We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tops” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piedaniels

Piedaniels
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: European, British, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
england
Level Contributor
164 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“tops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Tried for the first time in December on a Wednesday night. It was about half full, but we were welcomed and the place was warm. It is a single room with a small curtained off areas for drinks - all very comfortable, simple but well furnished in a painted out barn type of room. Mid week there is an offer on, £18 for 3 courses. Absolutely excellent, we had a venison stew and the sea bream (the latter was the best). You can park on the road outside of there is space. Small caraffe of wine is good value, a bottle starts around £18. We will definately go again and warmly recommend it

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hemingwayaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    72
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had friends visiting us ,so for one of our evening meals we took them here. We love this place,our friends were very impressed the moment they entered the restaurant ,they both love eating out,the food as per usual was presented and cooked to perfection, the staff are excellent and not over bearing ,don't keep appearing over your shoulder asking "IS EVERY THING OK" which to me would show they were not be sure of their product . We wish to thank Pie Daniel's for another fantastic evening, and wish them continuing success in the future

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sdmmmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Every time we have visitors to Derbyshire we ensure we take them for a meal to Piedaniels!
Went again on Saturday with our latest visitors, who had never been, and we were all delighted!
The meal was simply fantastic!
Two of the party had the delicious black pudding salad starter - "delicious!" - with the others having the mussels and asparagus in puff pastry - "gorgeous!" "A great start to our meal" was the comment.
Two of the party loved the pheasant mains, while my wife had the fantastic lobster, scallops and prawns and my venison was perfect!
Two of us had the signature Piedaniels crepes suzette, with one having the Xmas Pudding and the other had the nougat ice cream - all scrumptious!
We've always had a fantastic meal in Piedaniels - this was no exception - and everyone we've taken there has rated it one of the best restaurants they'd been to!
One of our favourites without doubt!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent french cuisine at very reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had our first meal here last week and were very impressed! Delicious food (classic, simple ingredients which tasted fab - how French is that!) and wine (Carafe of white and red), welcoming and helpful staff, lovely surroundings. We had 4 course meal plus wine and pre dinner drinks for just £70 for two including tip, we will be back.......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4LouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have visited this restaurant quite a few times over the past 10 years and each time we have had excellent service and great food.
Upon arrival we are greeted in a very friendly, not patronising way. Coats are taken and menus given in a small bar area where drinks are offered. The menu is either set (midweek) or a la carte (Fri/Sat) and has a small, varied selection. All of the food was very well prepared, well presented and served promptly. The staff were friendly, attentive (but not overly so) and knowledgable.
We never felt rushed even when we sat and chatted well past closing time.
The cost is reasonable, it is what you would expect to pay for this level of food and service.
I think the secret is in the management as the owner and restaurant manager have never changed and this adds stability and consistency to the business.
Well done. A very pleasant evening well spent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fivegoldstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piedaniels also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Youlgreave, Bakewell
 

Been to Piedaniels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing