We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Leroica brittiania bike ride”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony W
1 review
“Leroica brittiania bike ride”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great location for the leroica brittiania event 10 minute walk into town and another 5 minutes to the event show ground,house was lovely and clean and rooms were spacious,perfect really couldn't be any better,well maybe if there was a pub next door but ten minute walks not bad.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosiejone...
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“To Fairfield with Love”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What Fairfield lacks in exterior pizazz, it certainly makes up for in interior style.
It's location is ideal for exploring the sites and surrounding areas, like Chatsworth, Haddon Hall, Buxton, Ashbourne, Matlock and so many more of the area's surrounding pretty villages and towns.

The property was very clean on arrival, tastefully decorated and the rear kitchen and family room gave the impression of space and practical comfort. Although we did not use the utility room, for anyone hiking or biking it was very well equipped. The garden was a wonderful addition, although the British weather only allowed us limited use.

For a large group of adults (7), it would have been more beneficial to have larger sofa's or seating areas in the front room, as the sofa's were more suited to formal posture rather than comfort at the end of a day's sightseeing. The mattresses on the bed were amazingly comfortable and every single one of our party commented on the excellent night's sleep due mainly to the comfort of the mattress.

The owners were accommodating and responsive as we had no internet coverage in the property, which probably said more about us than them, as we didn't want to phone them up to raise the issue on Saturday, believing it was to do with location signals rather than in fact a practical issue of their change of use provider. Our fault entirely, as we were asked to contact them if anything was amiss. We should have, as they could not have been more responsive and timely in fixing the problem once raised (20 minute turnaround time).

The kitchen was well equipped for a group of food fantics and there were plenty of cleaning supplies and fantastic instructions on all of the household appliances, as well as a comprehensive list along with links, of things to do in the area for all tastes and ages.

I would definitely stay there again to explore the beautiful and enchanting area in more detail.
Highly recommended.
Thank you to our owners and Peak Venues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the Property and practical cooking/eating/lounging open plan area
Liked least: Front room sofas
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Wow - what a helpful review. Thank you for your feedback and great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Fairfield House and the fabulous Peak District
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“From 9 to 90, no-one wanted to leave.....”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked this accommodation to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday together, four generations under one roof for almost four days. The website and previous reviews promised much and none of us was disappointed. It was very obvious from the moment we arrived that someone with a keen eye for detail and hugely sensitive to the needs of families on holiday had created a virtual home from home.
The house was warm, welcoming, logically laid out and tastefully decorated. The beds were supremely comfortable and the layout gave us that essential ground floor bedroom for mother while the great grandsons enjoyed the delights of the bunk beds.
When Monday morning arrived, all too soon, nobody wanted to be the first to leave and by common consent, we will be back! Would we recommend it to friends? Of course not! If it becomes too popular there wiill be less chance we will find it vacant when we want it.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the kitchen/ lounge area kept us together as one happy family
Liked least: Needs a doormat at the patio door.... but this is nit-picking!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkieHD8
Huddersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super place for a Family get together”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Considering it was a weekend extended family get together you could not have wished for a better meeting place. Beautifully clean and tidy and so well equipped it was an absolute pleasure - Mum and Dad, three adult children and their partners, two young children and two dogs.....but it all worked very well including very pleasant garden and parking for over four cars. Situated one mile out of Bakewell and five miles from Chatsworth House in the Derbyshire Peak District it made for wonderful gentle walking country and famous cream teas. Highly recommended and very friendly owner who made us all feel most welcome.....100% many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thre really was nothing to not like....
Liked least: We very embarrassingly broke a cup and a glass !!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda H
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay; it's a wonderful house - so well planned out and beautifully decorated. We really made the most of the open dining space, which worked well for our party of ten. The house was furnished to a high standard with a well planned kitchen and was spotlessly clean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, cleanliness & space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTia...
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house, perfect location for the heart of the Peak District”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We visited with 10 family members, and this house gave us amazing space and comfort. The decor is lovely and and there is a well stocked kitchen in terms of crockery, pots and pans. It was great to have a washer/dryer for the kids clothes, and ample storage for everyone. The garden is big and provided the kids with space for play and imagination. We really enjoyed our stay here! The only thing to be aware of is the access to good wifi. It is not very good in the area in general, so don't expect it to be fast or even accessible at times. Take some DVDs for the kids if they might want to look at movies. All in all though, a lovely house, which gave us a warm welcome and comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, comfort
Liked least: wifi access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerbir...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place, top notch quality - thoroughly recommend it”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic stay at Fairfield House - what a special place. Lovely position surrounded by stunning views, good walks (easy for little legs too) and lots of generous parking. I work with top end hotels and am pretty fussy, but the attention to detail in the property was outstanding - spotless, well designed, impressively furnished. We were a party of 10 with 5 children, and we had a great stay - BBQ and cricket in the garden, DVDs in the family room, grown up conversation in the separate sitting room. Lots of space for everyone. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the space, the garden, the location, the cleanliness, the design / furnishings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing