the hard working kitchen team that we have at present we will ensure that the team remain in place so as to maintain the high standards you have commented on.

Catering for large numbers such as yourselves is a daily occurance here and we always ensure we treat all guests the same, once again we thank you for your fantastic feedback and your comments will be placed on our internal trip advisor board.

See you again soon maybe even for our 3 day beer festival in September which now boasts live music each evening.

Kindest Regards

Amelia Stanley
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We are local to the Monsal Head and have started using it more regularly since the new management have taken over. And boy, what an improvement. The food is divine, we ate there on Saturday, in the sunshine, overlooking the Monsal Viaduct and valley. It really doesn't get much better than this. Katy and Becky were delightful, patient with the children when ordering and serving the food with a beaming smile. The children thoroughly enjoyed their sausages and mash with their own little jug of gravy, a nice touch. I was particularly impressed with the presentation of the children's desert ice creams, even with a sprig of fresh mint. They LOVE dogs, which is fortunate for a walkers pub and if you are lucky enough for it to be raining they light the roaring log burner inside. Another change has been the wild local flowers in vases on the tables, wonderful. Yes, some of the décor is a little tired around the edges, but it is a beautiful historic building. I think some of the negative reviewers need to open their eyes and recognise that immaculately presented would remove this fantastic pub's charm, something us connoisseurs would rather not happen. It is quaint, characterful and with outstanding views. You can walk up from the Monsal Trail, a bit steep but well worth the effort. They are also holding a beer festival and music events, we will definitely be attending. Last, but certainly not least, if its on try Stancil Blonde, a guest beer, one of the finest I have had for a while.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear ruth s

Firstly I would like to thank you for your fantastic and honest review. We are very lucky to be surrounded by the local community and we are pleased that you are obviously taking full advantage of your Monsal Head loyalty card! Our general managers, Keith and Hannah, will be over the moon with your comments as they work all hours in order to ensure improvements are always being made in light of any customer feedback.

In regards to the customer service which we offer, here at the Monsal Head we pride ourselves with the personal touches which we add to each and every visit. Both children and dogs are extremely welcome here, with a lovely children’s menu and doggy treats on the bar for those dogs who bring in their well behaved owners!

I would agree with your comments on the "Stables rustic charm", as I like to call it, and it really is a lovely place to enjoy our Stancil Blonde, one of my personal favourites. I recommend trying some of the Fuggle Bunny Beers and the many more which we have on, including Wincle Brewery, they really are superb!

I will pass on your comments to all the staff, Katie will be really pleased that you liked her wild flower table decorations and we look forward to seeing you for our beer festival in September and many more visits in between.

Kindest Regards,

Amelia Stanley
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I visited the hotel on 7th June after a 4 hour walk and drenched to the bone!! we were greated by the most genuine and friendly person who we later discivered was Keith, the Manager. We plonked ourselves down at a table near the bar - Keith asked us what we wanted to drink and said 'don't get up' - he noticed that we were knackered!!! we didn't have to get to up and ask for drinks as Keith was very attentive and asked if we needed another. We noticed that the servive he gave to other customers was 1st class, too - to cap it all, keith's wife then served us, Hannah, who was equally as friendly and helpful.Keith has a cracking sense of humour and coulod be employed as a comedian!! We will definitely be going back to stay at the hotel. We feel that Keith and Hannah's employers are extremely lucky to have such dedicated, kind, helpful staff - thanks for looking after us during an extremely wet day!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear kcandb

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review, it is very enjoyable to read about the positive experience which you had here, even if the weather wasn't as pleasant for you!

I will pass on your comments to my general manager Keith as he prides himself on the customer service which we provide, especially the personal touches and the humour which we all believe is important. All the staff here at the Monsal Head Hotel have a 'nothing is too much' attitude to everything we do and we aim to make everyone’s experience as great and as welcoming as yours.

We look forward to seeing you again soon, fingers crossed the weather will be dryer and warmer! Thanks again for your comments.

Kindest Regards,

Amelia Stanley
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.8 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsal Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsal Head Hotel

Property: Monsal Head Hotel
Address: Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monsal Head Hotel is situated at the peak of the Monsal dale. The hotel itself is steeped in history whilst the Stables bar which has stood the test of time for over 200 years still holds the quirky values today as it did then. Offering a fine selection of beers supplied by local micro breweries. Food is of the highest offering with everything from light bites to hearty meals with an enphasis on good quality local produce all made on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Monsal Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monsal Head Bakewell
Monsal Head Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing