We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! A wonderful stay - amazing views - attentive staff!”
Review of Monsal Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monsal Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Clay Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow! A wonderful stay - amazing views - attentive staff!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed at The Monsal Head Hotel for 2 nights for my daughter's wedding at the end of July this year. Keith, Hannah, Katie and the rest of the staff were nothing short of brilliant. Always attentive, nothing was ever any trouble for them.

The meals we had were fabulous - I have read a review from someone saying that the portions were miserly! Not sure if they ate at this hotel because the portion sizes are fantastic.

Katie dressed the room exactly has we wanted - the attention to detail was superb!

We even got all the Stables Bar staff to join in the Saturday night party even though they surely must have been exhausted - thank you everyone in the Stables for making it night to remember!

We have eaten in the Stables Bar in the past and always been very happy with the service and the food. Seriously - if you are planning to have a wedding in the Peak District I can very highly recommend you speak to Keith. He is wonderful.

This really was the wedding of my daughter's dreams - the chapel in Little Longstone where the ceremony was held can be seen from the windows of the hotel. But I also understand that civil ceremonies may be on the cards at the hotel - so another bonus if you didn't want a religious service.

Thank you Keith, Hannah, Katie and the rest of the team for making our wedding weekend so wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front of the hotel and did not hear any noise at all - the views are to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, General Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Wendy M,

Sorry it has taken a while to respond its just that Hannah and myself have finally managed to take enough time from our busy schedule to also get married.

I appreciate you defending us with regards our food offering, I guess you cant please all of the people all of the time but when we get over a 1500 visitors a week it is expected that someone somewhere will feel let down. we can only learn from any negative feedback but its just great to see the positive impact we have when guests visit.

All your comments have been shared with our team and watch this space with regards to hopefully obtaining our civil license in 2015.

Regards

Keith Robson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    119
    69
    47
    34
See reviews for
100
192
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Attended a wedding here at the end of July. I believe this was the first wedding they had hosted, and they really pulled all the stops out!
Important things first - the food was AMAZING. A great varied selection, including some of the most succulent lamb I've ever had, and the richest chocolate pudding. The service was very attentive - it seemed like there was one waiter per person! This all helped give the day a real sense of occasion.
Timings were perfect and there was always someone around to ask for assistance with the little unplanned things that crop up on & before the day. They made it stress free, which counts for a lot.
There were some nice little touches too, like a personalised ale for the big day.
Only criticism would be that it got a bit warm in the rooms (including the dining hall) - to be fair it was the hottest day of the year (30+ degrees). Hopefully this is something they might look at addressing as they do more weddings.
Needless to say the setting was stunning. All in all, a fantastic day and we're looking forward to heading back to mark the 1st anniversary.

Room Tip: Front rooms get a bit more road noise, but are a lot cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livid_chimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, General Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear livid_chimp.

Great to hear your wonderful feedback all our team are excited by all the positive responses we are receiving at the moment but also know we need to maintain our standards as this is just the beginning for where the Monsal Head Hotel and Stables bar is heading.

Your comments have been circulated through to our whole team and if you think it was hot in the main room on the hottest day of the year imagine how the kitchen team felt....Needless to say plenty of liquid refreshments were required by the end of the evening. we are looking into what can be done for future events and appreciate your feedback.

Look forward to seeing you on the 1st anniversary.

Regards

Keith Robson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

One more hill to climb and there is a pub at the top. Fantastic location overlooking valley with great views on a sunny day Good choice of quality ales and outdoor seating. Cannot fault the beer and the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrStuffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Stouffer99,

I have to say, the location of the Monsal Head Hotel really does make it something special, as you have so rightly pointed out. Its the perfect haven for a nice refreshing pint after the slog up from the old railway line! The only problems being that with 8 beers on draught, you're spoilt for choice, and would struggle to try them all!

With a constantly changing selection of quality ales, we hope to welcome you back soon so you can try as many as possible!

Kindest regards

Luke Addison
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We booked for 4 at the Monsal Head Hotel at 13:30 on a Sunday and ordered at about 13:50. The service was excellent and the food we ordered was lovely and good portions. If you are having 2 or 3 courses then be prepared to spend around two hours here. The reason for this is the food is prepared fresh and time is given for you to digest and think about another course and more drinks. Nothing is rushed and you don't feel pressured into making quick decisions. The location is lovely as there are great views just outside the hotel. I did enjoy the meal and would visit here for food again, as I live locally I could not comment on the rooms, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank terryth0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear terryth0mas,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Monsal Head Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the food and your afternoon here. We pride ourselves with good service and good food so we are happy we managed to provide you with both!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Luke Addison
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stopped for a meal, and given the prices (£12 to £15 for a main) we thought that it would at least offer decent food.

Unfortunately it took almost an hour to be served. The rice that came with the curry was barely cooked and most of the vegetables were raw, and the sauce (which had to be requested) was cold. Other meals were passable, but the portion sizes were quite frankly miserly.

I could go on, but the point is that there are better ways to waste your time and money. I would never eat here again.

It's a pity for the pleasant front of house staff, who must regularly recieve complaints as they struggle to cover for the abject incompetence at this hotel. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinHoodLiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, General Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear RobinHoodLiner,

With regards your recent comments I feel it my obligation as General Manager of the Monsal Head Hotel to give an honest reply.

Firstly you state that it took an hour to be served which is correct, but then I ask any restaurant in Great Britain what is accepted waiting time for a party of 4 who had not reserved who had also been told on numerous occasions that the Restaurant was busy and that there would be a wait and that the exact same table of 4 stated it was fine even before they sat at the table. This said table who will only comment on half a story also forgot to mention that they only ordered main courses so of course there is the preparation time of all main courses which are all made to order and fresh.

I dine out quite regular and if A I do not reserve and B only have a main course and C I am told by the Manager on shift that there is a delay I have an open mind on my wait time and most definately expect a longer wait time.

You also forget to mention that the Duty Manager on shift also gave a 15% discount from your whole bill as a good will gesture due to your feedback.

£12 to £15 for main course is a very competative price for the area and we pride ourselves on giving value for money, when we are wrong we admit it but when we believe there is 2 sides to a situation then we have the right to reply after all is that not what trip advisor is all about?

I am very proud of our food offering and your comments have been shown to our Head chef who has been here for more than 10 years and helped us achieve our 1 rosette for every single one of those years.

The Duty Manager on shift did state that you pointed out an issue with the Thai vegetable curry but also pointed out that you had already eaten 3/4 of it before making the remark, and yes more sauce was ordered and I personally was stood at the hot plate in the kitchen and watched our team freshly prepare a piping hot silver jug of sauce.

We are all entitled to our opinions and if this be yours of your visit then I do truly apologise, but I also believe that the general public will make there own minds due to the fact all you need do is read below other amazing comments regarding our food and our service.

Regards

Keith Robson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bakewell hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Husband and I had the most fantastic wedding reception in July 2014 at the Monsal Head Hotel. We could not have asked for any more from Keith, Hannah and the whole team. They were on hand to help us throughout the whole planning process to make the day so personal and special to us. From day one we really felt that our wedding was so important to all the staff at the Monsal Head, and that clearly showed through their fantastic hospitality.

We booked out all seven rooms for ourselves and family to stay for the entire weekend and we were looked after brilliantly – nothing was ever too much trouble. All the rooms were spacious, charming and comfortable. We had a wedding party of nearly 50 guests and the dining room in the hotel was suitably sized for us all, including a Ceilidh band! Keith and his team dressed the room exactly how I had asked (including putting up over 60 metres of bunting!) and it looked perfect.

The three course meal we had was exceptional, and we were able to offer our guests a menu from which to choose their wedding meal, so everyone could have exactly what they wanted. So many of my wedding guests (myself included) were blown away by the service and the attention to detail that we experienced. A huge well done and thank you to all the staff at the Monsal Head Hotel for making our special day so perfect. A special thank you to Katie for looking after us - I hope all the left over hessian has been put t good use!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 had spectacular views of the Monsal Dale. Room 5 had equally lovely views of Little Longs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantThinkOfAName75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, General Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear CantThinkOfANAme,

What an original user name made me chuckle, but I prefer to call you Mr and Mrs Ellis.

What a pleasure it was to be able to host your special day and yes it did give us all here the opportunity to showcase what we are able to do.

Katie is overwhelmed by your comments and she has taken a lot of inspiration from your special day to assist in dressing the rest of the hotel and Stables bar with a nice rustic feel.

We are also pleased to announce that since your visit we have started 2nd stage refurbishments which also includes a full refurbishment of our Family room and can confirm it looks amazing.

We now use your wedding as a bench mark for what can be achieved here at the Monsal Head Hotel and look forward to hosting many many more weddings throughout the coming years.

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback and for achieving top 2 on trip advisor as best hotels to visit in Bakewell (if only for a short time as am sure our competitors will be on our heals).

we look forward to having a catch up when you return from your Honeymoon.

Regards

Keith Robson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had an excellent 3-course in the restaurant with my wife, children and in-laws. The food was excellent and not too expensive. The children's menu and portions were pleasing and generous respectively.

The restaurant was very pleasant, just the in-room bar that was in need of some titivation.

Would particularly recommend the cheeseboard which had some home-cooked treats! The cocktail apples were also a treat in the puddings.

We may be coming back with another grandparent in the near future............

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshirew, Manager at Monsal Head Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for your tremendous comments about the food. We pride ourselves on having an excellent menu, and I'm very pleased to hear that we lived up to your expectations!

You are correct with your comments about the in-room bar, and please be assured that we are hoping to rejuvenate this as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back with another grandparent very soon!


Luke Addison
Bar Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bakewell
2.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.5 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monsal Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsal Head Hotel

Property: Monsal Head Hotel
Address: Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monsal Head Hotel is situated at the peak of the Monsal dale. The hotel itself is steeped in history whilst the Stables bar which has stood the test of time for over 200 years still holds the quirky values today as it did then. Offering a fine selection of beers supplied by local micro breweries. Food is of the highest offering with everything from light bites to hearty meals with an enphasis on good quality local produce all made on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Monsal Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monsal Head Bakewell
Monsal Head Hotel Bakewell, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing